We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sevierville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness at the Smokies Resort
Save
You added Wilderness at the Smokies Resort to your Saves list
1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Sevierville, TN 37876   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Sevierville
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed from december 21-24 on the wyndham side of the resort and couldn't have asked for anything more! Our two bedroom condo was extremely spacious and comforably slept our family of five. Our entire family enjoyed the indoor waterpark. Our two older teenage boys got tired of it after about an hour but our younger 8 year old daughter could have stayed there all day. The rest of the resort/hotel reminded me of a small city almost. It is huge and they have just about anything you need. We could have done most of our grocery shopping here if we had watned to. The outdoor water park looked like a lot of fun and would definitely be worth going to during the warmer months. All of the staff was extemely helpful and friendly and check in was a total breeze. Our kids all had a great time at the arcade, although the prices seemed a little bit steep. However overall, we had nothing to complain about durng our stay, and this being our first stay, we are definitely interested in returning and would recommend this resort to anybody who is interested!

Room Tip: Stay on the wyndham side. It was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    529
    240
    131
    114
See reviews for
1,212
28
2
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night for a last minute getaway. We have 2 school-age children. The price was very reasonable, especially for two days of water park admission (if you stay one night, you get in the day before and the day after...that wasn't super clear on the reservation). We stayed in the Stone Hill Lodge (which is called the Sevierville conference hotel, or something?) and it was just fine. Very quiet, comfortable room, and what amounted to three queen size beds (two plus a pull out couch). We found the beds to be fine...not sure what the other reviews are talking about but we are kind of picky, and they were perfectly pleasant.

The waterpark was great! Our kids are perfect age for it and we rode everything too. You can't beat a waterpark in December, IMO. There are four big slides, a giant hot tub that's indoor/outdoor, a wave pool, a kids area, and a place where you can "surf." We pretty much loved all of it. It was a little cold inside....85 degrees would be a stretch...but it was in the 20s outside and snowing! There was an area for toddlers too that looked fun. The lockers and changing rooms were fine and available when we needed them even though it was a little crowded (the day after Christmas).

The shuttle buses from the sister hotel (which we took a couple times) were there almost instantly. We had to wait maybe 5 minutes one time.

We highly recommend this fun getaway and I hope we go back!

Room Tip: I'd stay in the Stone Hill Lodge again. It was quiet and comfortable and MUCH cheaper, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved the waterpark, the staff and the food. When you get to the accommodations - they rank on the poor side. The beds were extremely uncomfortable mostly because the sheet on the bottom of the mattress was not fitted and kept creeping up during the night. The next morning the staff was extremely helpful and fixed the issue. The next morning - there was no hot water for showers. I'm just not that impressed. I'd rather stay at a Holiday Inn for less $$ and have better sleeping accommodations, even if its more inconvenient to the waterpark - which was a fun time for all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Family of six stayed at Wilderness Resort to celebrate NYE.
Positives: waterpark amenities, nice staff, clean room. Trolley was always prompt and had kind workers
Negatives: NO hot water- none! I spoke to two other couples as I checked out. Neither had hot water. It was so cold that kids skipped a shower. Another family said their crew all skipped a shower because of very cold water.
Room tv only had 5 working channels!
Noisy , noisy, noisy! Loud noises ALL night long ... I'm a night owl. I have a large family. I'm used to loud people, but the noise level at the Wilderness was to the EXTREME!!!
Also, a man dressed in KFed gear ( pants sagging down to knees) played with his remote control car in hallway at 12:45 am and 7:45 am.
Loooooooong walk to lobby/ trolley from our room.
NOT WORTH THE $267 I paid for one night. I'll go to the other indoor water park next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

do not choose the " Queen Murphy Room". the room was cramped with one queen bed that folds into the wall and a sofa springy bed. I requested a pack and play but got a broken one.
The housekeeping came in but did provide clean towels.
My only consolation was the fact that my Kids had a great time at the indoor water park.

Room Tip: do not choose the " Queen Murphy Room". the room was cramped with one queen bed that folds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOVER
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Seeing this is my 6th time to visit, I am going to review it very detailed.
First the check in: They are not very good at checking you in earlier than 3:30, they usually make you wait so if you are going at a busy time of the year don't go early expecting they will have a room for you, cause they wont. You always want to ask for a room on the first floor, close to the waterpark, facing the parking lot! This way you are close to everything. We always request and we always get one, until this year. We ended up checking in and they gave us a room on the fourth floor, when we asked about our room request they said they did not have one and they already pre assign the rooms at another location so no changes can be made. We were very disappointed and did not like the location of our room. We were told that when you make a room request you must call back in to see if they actually got it
WaterPark: go right at 9 when it opens and get you a great table, also carry a little cooler with a few drinks in it, coolers are not allowed but as long as you are not flashing them around, they never say anything. I brought a little cooler and then sat it inside our beach bag with snacks too.
Room Service: Room service is not that great, they always show up right when you are getting in from the park, so one night we told them we were in the room so they skipped us, which was fine, then we called down to see if they could come make our beds and take the garbage out, because we had no service for 3 days. They never showed up!!
One last thing, expect the hallways to be loud, every year it is always someones kids running up and up and down the hallway screaming at all times of the night.
Adventure Forest: It is awesome, the arcade is clean and big, my daughter loved it!! The golf was fun, glow in the dark!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great trip - we spent 4 nights there. The room was decent, clean, etc but the waterpark and adventure resort were outstanding.

The life guards at the resort were ever present and watchful. I felt my 10 year old was safe there.

The adventure forest was fun, too. The ropes course was easy for him and he had a blast on the video games. I recommend the all stay pass.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the water park - the front desk was able to make sure that happened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness at the Smokies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness at the Smokies Resort

Address: 1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Sevierville, TN 37876
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sevierville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sevierville
Number of rooms: 713
Also Known As:
Wilderness At The Smokies Hotel Sevierville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness at the Smokies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.