We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ & Appetizers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Gore's Smoky Mountain BBQ & Grill

Tony Gore's Smoky Mountain BBQ & Grill
1818 Winfield Dunn Pkwy, Sevierville, TN 37876-1508
865-429-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 156 Restaurants in Sevierville
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ & Appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband travels for work and every time he visits this part of Tennessee, he takes people out to lunch here. I was able to join him on this trip and having lived in Memphis for a couple years - my BBQ expectations are pretty high. Tony Gore's was good--it wasn't Memphis, but it was still very good.

I had a pulled pork sandwich on garlic bread - which was something I'd never had before and was pretty good. The BBQ sauce was okay on the pulled pork, but for whatever reason it tasted WAY better on the loaded baked potato we shared.

I'd also recommend either getting the corn nuggets as an appetizer or as your side. Out of this world.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    69
    36
    15
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband loves BBQ so we always try it wherever we visit. We stopped in at a slow time so the sweet waitress sat us down immediately. The food came out quickly. The loaded tater chips are the biggest portion I have ever seen. All delish food. Only thing that was negative was the lady that appeared to be the manager Wasnt friendly at all. She never once cracked a smile or acknowledged us as she cut herself a slice of pie. I would just think she could have been a little more welcoming esp since we are locals. Overall, great time. Maybe try it during slower hours based on other reviews.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and welcoming atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We live local and had this restaurant on our list to try. We had friends in from Florida and they wanted to try something local so we brought them there. The food was delicious and very reasonably price!! As a parent to a toddler I was very pleased that is was also kid friendly. I am a huge Southern Gospel fan and was so excited that our waiter was Earl Galloway. His knowledge of Southern Gospel, love of his ministry and lively personality in addition to the tasty food made it a place that we are already planning our next trip to.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best ribs ever! Great fresh cut fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The ribs are smoked in front in a huge smoker and fall off the bones. Homemade sauces are on the table all which are so good! The fresh cut fries are a large serving and are the best. The coleslaw lacks in flavor as it's mostly mayo dressing lacking a vinagar flavor which I prefer. The baked beans are made from white beans are as close in flavor to Boston baked beans that I had in Massachusetts, the very best! Until you have Boston baked beans in Massachusetts you are missing great baked beans, nothing resembling those in a jar on the grocery shelf! The deserts are home made as well but we enjoyed our meals so much we passed, there is an option of a roll or hushpuppies which are good also! Sweet tea served in a huge glass finished just so good! Thanks guys for great service and the very best barbecue ribs and sides!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

First time we've eaten here and will probably be the last. I ordered the brisket plate and the brisket was very tough. Actually, it reminded me of beef jerky. I also ordered the potato salad, it wasn't very good either. I couldn't finish it. Very disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Gore's Smoky Mountain BBQ & Grill also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 

Been to Tony Gore's Smoky Mountain BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony Gore's Smoky Mountain BBQ & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.