We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Island State Park

Rock Island State Park
82 Beach Road, Rock Island, TN 38581-4200
931-686-2471
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit. A lot of pretty scenery. Several pretty water falls and a really nice campground. The cabins looked very nice from the outside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cosby, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family stayed at one of the cabins. Cabins are very spacious and extremely clean. Amazing waterfalls and scenery. We were never bored and we do plan on coming back in the future.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing cabins... and some outdoor stuff too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I went camping here, and by camping I mean we spent two nights in one of their furnished cabins. Cable tv, a fire place, a full kitchen, and bath. Sure it's a beautiful park, with all that nature stuff. But the cabins... I could live there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful spacious cabin! Very clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I were very impressed with the beautiful spacious and airy cabin and the ambiance of a working "fireplace" with artificial logs. We din not like the strict enforecement of the policy that did not permit check-in until 3 p.m. although the cabin was already clean and ready for occupancy. This made it dificult to feed and entertain small children and an infant for a few hours in the park due to cold winter weather.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellbrook , ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“beautiful park-many falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

you start with a trickle of water and follow it till it becomes a river with two interesting falls. the walk to the last fall is 4 miles and it takes about two hours to reach the falls and two hours to walk back.there are a series of attractive rapids and small falls after the first mile.. the first larger falls is about two miles into the walk and it drops into a cave and becomes an underground river. the last larger falls is 4 miles into the walk and on the top of a hill. the walk is very difficult and involves a lot of climbing , narrow ledges and rocks to climb down and up. not for the very young or those that struggle to hike. it is very worth the walk but take your time. the trail is marked by white paint on trees and rocks. in most places it is easy to follow but there are places where it gets a little confusing. we got started back late and got caught in the dark. there are tree roots and rocks throughout the trail. it got a little painful. just beware you do not want to be there in the dark unless you are a very experienced hiker.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Rock Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.