We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pope's Cafe
120 East side Sq, Shelbyville, TN 37160
931- 684-4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 Restaurants in Shelbyville
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Pope's Cafe remains unchanged in the quaint country charm and good cooking that has made it a landmark in the South since its doors opened in 1947. Home made dessert and good ol' fashion country cooking make this an international destination.
Fulton, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

this place has been around forever home cooked meals and bes of all home made pies love it love located uptown on the square

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestonsburg, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Before”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food is average at best. Ordered the special--"smothered pork chop" and it was bland and tough. Vegetables were canned and unremarkable. I've visited Pope's before in 2011 and 2012 and the food was much better then. I probably won't go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth cornbread as well as a little southern history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This local diner has limited hours, but definitely worth an early dinner. I missed out the first night as they close at 5:00 pm, but made it in for an early lunch on my way out of town. Not only my customer but most of the locals I spoke with at my client's business, recomended this plain, but good "meat and 2 or 3" cafe. I chose just a bowl of bean's, but the surprise was the melt in your mouth cornbread pancakes and a drink of my choice for $4.50. The meat and 2 veggies just $7. The road from the highway in this little town is block to block national food chains, drive into the heart of this town and support people who actually try to keep it from being just another chain exit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna Tn
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Meat and Three”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great restaurant on the square we got the fried chicken, green beans and mashed potatoes. All the food was good the meat and 2 vegetables was less than $7.00. Don't miss this great treasure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been visiting Pope's Cafe for over 40 years. It is the closest to a "home cooked" meal you can fine. I find it amazing that they have been able to maintain a high quality of service and food over the years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pope's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.