We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Governor's Crossing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Governor's Crossing to your Saves list
Resort at Governor's Crossing
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Collier Drive, Sevierville, TN 37862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are plenty of nice places to stay in this area. This is the best. Clean. Friendly staff. Great pools and amenities. Close to everything. Have stayed here 3 times and have been extremely pleased every time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for writing such a kind review on our property. I am very happy that you and your family have chosen to stay with us here at The Resort when you are in the Smoky Mountain area. We take pride in our exceptionally clean rooms and genuinely friendly staff. Our location offers many entertainment options from shows to shopping to dining; you could also stay here on the property and have plenty of things to keep you busy from the pools to the miniature putt putt golf course. Thank you for being a part of The Resort family and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    163
    58
    44
    47
See reviews for
443
55
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Old Hickory
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly. Pools are clean. Did I mention this was a great place for those with kids? We were also glad that the facility required key card access to halls and stairwells.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on our property. I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us here at The Resort. Our secure facility allows families to really enjoy our indoor water park and game rooms without having to be concerned about the safety of their children. Our friendly staff do their best to make sure each and every guest feels welcome during their time with us. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved the hotel because there was a ton of activities for our kids to enjoy. The Indoor pool with the water slides and the game room kept them busy and entertained during our rainy weekend. Our maintenance man, Robert was so nice. He had already gotten off of work one night and he came back to fix the thermometer in our room. Which I thought was very kind of him.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Resort at Governor's Crossing.
We are thrilled that you were able to utilize all of the activities that we have provided for families visiting The Resort. Having the indoor water park has been a lifesaver for many families who have not had the weather cooperate with their vacation plans. Our staff strives to go above and beyond for each and every guest who visits The Resort and are glad that this was the case with your stay! We will make sure that we pass your comments on to Robert. We look forward to your next visit! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

1st time the family went to the Smokies and have kids from 5 to 15. I wanted a hotel that would offer us the space and water activities inside and out. Since it rained most of the time the kids got to use the inside waterpark which was great. The price was reasonable for the accommodations. My son says the waterslides need some work because they were a little bump and scratched up his back. The room was neat and the staff at the hotel was very accommodating and courteous.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom was enough for our 3 kids and us. I was surprised at how big the room was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at the Resort at Governor's Crossing. We do have very spacious one bedroom condos that are able to accommodate families of six and are glad that you took advantage of the space with your family! Our Water park is a huge draw for families and having the indoor water park has been a great benefit for times when the weather has been less than cooperative for families vacationing in the Smokies. We appreciate your feedback about the slide and will work to resolve this issue. We hope that the next time you are vacationing in the Smokies you will book with the Resort at Governor's Crossing and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quick getaway the weekend before I had a surgery and wouldn't be able to do much. We were drawn to the Resort at GC because of the pictures of the waterslides, which were incredibly fun!
Check in was a tiny bit of a hassle, but we were super early, and they let us utilize the waterpark while we waited for our room to be cleaned. Though there were no real changing areas for people not in rooms yet, I can understand why, as the park was incredibly fun!
After an hour or two I dripped my way through the lobby (sorry if anyone complained it was wet!) and found out our room STILL wasn't ready. Not to fear though! They gave us a free upgrade to the 1 BR Condo! Oh my! This room was nicer than our apartment! We loved it! Especially being able to DRY OUR SWIMMING CLOTHES for fresh trips to the pool. (We went up and down like 5 times)
The night desk crew was also amazing, and while I was working on homework in the business center (don't count on getting much done, the computers are seriously crap, the only thing there that was) they suggested some great ideas for fun things to do the next day!
This place was awesome, and we'll be going back for our 1 year anniversary!

Room Tip: I'd imagine they're all quite good really!
See more room tips
Green Features: I wasn't aware they had any, but good for them. I suppose the salt water in the pools is environmentally friendly, so that's something!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on our property. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your time with us here at The Resort as much as you did and that you found our one bedroom condo to be spacious and comfortable. The waterslides are always a big hit with the young and the young at heart. Our one bedroom condo’s offer plenty of space and amenities for a small weekend getaway. We look forward to your next stay with us. If you are coming for your anniversary be sure to ask about our Romance Package when you book your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hephzibah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The McPhee family vacation June 30 – July 2 at Governors Resort, Sevierville TN:
Very disappointing experience!


