We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love those planes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tennessee Museum of Aviation

Tennessee Museum of Aviation
135 Air Museum Way, Sevierville, TN 37862
865 908 0171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Attractions in Sevierville
Type: Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is an independently operated non-profit 501(c)(3) foundation dedicated to preserving aviation history, maintaining and exhibiting historical aircraft, advancing aviation education, and to honoring those who have made extraordinary contributions to aviation and aerospace. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation opened in Sevierville on 12/15/2001. The 50,000 sq ft facility is located beside the runway of the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport (KGKT). Airworthy "Warbirds" are the foundation of our collection, making this a very unique location for visitors to enjoy unscheduled flight demonstrations. Docents are available to assist visitors on a leisurely walk through our 35,000 sq ft hangar, observing a variety of magnificently restored Warbirds and offering a glimpse at some future projects waiting for restoration. We are a "living" museum, therefore our exhibits and aircraft change frequently. Browse the museum's air-conditioned exhibit gallery. A 52 foot "Wave Wall" not only traces aviation history from before the Wright Brothers, it includes the timelines of Military Aviation History and Tennessee Aviation History.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“love those planes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

we live near the town of sevierville and visited one day when they had an air show. It was a fun time and the kids loved it. good family time

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is most definitely a hidden gem. However, taking the time to find the museum, and spending a couple of hours walking through "history" can be a very rewarding experience for the entire family. Thank you for visiting the Tennessee Museum of Aviation, and we hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maspalomas, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent opportunity to see "Big Birds"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you’re passionate about aircrafts, you’re a Air Force Vet, or you just like those big silver birds, then you should pay a visit to the “Tennessee Museum Of Aviation – Warbird Collection”, as it has a very interesting exhibit of Air Force memorabilia, and it also displays a collection of aircrafts (and their personal stories), and helicopters.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is definitely a hidden gem in the Smokies. Taking the time to find the museum, and spending a couple of hours walking through "history" can be rewarding. We hope you will take the time to visit the museum again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to avoid the crowds or rain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For me, this museum rates 5 stars. As an aviation fanatic, it was a real joy to see the warbirds and aviation memorabilia. However, if you are not that into aviation, the $15 entrance fee might seem a bit steep. However, it is about 1/4 the price of the Dixie Stampede and completely authentic. What a great place to learn about history and actually touch it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is most definitely a hidden gem. A downside, for the museum, is being located away from the "main" flow of traffic and tourist attractions ... but, being on the airport -- a big plus -- we fly our WARBIRDS. Taking the time to find the museum, and spending a couple of hours walking through "history" can be a very rewarding experience ... and for only $12.75 (General Admission) it's one of the better deals in the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge-Sevierville area. Thank you for visiting the Tennessee Museum of Aviation, and we hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pricy but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Was looking for things to do on a rainy day and decided to check this out. Airplanes are not really my thing but husband enjoyed it. Very well kept facility. Thought admission was a bit high. Exhibits were nicely done and informational. Hanger had some nice models but some things like the two Corvettes and the Harley Davidson were out of place and there was no explanation or link to aviation that I could find. Hanger was also extremely cold while we were there. If you get bored while your spouse is looking there is a sitting area with comfortable chairs and magazines.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to offer your opinion. We are very proud of our facility. Although, we're not located in the "main" flow of traffic -- taking time to find the museum can be a very rewarding experience and less expensive than similar attractions in the Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge-Sevierville area. It's a great place to spend a couple of hours walking through "history" especially on a rainy day.
Most visitors are not only aircraft fans ... they're gear-heads too -- therefore they enjoy looking at the aircraft engines. And who doesn't enjoy looking at classic cars and motorcycles? They kinda go hand-n-hand.
Thank you for visiting the Tennessee Museum of Aviation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exploring Some Aviation History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Somewhat of a small "hidden" gem in the Sevierville area. Although not as big as some of the aviation museums in larger cities, the displays in this museum capture the historical development of aviation and the excitement of flight. The display area was well organized and had interesting displays especially highlighting the roles of Tennesseans in aviation history. The large hangar had many examples of fixed-wing as well as rotor-driven aircraft (many still privately owned). The neat part was that many of these older aircraft are still flown by their owners on a regular basis. This is a great spot to explore some aviation history and take photos.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Tennessee Museum of Aviation, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. The Tennessee Museum of Aviation is most definitely a hidden gem. A downside, for the museum, is being located away from the "main" flow of traffic and other tourist attractions ... but, being on the airport -- a big plus -- we fly our WARBIRDS. Taking the time to find the museum, and spending a couple of hours walking through "history" can be a very rewarding experience for the entire family. Thank you for visiting the Tennessee Museum of Aviation, and we hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Museum of Aviation also viewed

 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Tennessee Museum of Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tennessee Museum of Aviation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.