We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sewanee Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sewanee Inn to your Saves list
The Sewanee Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1235 University Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37375   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sewanee
High Point
1 review
“Awesome and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Sewanee Inn is a gem and the perfect place to stay when visitng Sewanee and/or an ideal place to escape for a weekend away. Excellent service and amenities as well as location. Definitely try the bicycles for an easy tour of Sewanee and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Lfarris,

We are delighted to hear that you found the inn to be a gem and the perfect place to stay!! We were so happy to hear that you found our service and amenities to both be excellent! We were also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary bikes to tour the beautiful campus and surrounding areas.

We would also like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
47
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Sewanee Inn is not only luxurious it has old world style. The staff was outstanding and their breakfasts are amazing.
We hiked two different trails behind the Inn. Both were beautiful; though not for the faint hearted, as they were about 4 mile loops. The lower (Perimeter) trail passed by several waterfalls. I would recommend the higher trail in wet weather even though it runs closer to the golf course and then road.
What a beautiful campus! I wish I could go to school there too!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear TZaustin,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Thank you for your kind words, that you found our staff to be outstanding and our breakfast to be amazing!! We were also glad to hear you were able to take advantage of a couple of the ever so popular hiking trails too.

We would like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Sewanee Inn is a beautiful new inn with extremely friendly and helpful staff and comfortable rooms. A treat to have such nice lodging in the area! Will definitely stay again any time I am in the area. Dinner service is limited at this point, but we were told the Inn will be adding soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Mary Francis R R,

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. On behalf of the entire Sewanee Inn team, we would like to thank you for your kind words about our charming inn! We are so glad to hear that you found our staff to extremely friendly and helpful.

We would also like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed at the Sewanee Inn for a recent wedding and was very impressed with the amenities and accommodations. The hotel and rooms avoid being generic, and the building feels at home on campus. Glad to have a nice place to stay for alumni weekends and random trips to the mountain.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Cameron G,

We were delighted to hear that you were very impressed with our amenities and accommodations!! We agree that the inn does feel like home, here on the beautiful campus of The University of The South! We look forward to being your home for your upcoming stays, no matter what the occasion!

We would also like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Of the multiple trips I've made to Sewanee while my daughter is a student there, the Sewanee Inn provided the best lodging experience. Had a great view of the eighth green on the Sewanee Golf Course. Price is reasonable for the quality of the hotel. I've certainly paid more to stay in properties not nearly as nice.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Scott S,

We are so happy to hear that we were able to provide you with your best lodging experience to Sewanee, in several trips!! Our golf view patio rooms do offer an amazing view of the golf course and are very popular.

We would also like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Excellent facility on beautiful university campus. We moved daughter to campus for her Senior Year. Enjoyed the restaurant and bar during our visit. Restaurant and bar reminded us of the television show - Cheers! A special place where everyone knows your name! Take time to walk the trails and view the buildings around the campus. If you need a relaxing mountain escape, this is your castle on the mountain. Golf course is outstanding also.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Sharon H,

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! We certainly do want to create that personalized experience, where everybody does know your name!! Thank you so much for your kind words about our charming inn.

We would also like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Sewanee Inn was the venue for my daughter's August 2014 Wedding. I travel Internationally in my line of work, and the experience that I had at this quaint university town hotel on top of a mountain in Tennessee compares equitably and even exceeds the quality and experiences I've had at the finest hotels worldwide. The hotel is beautifully appointed, comfortable, and welcoming. The entire hotel staff went above and beyond to make the wedding the special day that every couple deserves.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at The Sewanee Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Thomas M,

We were so thrilled to be the venue chose for your daughters wedding! We are so excited to hear that The Sewanee Inn compares equitably and even exceeds the qualities and experiences you've had at the finest hotels around the world!!!! We are also very happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond your expectations to make this a very special day!

We really enjoyed hosting this special event for you and hope that you and your guests will come back and visit us again very soon!

We would also like to thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers, about our renowned service and amenities!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you, or your family.

With highest regards,

Michael Beutel
General Manager
The Sewanee Inn
931-598-3621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sewanee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sewanee Inn

Address: 1235 University Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sewanee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sewanee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sewanee Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greeting you as you enter the campus of The University of the South, The Sewanee Inn features 43 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, over 8,000 square feet of event space, and a full-service lounge. Situated right on Sewanee's celebrated 9-hole golf course, the Inn offers sweeping vistas of the rolling Tennessee mountain-top plateau and an atmosphere of casual elegance coupled with unparalleled service. The Sewanee Inn extends to its guests an experience commensurate with the quality of the institution whose name it bears. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sewanee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sewanee Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.