Reservations and check in:
• Spending the 4th on vacation with our friends and family, we made reservations two weeks prior to arrival directly at governors resort for 4th floor balcony facing pool. No travel agency involved.
• Sunday 6/30. Checked in at 11:00. Room was not ready. Woman at desk said room is guaranteed to be ready by 4:00pm. She said she would make sure we got a balcony facing pool 4th floor and she would call us when the room was ready.
• Came back at 3:40pm. We offloaded luggage onto the butler cart and went to the front desk. Room was not ready
• Waited in lobby till 4:00pm. Room was not ready.
• Waited in lobby. Went to desk at 4:10pm. Room was still not ready.
• 4:20pm Returned to desk. Room was not ready. I asked the lady what we would get since room is not ready and it was guaranteed to be ready by 4:00pm. She said she had another room, not with pool view. She said she would check with manager about situation. I said I would wait for the 4th floor room with pool view as reserved.
• 4:28pm called Governors resort directly and ask for manager. Jason (General Manager for all the 7 resort properties) answered phone. I explained the situation and that we had to get checked in to go to Dixie Stampede for the 6:00 show. He said he would check on room. Jason met us outside and said he was sorry for delay. I asked him how he could make things right, he said he would give me tickets to Titanic. I requested if he could comp the room, he said he could not. He then said the room was ready and gave me room keys to 1305.
• We loaded the luggage back into the vehicle and drove to the other building and offloaded luggage once again. Not having a butler cart, we hand carried the luggage to the elevator (no luggage cart around). Elevator had huge line of people. We waited another 10 minutes on elevator. Called Jason again telling him there was a line waiting on the elevator and that it may be malfunctioning, he said it was working fine, just heavy traffic.
• We arrived at the room, and it was not on the 4th floor, but 3rd, and not with a balcony view of pool, only the woods / dumpster. I called Jason again, and said this was not the room we had reserved. He said wait in room and he and a manager would check the 4th floor room that was showing ready.
• We could not wait any longer on resolution, due to having tickets for the Stampede. We left the room headed back to the vehicle, meeting Jason in the hallway. He said he was sorry and that the room would definitely be ready by the time we return and that he was writing a detailed report of what happened so the night manager would know and that he would be back in the morning to discuss with two other managers what they could do to make things right. I told Jason I looked forward to hearing from him in the morning.
• With luggage in hand we repacked it into the vehicle and went to the Dixie Stampede. Arriving late because of delays at resort, we missed the end of the pre-show, so the kids were a disappointed.
• After Dixie Stampede, we returned to the resort around 9:00pm. The woman at front desk asked if I was Mr. McPhee and said she had the room keys. Neither apologies nor empathy expressed. This may indicate she may not have known all the trouble we have been going through.
• Arrived in room 1404. It was next to elevator. We heard the elevator bell all night long. Additionally, since the room was at the very end of the building, we had a very limited view of the pool. The kids can only see the mushroom pool. To see the rest of the pool, the kids have to stand on a chair so see around the rail.

Room condition and deficiencies when we finally arrived in a room around 9:20pm: (reference pictures and video of room)

Health / Cleanliness concerns:
• When unfolding the pull-out bed, the kids found food remnants on the mattress, so we put the bed back together and put sheets on top of the couch for them to sleep on.
• There is a large stain like something liquid thrown on bathroom wall by air dryer
• The shower curtain has two large stains on it.
• There are Stains / sheetrock damage throughout all the rooms on walls. (magic eraser would do wonders to make walls look cleaner
• The balcony has spilled soft drink on concrete and sticky on bare feet.
• There is a dead, dried large mosquito on hallway wall
• There is Paper / dirt under bed
• There is Hair / lint beside refrigerator
• The bathroom sink drains very slowly, had to unplug the hair in drain.
• There are red stains on floor beside toilet

Safety / Structural concerns:
• Bedroom light raceway missing 8” exposing cord
• The AC next to bedroom makes huge drumming sound when on. Very annoying hard to get a good nights sleep
• The balcony door wall has a crack 1ft long on the top right.
• There is no security bar on door, only lock.
• The balcony door appears to have been kicked in sometime in the past. Proper repairs not made
• The AC gets to only 74 in room even though thermostat set for 68.
• The bathroom Fan makes loud racket while on.
• Microwave does not work
• The toaster is broken
• There was no luggage rack in room.
• The ironing board has no cover on it. Bare metal.



