We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trout fishing - catch your dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill

English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill
291 Blowing Cave Rd, Sevierville, TN 37862
+1 865-429-5553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 156 Restaurants in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Winterville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trout fishing - catch your dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped by this "best kept secret" mountain trout fishing hole one day after we explored the Forbidden Caverns in east Tennessee. The small on site kitchen awaited your catch to clean, cook and serve up on one of the pondside picnic tables with your choice of fixin's. We purchased so much more than a meal that day! The fish were quick to bite the baited hooks hanging from the cane pole they provide you. The squeals of excitement pierced the air as the tug of the rainbow trout quickly became "catch of the day" aka "dinner". Their staff eagerly assisted us by scooping the flopping fish with a net when we pulled them onto the shore. They did all the hard work while we waited. The delicious plate that followed was loaded with a fresh trout, Cole slaw, French fries and the best hushpuppies/cornbread. You choose how you want it cooked, fried or blackened. We washed ours down with some good old fashion sweet tea! Beginners and experienced fishermen will appreciate the chance to fish without the necessity of patience. We were in and out, full tummy and all, in less than a hour!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    24
    8
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We would return again and again :) try the trout. Best ever. We happened upon this little place and loved the food and conversations with the owners. You have to try this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this place on the way back from white water rafting. The kids caught our trout for us and they cooked it to our liking. Owners are very pleasant and welcoming. Great hush puppies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Guaranteeded Catch-Great Food&Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was looking for a place to fish since it was a rainy Chattanooga day. Trip Advisor had great reviews on the trout farm. My nephew had missed a "big" catch several days before, so we thought this would be a great opportunity for him! After our two hour plus drive, we arrived at a small location and weren't sure if we had a good choice. WE ALL LOVED IT!! Upon moments of entering the gate, we had decisions to make about catching our fish and how we wanted it cooked. Our teenage nephew was the first to drop the line and was so proud when minutes later he had a LARGE trout!! He was so proud❤. We brought home lots of trout and also had a reward of eating our fresh catches! Blackened and fried was the best, we also tried the lemon pepper. Each of the staff/owners were so gracious, friendly and patient with us; especially with my picture taking of all our catches and great food!! A true family fun day of sharing valuable time with each other and making memories. We did spend a lot that day around $17 a plate and 4 something a pound for our take home catches; however, most ancy restaurants charge as much or more for "fesh catch" of the day on the menu! Catching the fish and then eating your catch was pretty awesome!! Well worth the experience and we have lots of pictures to remember our wonderful trip

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Stop Here! Seriously.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is so awesome! They have a large pond filled with beautiful rainbow trout for you to catch and eat. The husband and wife team are so sweet and Charlie loves to tell stories - pretty darn funny ones at that! For our party of 5 (3 adults & 2 teens) we let the teen girls do the fishing for 3 trout for the adults and they had a blast! Teens had chicken of course ;) While our trout was being prepared, we hung out at one of the many picnic tables outside and played with their dog Chief who loves to have his belly scratched :) The hush puppies as an appetizer were the best I've ever had. We had them prepare each trout differently so we could get a taste of each: fried, lemon pepper and blackened (my fav). Also took some smoked trout to go. Thank goodness we found this hidden gem on Trip Advisor, I couldn't imagine missing out on this amazing experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill also viewed

 
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Mountain Trout Farm & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.