We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trout fishing and eating after catching.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill

English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill
291 Blowing Cave Rd, Sevierville, TN 37862
+1 865-429-5553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 144 restaurants in Sevierville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hiram, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Trout fishing and eating after catching.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stopped at English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill 5 years in a row and enjoy it every time. Very friendly and clean enviroment. Any age can enjoy this experience.
Great family run business makes you feel welcome. Quite relax and scenic.
No license needed or fishing pole. They clean them right away offering two ways to eat.
They cook the trout after you catch them and serve it right to you. Refills on drinks are always offered.
You can also have them pack the trout in ice and take more home for dinner.
Excellent service and very informative about the area.
Can't wait to stop back, see you next year.
Mike and June from Ohio!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    281
    20
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique experience, great food, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We 8 adults had a great time fishing for our trout dinner and then eating it. It was delicious. Two of our party chose to eat from the menu and they said their food was delicious also. All of the sides with the meal were great also. BEST hushpuppies ever! The owners were very friendly and visited with us during the meal. We asked about the history of the place and the area. It is definately not a five star restaurant if you are looking for white tablecloths and china, but it an experience you won't soon forget with delicious food. The fish I caught was approx 2-2.5 lbs and I traded another in our party for a smaller one to eat. You can get it prepared your choice of four ways. They told us that most of the catches are approx 1.5-2 lbs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machesney Park, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best fish I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food. Neat, down to earth place. We didn't catch ours at we felt it was more for the kids. We did watch some kids and a few ladies have fun catching fish.
We had a lemon pepper trout and the blackened trout. Prefered the seasoning of the blackened although the lighter seasoning of the lemon pepper really allowed you to get a better taste of the meat. We also shared a piece of fried cat fish. The seasoning of the catfish was better than we have ever had. Very light but nice and crispy. Cooked to perfection.
The sides were adequate, probably really good but perhaps overshadowed by the perfection of the fish. Would definitely recommend and will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ticked off ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

POOR service, we were told 15min for food and waited for an hour for fried food that wasn't even correct! No one checked on us, no refills offered on drinks brought, didn't bring some at all, no utensils brought after being asked, and combative cook/staff unwilling to admit fault when brought to their attention. Neat place but need some staff that can do more than one thing at a time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Even this city girl loved this experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've spent the past week in Pigeon Forge and were looking for a restaurant for our last night's meal. I found out about English Mountain Trout Farm here on Trip Advisor, and wow am I glad I did! My husband and 10-year-old son are very fond of things like camping and fishing, so they were immediately interested in the "catch-and-cook" concept, but I'm a city girl who likes to admire nature from the balcony of a nice cabin so I had my doubts. No more!!

It was about a 40-minute drive from the Parkway in Pigeon Forge, with pretty bad 5:00 Friday evening traffic. It was worth every minute (and it was a really easy drive once we got through town). It's definitely a rustic, casual experience but that is not a bad thing. You immediately feel like you're going over to a friend's house for dinner, not a restaurant.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. All three of us went fishing and caught our trout; I'd say we all had fish within 5 minutes. All we had to do after that was tell them how we wanted the fish prepared and they took care of the rest. We sat at a picnic table by the pond and watched the sunset. It was better than we could have hoped for. Then the food came! WOW.

The whole experience just could not have been any better.

Oh, do bring cash because it's the only form of payment they take. There's no ATM on site and you're pretty much out in the middle of nowhere, so it would be a real hassle if you weren't prepared.

I had trouble getting through to them on the phone to check on closing time, but I posted a question on their Facebook page and they answered me within about 20 minutes.

I honestly can not think of one single complaint, and we are looking forward to our next mountain vacation so we can go back to English Mountain!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill also viewed

 

Been to English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.