We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tried a different room..this time in the river lodge..big mistake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sevierville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Save
You added Wilderness at the Smokies Resort to your Saves list
1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Sevierville, TN 37876   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Sevierville
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“tried a different room..this time in the river lodge..big mistake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

if you look at my past reviews you'll see that we stay here every year and have stayed in 3 different rooms..the executive suite, the studio and the fireplace suite...we stayed in the latter this time and disappointed is an understatement for the same price as the executive suite which has a bedroom two murphy beds two bathrooms, two tv's and a sofa bed, we got one small room which has a curtain that separates the bed and bathroom from the murphy bed and the couch bed and the (1) TV..and last but not least the so-called fireplace..which was just a holographic one that did not put out any heat..so for $211 a night we were cramped and unhappy...just stay in the stone hill lodge and catch the shuttle to the waterpark..the room had a mini fridge a microwave a bar sink and a two burner counter stove..the room said it slept 6...we were like sardines..never again in the river lodge..and sorry guys left my cameras and camcorders at home so had to use my phone for the pictures..

Room Tip: avoid the river lodge..stay in the stone hill lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    594
    269
    145
    133
See reviews for
1,325
32
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Just traveled here with 3 families. We rented a house on the golfcourse that is part of the resort. It was very nice. The resort itself is just typical tourist stuff to get people to spend money. The water park is small as far as the indoor part goes. This January so the outside part was closed. The lines were long (30 min avg) and the slides were just ok. Kids running around with no supervision and wholly cow - there is no weight limit on bikinis! If you have small kids and you want to blow some serious money then go. Otherwise, I'd try something else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They have some things here our family has never seen before at a resort. The indoor activities are a blast. The temps were warm enough as long as we went into the hot tub last. If I tried to go from hot tub to wave pool, was too cold for me.
The indoor treetop rope maze was really cool, something to remember, however did not care for the arcade below. The card/point system seemed more complicated than necessary and a little buggy.
Room was just perfect, very clean and everything worked as it should. It even had a little built-in stove, which was unexpected.

We ate at the Thirsty Miner, was a little expensive for what we got, but was kind of expected since it was on site and had a nice overview of the waterpark.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend for our youth ministry retreat and our teens loved it. The lines in the water park were long, but of course the hotel was packed. The arcade is very reasonable. The snack prices were equal to a place in a less populated area. (Personal Pan pizza 5.95) There is a ropes course an play ground reaching high above the arcade. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds are comfortable. There are shops comparable to those in Gatlinburg. There is a restaurant with a buffet that I have not tried. There is a pottery painting shop as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had so much fun at Wilderness at the Smokies! We have two girls, ages 10 & 7, that absolutely loved it! There is so much for them to do between the indoor water park, the Adventure Forest and Polka Dots Pottery. We were there for the whole weekend and never even had to leave the premises! We ate there, did activities and had a blast! We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Clean, easily accessed, across from WalMart just off the Parkway! Close to Five Oaks shopping, and I usually get online and make an offer on a room that I choose and if its reasonable they will confirm it. The only negative is that you need to make a final walk thru your room when you are ready to leave. Check the back of the doors, etc. My friend left her Mary Kay makeup hanging in a bag on the back of the bathroom door and when she called back to ask about it...noone had seen it. On our way to the elevator, we overheard a couple and another woman that were cleaning the units...and they were not happy with each other. We should have reported them. We know one of the 3 took the make up.

Room Tip: They have a wide variety to suit anyone's needs or wants. Nice balcony rooms for smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We decided to make a quick stop on our way home off I-75 from Florida to Canada. We got a great last minute deal, and it would have cost us the same to stay at a regular hotel off the interstate. We only had a couple of hours at night when we stopped, and in the morning before we set out for another twelve hour drive, but we definately got our money's worth. The park was not at capacity and we easily got on the slides, they were really fast and fun. The waves in the pool can also be more exciting than most indoor parks. My families favourite was the flowrider surfing simulator. Men please be advised to tighten your shorts before riding, I saw a little too much butt crack for my liking, but what a laugh. The lifeguards were really helpful and showed my 11 year old how to do some tricks. We grabbed a pizza before the park closed and took it back to our room, the price was very reasonable and the staff were super friendly, they even came and brought us an extra personal pizza that was not purchased before closing. We had a great sleep, the room was spacious, clean and had a microwave and fridge. It saved us $50 by staying at the lodge across the street and taking the shuttle, which was fine, nice and warm and probably ran every 10-15minutes. In the morning the kids started at the indoor playground before the park opened which they enjoyed. They slept most of the way home:) It was great all around, I just wished we had had more time, we are thinking of returning in the summer when the outdoor park is open.

Room Tip: We saved 33% by staying at the lodge across the street and taking the shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Sevierville, TN 37876
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Number of rooms: 713
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness at the Smokies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.