We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great good, great people!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PawPaw's Kajun Kitchen

PawPaw's Kajun Kitchen
2760 Wears Valley Road, Wears Valley, Sevierville, TN 37862
+1 865-446-4978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 156 Restaurants in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: WE specialize in Cajun Food, we offer Fried Catfish,Fried Shrimp,Gumbo,Jambalaya,Red Beans & Rice,Shrimp Ettuoffee,New Orleans Muffalettas,Poboys- New Orleans Roastbeef & Gravy Poboy, Shrimp Poboy, Catfish Poboy.Alligator Bites, Hamburger Steak w/grilled onions,home made gravy,bread & mashed potato.We now serve Bar-B-Q Ribs & Pulled Pork.White Chocolate Bread Pudding,Chocolate layered Cake, pecan pie, boiled crawfish when in season, catfish acadiana,crab cakes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great good, great people!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Super pleased with everything about this place. The owners were super nice and the food was the real deal! We had the catfish, fried shrimp, coleslaw and potato salad. Everything was great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    9
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Georgia
2 reviews
“Was recommended by the locals but I would not!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I got there around 5 pm. They were out of the shrimp and crawfish étouffée. They were out of the seafood gumbo so the waitress said they had some fresh boiled shrimp,potatoes and corn. The corn and potatoes were old and dry could not eat them. I could not peel the shrimp I finally gave up. At least she did not charge for the shrimp but I would not go back there to eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawpaw2160, Owner at PawPaw's Kajun Kitchen, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I wanted to thank you for stopping by . The waitress told us you was complaining the minute you sat down . As for as the things we didn't have on the menu . We had been out of town on family business a death in the family and mom with cancer . We didn't get back in town until late the night before you came in and didn't have time to catch up . We try hard to make sure you have a good meal and feel at home . For the shrimp we did find they were hard too peel and you were not charged and we did not sell anymore I don't know what was wrong with the potatoes and corn it was just boiled if you want a baked potatoe you were at the wrong place this corn and potatoes is boiled in the water that we boil seafood . Once again Thank You for stopping by and I'm sorry we didn't live up to your standard . We really try hard to please people . You can't please everyone .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“When we get homesick we head to PawPaw's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have eaten here ummmm honestly I can't even tell you how many times! Always good. I wanted to read the other reviews and honestly some of the negative comments are off beat from what we have experienced there. NEVER have we felt the cooks/owners were negative. If anything they go out of their way to make us feel at home. The menu isn't a huge menu but it's enough to get your Cajun fix. Cajun food is beyond better than anything you can get in the mountains. We love Paw Paws and are so excited they have Sno Balls now!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We are returning end of July 2014. Having lived in N.O we found the food authentic and the best po'boy outside of LA.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When TA and Yelp both said it was good, our large group decided to give this a try since it was closer to our cabin than driving in to Pigeon Forge. Big mistake. Only one of our party liked her food at all. Very friendly staff and owner, but poor preparation and limited menu. Fried shrimp were fresh enough but way over cooked, over battered and greasy. Even the burger was tasteless. Sorry...wanted to like it, but it fell way short.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PawPaw's Kajun Kitchen also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to PawPaw's Kajun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PawPaw's Kajun Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.