We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and personable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's Inn to your Saves list
Governor's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Nascar Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, and personable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel does not allow smoking or pets. BIG PLUS. I understand that it will not be everyone's cup of tea to stay here (it's a bit away from the attractions) but if you're looking for something quiet, clean, smoke-free, and not expensive, stay here. Free breakfast included, but again, waffles and fruit cups might not be up to everyone's standards (although they were good). HOWEVER, if you're traveling with a group or family, the value adds up. The rooms are plain, no personality, a little blah, but they're very clean and every single lady on the staff is a peach. Truly helpful and pleasant!

WiFi was slow and kept cutting off, they need to upgrade their hardware.

Breakfast items included: biscuits, gravy, boiled eggs, toast (w jam, butter, peanut butter etc) hot make-your-own waffles, cereals, milk, fruit cups, orange juice, coffee, and milk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Governor's Inn is a completely non-smoking and non-pet facility. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that everyone has an enjoyable and clean, comfortable rooms. They try to exemplify the true meaning of southern hospitality. Our IT staff is currently upgrading our Wi-Fi system. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that you will be back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    92
    43
    16
    22
See reviews for
113
68
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent play to stay;beautiful location;friendly staff that are quite courteous and helpful. They were most attentive and personable. I have visited twice and would highly recommend this hotel. My room was lovely as it was near Christmas time and the decorations were most attractive. It was a quiet time of the year and extremely great place for security. The outlet mall is very near; many attractions and places to eat are close. This is one of the nicest places I have visited in my travels!

Room Tip: Washing machine and dryer awesome;fireplace nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us here at Governor's Inn. The entire staff is so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for your wonderful compliment of our holiday decorations. Governor's Inn is in an excellent location which is very close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Thank you for being a repeat guest and for recommending us to your family and friends. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I just recently visited this hotel with our young son and learned our lesson about trying to save a few dollars on a hotel room. For starters the "free wifi" was a joke. Neither our cell phones or computers would pick up the internet in our rooms& when I went to the front desk to ask the receptionist about this, her response was " well usually the rooms next the elevators can pick it up" ( and our room was literally right off the elevator). Continental breakfast also a joke..We ended up going somewhere else every morning because not only was everything stale (cereal, muffins) but the room was just not clean looking in general. Lastly, on our final night at the hotel we had an issue with loud, dunken neighbor slamming doors at 2/3 am, waking our son. Now this is not the fault of the front desk but when I am paying what I will assume is the same price per night as the other guests, I expect more of an answer than "oh, sorry" when I bring this to your attention!!
So in other words, SAVE YOUR MONEY, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!! for the price of a room you will pay staying here, you can stay in the center of all the excitement in pigeon forge or gatlinburg. We sure did learn our lesson!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us here at Governor's Inn. We apologize that your stay was anything less than 100% satisfactory. Our staff strives to provide all guests with exceptionally clean rooms and excellent guest service. Thank you for making us aware of your issues with the wi-fi connection, so that we can inform our IT Dept to assist us in improving the service. It is unfortunate that you had noisey neighbors and they disrupted your vacation. Any time this happens, please notify the front desk immediately and the staff will contact the guest regarding the noise issue to remind them that we have a quiet time beginning at 10:00 PM. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you had a very enjoyable visit to Smoky Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staying here was like checking into a retirement home. No personality hotel. Full of retired bus tour. Breakfast was a joke and sloppy. Stayed in jacuzzi suite... glad we had tub because shower was broke. Room was clean desk clerk friendly not very helpful with attractions. Had no idea of new years entertainment in local area...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay. Governor's Inn has a very diverse clientele from the very young to the elderly; from large families to the business traveler. We apologize that you did not like our complimentary breakfast selection. We also have coupons for a free pancake and coffee breakfast at the Smoky Mountain Pancake House available as a alternative breakfast choice. Thank you for letting us know about the issues with your shower controls during your visit, so that we could enter this into our Workorder system and have it fixed promptly by our maintenance crew. We hope that you had a wonderful visit to the Smoky Mountain area and have a Very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The staff are so friendly and remember us from previous stays, which makes me feel good. The room was clean and spacious and the balcony was nice with good views. The wifi does not pick up good in the rooms,but once you go down stairs to the lobby area, it picks up perfectly. The bonus for us on this trip was it has snowed the day before Thanksgiving and we drove up the mountain to see all the snow which was gorgeous!! The Lord is amazing with the beauty He creates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our southern hospitality. The housekeeping staff is so pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room. They really strive to make sure the guest room experience is the best that it can be. We are happy that you enjoyed the mountain views from your balcony. Thanks for choosing Governor's Inn and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newland, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We got a great rate on our room, and we had absolutely no complaints. The hotel was clean, all of the staff was super friendly and helpful, and the room had everything we needed. The breakfast was good. We will definitely stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Governors Inn. We are very excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff will be thirlled for the kind words left about them. We look forward to seeing you soon and hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Last night we enjoyed our stay at the Governor's Inn. We found the split arrangement of the two queen beds was very helpful - with the bathroom in the middle of the room separating the sleeping areas. Made it nice for one getting up before the other - almost like having a suite. The breakfast was very nice - biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles to make for yourself, fruit cup, muffins, toast, oatmeal, juice, toast... They give a discount to returning cutomers so we have booked our next stay for later in December. It will be a pleasure to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Governors Inn. We are very happy to hear how much you liked the layout of the room with the bathroom dividing the beds. Lots of people seem to love that as well. We look foward to seeing you in December and it is great to hear that you were able to get signed up for our new free rewards program. You should be close to a free night stay after your next visit. Thank you again and we hope you have a good Thanksgiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn

Address: 121 Nascar Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Sevierville
Governors Hotel Sevierville
Governor Inn Sevierville
Governors Inn Sevierville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.