7/1/2013: 8:00 am my son and I went to the business center to print out the list of issues for our discussion with Jason. The inject printer was out of ink and they had none. Imagine that.

After asking the front desk to tell Jason we were here, we met with him and his Assistant manager to review the above. He apologized and said they would try to make things right, however they were limited in what they could do since they are not Hotel and each property is privately owned. So compensating us for a nights stay would have the owner not making money. FYI, the room welcome book states Hotel 12 times in their literature. He said he had talked to his managers and they would like to offer us a $75 dinner certificate to Golden Coral or flapjacks, $75 for Golden Coral? Really?

Jason continued and said that our room would be their first priority today to get things taken care of. I again told him that any other Hotel would comp at least a night’s stay and upgrade the room. He said that was not out of the question and they would do everything in their power, other than rebuilding the room, to take care of things while our Family was out to Dolly wood.

Around 4:30pm we arrived back at the room. The maintenance guys were just leaving. Below is the status of the items when we arrived:

Health / Cleanliness concerns:
• When unfolding the pull-out bed, the kids found food remnants on the mattress, so we put the bed back together and put sheets on top of the couch for them to sleep on. Did not check since kids refused to sleep in the pull out sleeper.
• There is a large stain like something liquid thrown on bathroom wall by air dryer Did not clean
• The shower curtain has two large stains on it. Replaced
• There are Stains / sheetrock damage throughout all the rooms on walls. (magic eraser would do wonders to make walls look cleaner Did not clean
• The balcony has spilled soft drink on concrete and sticky on bare feet. Did not clean
• There is a dead, dried large mosquito on hallway wall Cleaned
• There is Paper / dirt under bed Did not clean
• There is Hair / lint beside refrigerator Did not clean
• The bathroom sink drains very slowly, had to unplug the hair in drain. We unplugged the hair.
• There are red stains on floor beside toilet Did not clean

Safety / Structural concerns:
• Bedroom light raceway missing 8” exposing cord Did not repair or make safe.
• The AC next to bedroom makes huge drumming sound when on. Very annoying hard to get a good nights sleep Did not repair
• The balcony door wall has a crack 1ft long on the top right. Did not repair
• There is no security bar on door, only lock. Did not repair
• The balcony door appears to have been kicked in sometime in the past. Proper repairs not made Did not repair
• The AC gets to only 74 in room even though thermostat set for 68. AC got down to 74
• The bathroom Fan makes loud racket while on. Attempted to repair, but noise came back after running it.
• Microwave does not work Replaced
• The toaster is broken Replaced
• There was no luggage rack in room. Did not provide one
• The ironing board has no cover on it. Bare metal. Replaced with full ironing board with cover.

A few minutes after inspecting the room, Jason called my cell phone. He said he had some good news and bad news. He said he could not upgrade our room, nor comp a nights stay and that some of the items in the room were repaired and cleaned. We told him we were livid at this point and due to the 4th there was no place to stay in pigeon forge. He seemed to not be interested in meeting our expectations. We told him the trip has been an awful experience at Governors Resort and we would probably leave in the morning. He said unfortunately he could not meet our expectations and that we could leave in the morning and they would refund our money. This did not happen either. Governors Resort has a Guaranteed 100% satisfaction. This Guarantee is basically worthless. Other than repairing some items in the room, there was no offer or attempt to neither find other lodging nor refund our money. We spend two nights waiting on Jason and staff to work through the issues, only to have spilled coke still on the balcony and the other items above not handled.

We could not bear to stay another night at the resort, so in the morning our Family and the Family we came with left, losing a Day for the kids at Dolly wood as well. The resort credited us with only the one night we did not stay there even though he said he would refund our stay.

