We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed New Years Eve ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's Inn to your Saves list
Governor's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Nascar Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Sevierville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stayed New Years Eve ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staying here was like checking into a retirement home. No personality hotel. Full of retired bus tour. Breakfast was a joke and sloppy. Stayed in jacuzzi suite... glad we had tub because shower was broke. Room was clean desk clerk friendly not very helpful with attractions. Had no idea of new years entertainment in local area...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay. Governor's Inn has a very diverse clientele from the very young to the elderly; from large families to the business traveler. We apologize that you did not like our complimentary breakfast selection. We also have coupons for a free pancake and coffee breakfast at the Smoky Mountain Pancake House available as a alternative breakfast choice. Thank you for letting us know about the issues with your shower controls during your visit, so that we could enter this into our Workorder system and have it fixed promptly by our maintenance crew. We hope that you had a wonderful visit to the Smoky Mountain area and have a Very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    92
    43
    16
    22
See reviews for
113
68
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The staff are so friendly and remember us from previous stays, which makes me feel good. The room was clean and spacious and the balcony was nice with good views. The wifi does not pick up good in the rooms,but once you go down stairs to the lobby area, it picks up perfectly. The bonus for us on this trip was it has snowed the day before Thanksgiving and we drove up the mountain to see all the snow which was gorgeous!! The Lord is amazing with the beauty He creates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our southern hospitality. The housekeeping staff is so pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room. They really strive to make sure the guest room experience is the best that it can be. We are happy that you enjoyed the mountain views from your balcony. Thanks for choosing Governor's Inn and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newland, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We got a great rate on our room, and we had absolutely no complaints. The hotel was clean, all of the staff was super friendly and helpful, and the room had everything we needed. The breakfast was good. We will definitely stay there again. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Governors Inn. We are very excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff will be thirlled for the kind words left about them. We look forward to seeing you soon and hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Last night we enjoyed our stay at the Governor's Inn. We found the split arrangement of the two queen beds was very helpful - with the bathroom in the middle of the room separating the sleeping areas. Made it nice for one getting up before the other - almost like having a suite. The breakfast was very nice - biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles to make for yourself, fruit cup, muffins, toast, oatmeal, juice, toast... They give a discount to returning cutomers so we have booked our next stay for later in December. It will be a pleasure to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Governors Inn. We are very happy to hear how much you liked the layout of the room with the bathroom dividing the beds. Lots of people seem to love that as well. We look foward to seeing you in December and it is great to hear that you were able to get signed up for our new free rewards program. You should be close to a free night stay after your next visit. Thank you again and we hope you have a good Thanksgiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I visited in late October with my 3 sisters I had not seen in two years. The room was very spacious and we had a fantastic view from our balcony. I really enjoyed the holiday decorations and the staff was very friendly. Jennifer from the front desk helped out tremendously with back roads to get us where we needed to go quickly. The hotel was very clean inside and out and overall I will say it is a very nice place indeed. The breakfast was also great, just a little busy! We will come back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Governors Inn. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the staff will be very happy for the nice comments. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

WE stayed a this hotel last week. Everyone was very nice and polite. Room was adequate but a little outdated. Continental breakfast was a little lacking but ok overall. The problem was that our room was absolutely infested with stink bugs and they knew it. It just happens to be a seasonal problem that they know about but have not fixed and still rent rooms full of bugs to guests. Then if you complain, they have an automatic answer, "Would you like to move to another room or we can spray." This was the answer we got twice. We tried to go with the spraying, but there were too many of them. The next day we moved. No one at the hotel would lift a finger to help us because it was "against company policy". They did credit us for the first night, however on our last day, we had them again! It was a shame that they have this problem that they have not resolved. Everyone on their staff, including the General Manager Garrett, was very polite and friendly. They just seem to be de-sensitized to the severity of their bug problem and just go ahead and rent the rooms and wait to see if the guest will complain. Then it is "Move or Spray"

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel in October and April, that is when they have their bug problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We appreciate all reviews. It allows us to see ourselves though the most important eyes of all- our guests. We thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. It is our hearts desire to provide the best accommodations, and service that a guest could ever want. Having said that, it saddens us that you got the opinion that all concerns are not important. We sincerely want our guests to have the most pleasant of stays and return year after year. We have exterminated already and will continue to exterminate until every bug is eliminated. Thanks again and we truly are sorry if we gave you the wrong impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of a Wyndham deal. The hotel has some age on it, but it was very clean. The room layout is nice for those traveling with children, or another couple you don't mind sharing a bathroom with. The bedding was worn - our blanket and the one in my daughter's room were both tattered with bare spots and tears. She asked for a newer one and was told there weren't any. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very friendly. Be prepared if you stay here - there were tour buses full folks while we were there which made for some elevator waits, really busy breakfast times, general busyness. The breakfast was a bit less than the usual fare. We preferred eating offsite. Overall, it is a good value, especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Governor's Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Governors Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the lay out of the room. I do apologize for the condition of the blankets found in the rooms. Please rest assured we are currently in the process of ordering and replacing all of the worn blankets. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn

Address: 121 Nascar Dr, Sevierville, TN 37862
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Hotel Sevierville
Governors Hotel Sevierville
Governor Inn Sevierville
Governors Inn Sevierville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.