We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill

English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill
291 Blowing Cave Rd, Sevierville, TN 37862
+1 865-429-5553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 156 Restaurants in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I have to admit, when we first pulled in I thought we must be in the wrong place! We decided to stay as the kids were very excited to catch their own dinner. We were certainly glad we did! We all had a great time fishing and then we got the large gem mining bucket to keep the kids busy while our dinner was being prepared. We got some beautiful stones in our bucket and then got cleaned up as our food was ready.
The owner came over and we chatted for a bit about the place. It is a very laid back, family oriented place. If you are looking for fancy, this is not for you but, if you want a fun experience and great food with your family, go! It is a bit pricey but, you won't get fresher fish anywhere else unless you are on a boat! And be sure to bring cash as they do not accept credit cards.
My kids never had trout but, they loved it so much, they ate every bite of their dinners! We go up to Tennessee at least once a year and this will be on our list of places to go to again and again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    24
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Great food and great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My son really enjoyed the Gem mining. It was worth the money unlike many other places we have visited in the past. It was great watching him catch our trout which they prepared for us for lunch. Talk about fresh!!! The owners and workers were very friendly and we can't wait to go back and visit again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Make an effort to go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you are anywhere near Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge make a effort to visit English Mountain. You will not regret it! The food is sssoooo good and the friendliness of the owners and staff are like visiting old friends. This is worth the drive to find this place. You will not regret it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“MUST DO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was the highlight of our trip! After finding this place on here nearly 9 months ago when researching things to do in the area, we finally got to see it in person this past week! We had so much fun catching our own fish and then having them cook it up for us to eat! The food was amazing, but what made the day was the staff. They are so friendly and welcoming and really seem to LOVE what they do. The gem mining is also a MUST DO! My 10 year old daughter has been into rocks for over 8 years, and you would not believe the things she found-this is truly the best place we have ever gem mined (get the large bucket!). This place is an overall MUST do for you if you are traveling in the area, especially with children. We did lots of things in the area, such as Dollywood, tourist attractions in Pigeon Forge, and a dinner show but this place topped it all! By the way, they only accept cash so have it ready! You can bring your own poles, but they have cane poles there. It is 5.00 to fish and it isn't catch and release- you pay for what you catch. They will then cook your fish up for you (blackened, lemon pepper, or fried) and you get 2 sides and hushpuppies. The plate itself is 16.99 per person but SO WORTH IT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Milton, Ohio
1 review
“A wonderful memory maker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stopped by to get away from all tourist stops and so glad we found this wonderful place! The owners make you feel like family, our daughter had so much fun catching the trout! And it was delish!! Gem mining was an added bonus! Wonderful people, wonderful food, and such a wonderful memory! We will be back next year!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill also viewed

 
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.