We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Preserve Resort

Save Saved
You added The Preserve Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Preserve Resort
3031 Hickory Lodge Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just got back from our family vacation at the Morning View Manor and thought over all it was a good time. The house is showing its age and wear and is need of some repairs and carpet replacement, The kitchen needs some real help with applicances and cabinet re-work, but things worked well. The rooms were all clean when we arrived but found the kitchen to be short of pots/pans etc. We had some issues that required maintenance, and found them ready to help and friendly. They never were able to take care of the insects in the lower lever which was dissapointing. I would suggest packing your own bug killer just in case. The house is large and the back porches were the best. Plenty of rocking chairs outside to enjoy the view. Parking was a snap, with plenty of room for all the cars. Surpirsed that there is only one small BBQ grill on site, with that large of a house, its almost useless. Some family members took in the use of the pool and really enjoyed it. Overall all I would say its a 3 1/2 rating, but becasuse we had such a good time gave it a 4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, General Manager at The Preserve Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Diver 911,
We're so glad to hear you had a good time during your visit to Pigeon Forge and the beautiful Smoky Mountains. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    56
    23
    25
    48
See reviews for
150
77
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My cousin and I put together the family's first family reunion and we actually didn't do a whole lot of research on the place before hand. After booking the place I then decided to read the reviews... we did it so backwards.. I KNOW I KNOW... so I ended up reading all these bad reviews about the cleanliness of the place and how rude the staff members were so I got a lil scared. But we were pleasantly surprised! The views from the ridgetop theater were breath taking and the cabin itself was beautiful and staff was nice! We slept a total of 28 (21 adults and 7 kids) people snuggly in a cabin made for 18. The car trip up the mountain is scary at first but I got use to it after the second time. This resort is kind of far from shops and grocery stores but it wasn't an issue during our time there. It is actually pretty close to the national park and other attractions. The only thing I was they could change is the check in. Check is at 3pm, which I think is pretty late. Overall I was so go back again and again and again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, General Manager at The Preserve Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Dalia L,

We are truly honored to have been part of the best trip your family has taken, and thanks so much for taking a moment to share your experience in your review! We must agree our cabins are in great locations, most with easy access to area restaurants and attractions as well as the wealth of activities available to maximize appreciation of our beautiful Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Thank you, and we hope we’ll see you again for that week-long vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My family of four stayed in one of the Appalachian Villas for three nights and it was wonderful. After reading mixed reviews I was worried but the moment I opened the door my worries were gone. The cabin was exactly as pictured, clean, well decorated with a breathtaking view of the smokies. The day of my arrival I received a call informing me the cabin was ready without me calling first, which was a delightful surprise. I was able to check in right over the phone and get the door unlock code.

Cons: Only a few minor issues.

* The handle on the microwave was missing which created a challenge in using it.
* The bed was very squeeky
* The pull out bed didn't have much cushion in it, but okay for a child.
* The toilet tank took a long time to fill between flushes.
* Some evidence of active termites (that needs to be treated immediately since that can cause severe wood damage quickly). However this did not impact our enjoyment of the cabin.

Overall I highly recommend this location, but your milage may vary depending on which cabin you get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, General Manager at The Preserve Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Trumpetjason,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed our services. We look forward to seeing you again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in 2 cabins, a 3 bedroom and 8 bedroom, for a family reunion and LOVED it! The cabins were so nice and clean and had everything we would need. The amenities in the cabins as well as up at the main office made it easy for us to enjoy ourselves without any added expenses. We stayed at the resort the entire time because it was only a weekend, but there are plenty of area attractions to keep anyone occupied if your stay is longer.

Wish the area was patrolled a little more because the neighboring cabin was extremely loud until 1:30-2am every night and we had 5 kids under the age of 3 to get asleep and keep asleep. Also, pool guests were throwing/launching each other into the water for a good while so we had to sit on the sides with the kids for about 40 mins waiting for things to settle down. Minor irritations and would not keep us from coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, General Manager at The Preserve Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear S H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of the cabin and location inside the resort. The Preserve Resort asks all guest to observe quiet time between 11PM and 8 AM so everyone can enjoy a great night sleep and enjoy their morning. Please accept our apologies for your noisy neighbors and other guests at the pool. We are grateful that you chose spend your Smoky Mountain getaway with us, and do hope to be able to welcome you back once again to provide you with an exceptional level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with preserve resort for July 4th weekend and had great experience. We rented tonight's dream cabin and were amazed by the overall experience. The kitchen was well equipped with all appliances, living room has breath taking views through the glass wall of the mountains. The hot tub was clean!! Plenty of things to do in the area. So just go with enough groceries if u plan to cook as the drive up the mountain is 25-30 mins one way.
We will definitely come again as it was a great relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, General Manager at The Preserve Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Meghansoni,

The views at the Preserve Resort are the best in the Smokies and the amenities in each cabin allow you to have that peaceful home away from home feeling. Thanks for taking time to submit review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

From the time we selected this place to stay to the time we left (five nights stay), the Preserve Resort provided us all the information we needed to make this trip enjoyable. We found the place to be equipped and stocked with all the essentials. They are very responsive and professionals. I'm looking forward to stay there again during the Xmas holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, General Manager at The Preserve Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Rico49,
We wanted to thank you for sharing such positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We’re honored to have shared the Smoky Mountain experience with you and look forward to your promised return Christmas stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nervous about this resort given all the complaining below, but we had a great time. We booked into a 1BR, but it wasn't available because of a maintenance issue (they phoned me on my mobile 24 hrs before to tell me) so Maple Cabins mgmt was good enough to offer us a 3BR upgrade (the "Bella Vista").

Huge cabin with 3 king beds plus a loft area (where kids could sleep on futon mattresses). Hot tub/air hockey/foosball/tv's all worked fine. Plenty of seating areas and kitchen was fully stocked. Views of mountains from decks were awesome. No obstructions whatsoever.

Never checked the rest of the resort because the cabin was so nice. As others have mentioned the winding steep roads to the resort is a white-knuckled drive the first time you do it. Can't imagine doing it in heavy rain or snow.

Didn't see any black bears at resort, although we were fortunate enough to see a mom and cub on the Laurel Falls trail.

Room Tip: "Bella Vista" was great. No complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, General Manager at The Preserve Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear BillyMcKay,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, and though we regret the issue with your original cabin that necessitated the move, we were glad we were able to extend to you the level of customer service to which we continually strive. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the cabin's views and amenities. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Preserve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve Resort

Address: 3031 Hickory Lodge Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Specialty lodging in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Preserve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preserve Hotel Sevierville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Preserve Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.