We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big suprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Willow River

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn Willow River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn Willow River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1990 Gov Winfield Dunn Pkwy, Sevierville, TN 37862   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Sevierville
Muncie, Indiana
2 reviews
“big suprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

It was a big surprise - but a pleasant one! I had a Board of Directors Meeting in the Tri City area of Tennessee and my wife decided to accompany me on the trip since the ”leaves we pretty”. We drove down from Indiana a day early and decided to check out the Gatlinburg area since it had been several years since our last visit. We arrived after sunset and were tired after an eight hour drive. I had checked out several motels downtown in the $50.00 dollar range. My wife noticed the Clarion suites close to where we got off the interstate. She said that would be a nice place to stay and I said “We can’t afford that one”.
We hadn’t had dinner yet so we drove until we found a Golden Corral and stopped for dinner. During dinner we had a lady stop by our table and asked what part of Ohio we were from (I had on an Ohio State shirt). After a short visit I ask her what motels were “clean and cheap”  She said the Clarion would be the best.
So after dinner we drove back to the Inn and I went in. Seeing the inside, I KNEW we couldn’t afford to stay there, but asked about rates anyway. I was blown away at the affordable rates and booked the room.
We had two queen sized beds, a pull out in another room, a balcony, microwave, refrigerator and all the amenities that you would expect from a 5 Star Hotel. The room came with a fantastic HOT breakfast that included biscuits and gravy, waffles, fresh fruit, juice, eggs, potatoes and much more. (an easy $40.00/$50.00 value for two) I have had my own marketing company for over forty years and travel extensive. I have never stayed in a nicer, cleaner or friendlier Inn. I thought it was a brand new Inn but when I asked how old it was, I found it was around 15 years old. WOW – they do a GREAT job of keeping it in GREAT shape.
On our next trip down for business or pleasure we will defiantly choose to stay in the Clarion Inn Willow River. You should too
Bob and Nancy, Muncie, Indiana

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    84
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
128
86
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in May for a night to celebrate our 10th anniversary. This was our first experience staying at a Clarion hotel, and we were not disappointed. Beautiful facility, friendly staff, and just far enough out of the "hustle and bustle" of the area attractions. We stayed in a Jacuzzi suite that had a fireplace...absolutely beautiful and very romantic!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent two nights at the Clarion in mid-October. Yes a very busy, "in season" time of year in this area but, for $109 a night I would like a place to park my vehicle and maybe a little more attention (or staffing) when the facility is booked to capacity.

We pulled up to the hotel and went WOW! The exterior of the building was decorated beautifully. The entry way shows off the numerous awards they win every year for landscaping and holiday decorating. Absolutely well deserved. We were pretty psyched.

Then we tried to find a place to park, to check in. EVERY parking spot on site was taken, and the half circle driveway for checkin was clogged with cars. I get dropped off to checkin, while BF circles around for a parking spot. Checkin was smooth and speedy. I exit the building, and BF is still circling for a parking space. Now we are both getting annoyed.

I find a luggage trolley, wheel it out into the parking lot, load it up and head to the room. Finally the bedraggeld BF arrives, someone finally left, and he grabbed the parking space. This put a definite damper on our thought to go out to grab a drink, a light dinner - who wants to hassle with parking when you get back? So we stayed in, and ordered pizza delivery. Too bad you can not order beer and wine delivery too! LOL

Next morning get up, go to make coffee... only DECAF was left on the tray next to the coffee maker. Argh. We get dressed, head down to the breakfast and of course, it was mobbed! Three deep for coffee and waffles, no open tables on the porch, none in the eating area, biscuits ran out... we sat with another couple, and that turned out fine actually. The second morning we went down as soon as we opened our eyes at 7 AM - a far better experience.

To be fair, it was not the breakfast lady's fault. She was hustling, refilling food, wiping tables, and apologizing to all. They really needed to staff the breakfast with another person to keep up with demand. I am sure the same is true of housekeeping. They were likely rushing to get the rooms done, no one noticed there were no regular coffee packets.

I have had great experiences with the Clarion as a chain, this one was just "EH" for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early if the hotel is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

MY husband and I just got back from the Smokey Mountains. We spent 2 nights at the Clarion Willow River in Sevierville. It has that old southern charm of Tara from Gone With the Wind. The employees were all very helpful and check-in was quick and efficient. The continental breakfast was nice. Not alot of food but enough choices for the price you pay which is nothing. They have a small work out room. It consists of 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, and 1 stationary bike. I used them both days and was always alone. Our room was sufficient with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. It wasn't the Ritz but I wasn't paying for the Ritz. But it was clean, quiet and comfortable and nice place to call home. We would go back and stay again.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and it was a little dark. We thought an upper floor may have been brighter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

It's a Gone With The Wind Themed hotel and so lovely.
We were very pleased with our king suite :)
The staff was so polite!!!!!! and HELPFUL.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times & it's always a welcoming experience. It feels like visiting old friends. The rooms are always clean & tastefully decorated. They always have hot apple cider & coffee in the lobby 24/7. Friendly staff. It's very peaceful & quiet. We were there on 10/31/2011 for the night and as always we truly enjoyed our stay and plan to return in a couple of weeks for a longer stay.

Room Tip: all of the rooms at this hotel are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gamaliel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

we have been staying there for the past four years.i cant think of a thing that i would change. the rooms are always super clean and the staff are friendly,they really make you feel at home.susan is the lady that cooks your breakfast,she really does a great job cooking a great meal,a country lady with a country personality thats a very good trait for my family and myself.its only about four miles to pigeon forge and you dont have all the traffic.room rates are about 70.00 off season and about 105.00 during the peak season.I love this place.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn Willow River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Willow River

Address: 1990 Gov Winfield Dunn Pkwy, Sevierville, TN 37862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Sevierville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sevierville
#4 Family Hotel in Sevierville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Willow River 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn Willow River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Willow River Hotel Sevierville
Clarion Willow River
Clarion Hotel Sevierville
Clarion Sevierville
Sevierville Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Willow River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.