I would never recommend staying at the Governors Resort or any of the Properties managed by Smoky Mountain Resorts. You are basically treated like a number and they appear to not be in the business of accommodating or helping guests out, but only getting rooms filled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to offer feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for anything less than a 100% satisfaction and know that the management team at The Resort at Governor’s Crossing made every attempt to accommodate you and your family and strive to provide exceptional service and accommodations to all of our guests.
Our records show that you originally reserved a one bedroom condo. When you came to check in, your room was ready but you asked to have a pool view room. Although that is a different condo type than what you reserved and has a higher nightly rate, we upgraded your reservation at no additional cost and informed you that the room you requested would not be ready until check in time at 4pm. In addition to that, we also applied a 12% discount to your entire stay for having to wait until check in time.
A few minutes after 4pm, we received your call at which point you stated that you needed to check in immediately. The pool view room would be available in a few minutes but we offered to let you check into the room that you had originally booked and give you complimentary attraction tickets. It was disappointing that neither offer was satisfactory but you did check in to the room you originally reserved. You also expressed your expectation of your entire stay being compensated for the wait. Shortly after check in, we learned that you were unhappy with the room and would be leaving for the evening. We assured you that we would address the issues and offered to move you to the pool view room.
Upon your return, you were checked in to the pool view room. The next morning we were made aware of some concerns you had in the condo. Two managers were available and both sat down with you personally to apologize, hear your concerns and try to rectify the situation for you. We offered you $75.00 in restaurant gift cards, assured you that the issues you brought to our attention would be resolved, as well as another discount both of which you declined while reiterating that you expected full compensation.
When every issue that you had expressed had been resolved, we called you to make sure that the rest of your vacation would be a great one. During that conversation, you told us that our solutions were not satisfactory and that you would be checking out in the morning. We vowed to reimburse you for any nights that you did not stay and we did.
It is disheartening to us that we were unable to satisfy you while you were a guest with us and we truly apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. As you can tell from our other recent reviews, this is not typical for The Resort and when a situation happens that our guests expectations are not met, it becomes our personal mission to ensure that any problem is resolved and rectified. Thank you again for your review and we hope you enjoyed the Smoky Mountains area while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

When booked condo in April ask for eaither a first or second floor room because 3 three year old children. Was told pool side 1st floor room would be available but would be a extra charge. Booked due to the fact of 1st floor. Party of 8 people; 5 kids and 3 adults. When arrived on Mon July 1 2013 was placed on 4 th floor with balcony witch had 3 doors from condo to it, desk said someone decided to stay over and they had to change our room. Ok did i mention booked in april Tried to find another condo but with the amount of people and time of year no vacancy. When arrived to condo that Monday night noticed water standing in washer and at 3 am in morn Tuesday fridge starts leaking. Maintence notified and came and told us to sit something heavy in lid if washer and it should work and thought he fixed fridge. Blood in lobby floor all day Wednesday and Thursday. Started to wash clothes Thursday night and washer would not drain water out of clothes. Maintence came back and said it could not be fixed and clothes would have to stay wet till tomorrow and fridge still leaking but should be ok. Desk calls to see if we want to take clothes to another location to wash and dry clothes at 1030 at night. Did I mention we have 5 kids that are trying to go to bed. This is Thursday night and garbage has only been taken out once since Monday. No other house keeping At all done. Costed over $1600 and not worth half. Very old furnishings. Hard beds and pillows. Will Never recommend or stay again. Only thing good is location to resurants and outlet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Resort at Governor's Crossing, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We would first like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. At The Resort we take pride in our friendly guest service and providing each guest with accommodations that exceed their expectations. We have a preventative maintenance program which insures that all condos are kept up to date and in immaculate condition. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the problem prior to your arrival. Although we were able to repair the washer while you were there, and applied a $145 discount to your reservation, we understand the frustration you experienced and sincerely apologize for anything less than 100% satisfaction. We hope to get a second chance at serving as your vacation getaway destination and that you will reconsider staying with us the next time you are in the area. Thanks again for your review and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Governor's Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Governor's Crossing

Address: 225 Collier Drive, Sevierville, TN 37862
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sevierville
#6 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort at Governor's Crossing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Resort at Governor's Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Governor`s Crossing Hotel Sevierville
The Resort At Governors Crossing
Governors Crossing Resort
Governor's Crossing
Resort Governors Crossing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Governor's Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.