We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My dinner last November.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Diner

The Diner
550 Winfield Dunn Pkwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-5509
865-908-1904
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 152 Restaurants in Sevierville
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: “One of a kind, locally owned, All American DINER”Timeless All American Great Food/Desserts/Poodle Skirts/JukeboxFood For Everyone in Your Party/Your Dessert DestinationGreat Fresh Salads, Tenders, Wings, AppetizersSteaks, Chicken Breast, Liver & Onions, Chicken & Dumplin’s, Meat Loaf, Chicken Pie, Spaghetti, More 20 Diff. Sandwiches, Club, Reuben (our own whole brisket, thin sliced), Bologna, Dagwood, Hot Dogs Loaded, Philly Cheese,etc.9 Children’s meals w/free drink, Fresh Char-Grilled to order Lean Beef, Elk, Bison, Turkey & Veggie Burgers*****THE DINER is Your Dessert Destination*****Best ever Milkshakes, Banana Splits, 8 homemade Pies & Cheesecakes, Tennessee Turtle, more.Breakfasts served all day.Great Pancakes & Waffles, Best Omelets, French Toast, Breakfast Skillets, Eggs to Order, Swaggerty Sausage, Thick-Cut Applewood Smoked Bacon.
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My dinner last November.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Sorry to be tardy with this review but.............the shrimp platter I had was super! I couldn't believe the size or quantity! The service, atmosphere and quality was super. Try the rum pecan pie......sooooooo delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post.....time is precious. We work hard to serve everyone like we want to be served ourselves. Food costs run high for us as we take no shortcuts to serve the best to you at a reasonable price. Actually shrimp costs/prices have jumped a lot, we will need to increase the price for them a bit but almost all our prices are holding.. Breakfast, burgers, most of our prices have not changes in years. We really appreciate you and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    70
    38
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Dining ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate at a lot of good restaurants while in TN, but this was the best!!! Takes you back in time in this very quaint diner. Food was awesome, service was great!!! Very clean place. Owner came out and talked with us, very nice person and spoke very wisely. Total dining experience was the best we've had in quite some time. If you haven't tried it you definitely need to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Can't express how thankful we are for your talking the time to post, for your choosing THE DINER and to be able to serve folks like you. We will continue to work hard to deliver value with quality food and reasonable menu prices. Thanks again, looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Marvelous place to feed the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

It is hard to describe how great this place is. The family that runs it are good Christian folks and they pour their heart and love into every meal that is prepared. It is just good food. Like going to dinner at grandma's house.... (well,, for most of you Great Grandma's house).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Manager at The Diner, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for your post. You have a great family. Blessings for all of you, three generations, and Merry Christmas. We are simply here to serve everyone like we want to be served ourselves. We really appreciate this honest & sincere post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Nice diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went there for breakfast. There were plenty of choices on the menu. The food was great and the employees were very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post. We simply want to serve others as we want to be served ourselves...no shortcuts to serve you well with great food. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Expected a nostalgic lunch experience, didn't get it. Service was terrible from the time we walked in the door, we were treated as if we were invisible. The restaurant was about half full, staff acted like they didn't want to be there. Once we finally were seated, things didn't get any better, took a long time to give our order and to have it brought to our table, some of the food was cold. The milk shake machines are very close to the dining room and are very noisy. All in all, this is a tourist place with not much 50's atmosphere other than an old Pontiac by the front door. There are better places to eat in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardOnHwy66, Owner at The Diner, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Clearly we failed in our mission for this customer. We don't have enough information to know for sure who served this table but for the two possibilities Susan and Howard can positively assure all that they (and EVERYONE on duty that Saturday) do care, do understand our mission of serving others as we want to be served ourselves. Saturday 12-1 is a reasonably busy time, there were plenty of servers on duty for our size, 5, all experienced and capable with supporting help. All are mere mortals, as we are, will make mistakes and clearly did here.
We have refreshed some policies that were apparently not followed here in the hopes that we will not have such a re-occurrence. This post suggests they we not greeted properly, they were not asked how their food was shortly after it was delivered, it was not delivered quickly enough to still be hot (eggs perhaps), were not asked how their food was as the register, that milkshakes were left running on the machines (vs staying with them-much faster). If true, all these are contrary to how we plan, train and operate for NEARLY every customer. Come on in and see that we do these things for you. Nearly every customer I speak to confirms that we do. We really do work hard to serve EVERYONE as we want to served ourselves with no shortcuts on food quality. Loaded Omelets, thick 14-18 applewood smoked bacon, only fresh vegetables including mushrooms, 81-19 Angus burgers char-grilled fresh to order, homemade soups, pies, banana pudding, bread pudding, cheesecakes, items like chicken & dumplins, slaw, cornbread, meatloaf, baked chicken pie, meatballs, hush puppies, etc. So check us out and tell us immediately and directly when you have a problem, WE DO CARE.
Howard & SuzyQ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diner also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.