We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time just for me...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armour's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Boiling Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armour's Hotel
Save
You added Armour's Hotel to your Saves list
321 East Main Street, Red Boiling Springs, TN 37150   |  
Hotel amenities
Nashville, TN
1 review
“Time just for me...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

The stay at the Armour's Hotel in Red Boiling Springs was my 50th birthday present to myself. I stayed 4 nights and scheduled 2 spa treatments/massages. The Armour's is the last hotel in Red Boiling Springs to offer mineral baths, which is part of the spa package. The proprietors, Debbie and Dennis Emery, were accommodating in every way. All the rooms have a theme...I chose to stay in the Rose room. It was comfortable and sweetly decorated. The food was great (Debbie is a wonderful cook) the massages and the mineral/steam baths were heaven and the service was just right. I felt as though I was staying with family, but I could be as reclusive as I wanted to be. My favorite place was the porch swing on the second story...I can close my eyes and feel like I'm there even 2 months later. Red Boiling Springs is itself a sleepy little town, so if its stimulation you want, go somewhere else. But if you need luxurious "down time" to rest and restore, it just may be the best place on earth.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
22
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Armour's Hotel very much. We met wonderful people(other guests) and everyone was very friendly. The food was good and we enjoyed the spa experience.

We will return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We have stayed at the Armour's Hotel various times and will come back in the future. The accommodations are comfortable and the decor takes you back to years ago. The food is delicious and plentiful, and Debbie, Dennis and family are so welcoming and gracious. They truly know how to take care of their guests and make you feel like you've been friends for a long time. We can stay as busy as we want chatting and visiting with them or we can feel that we are on our own and relax to enjoy the quiet. Wonderful! Special place run by extra special people. They have plans to update the Hotel and we've seen these things unfold as we return. Love the place and look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We read about the Armour's Hotel in the Tennessean adn decided that night to make reservations to go check it out. The ride from Nashville was a nice quiet hour and a half drive throught some great country side. When we got to the hotel the staff and in keepers Dennis and Deb were very frindly and accomidating. The food was great atmosphere was just what we needed to escape city madness for a few days. Look forward to making the trip again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

If you are looking to step back into the graciousness of yesteryear, then the Armour's Hotel in Red Boiling Springs will take you there. This charming hotel is located in the gently rolling hills of Middle Tennessee, and a stay there will offer the peace and tranquility of true country living. The innkeepers, Debbie and Dennis Emery, greet each guest as a friend, and the service they provide is unmatched in today's hectic pace. Debbie is a great cook; the food is delicious and very plentiful, and the service Debbie and Dennis and the entire staff provide is fantastic. Each room is clean and uniquely decorated with lovely antiques and momentos from the past. The large porches, one upstairs and one downstairs, are super and a great place to chat with family and fellow guests or read quietly in one of the comfortable chairs or swings provided. And the mineral baths....oh, how soothing! My husband and I first stayed in this lovely place on Easter weekend of this year, and we liked it so much that we took our daughter and her family back with us on Mother's Day weekend. We are all looking forward to going back in July to stay in the hotel and to attend the Great American Showcase concert which will be held right down the road. Oh, and by the way, our little 18 month grandson loved chasing after the chickens in the spacious back yard and dipping his toes into the creek that runs in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston TN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

This is a perfect place for a family reunion. The hotel owners are more than accommodating and the food is delicious. Our family had a “Ladies’ retreat” there.

The grounds are large enough to enjoy walking around and the two porches and two lounges are perfect for family visiting.

Mineral baths are available onsite and there is an excellent massage therapist available on request. The mineral bath was a new experience for me. These used to be widely available but Armour’s is now the only place in Tennessee that offers this amenity.

The rooms are quite small, as is typical of hotels built in the twenties. There are a couple of suites available that have more room. The new owners (since Fall 2008) are working to correct some deficiencies in the bathrooms and public rooms. The room rates reflect the fact that the hotel is old.

Red Boiling Springs is an old town with an interesting history.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joliet il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Armour's Hotel is a beautiful and gracious home in historic Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee. From the time you book your room until the day you depart you will become a part of the Emery family. The Emery family's hospitality is unmatchable. The rooms are uniquely decorated and each come with a private bath with shower. Meals are served in the dining room and are true Southern cooking and delicious. The two front porches, one upstairs and one downstairs, are heavenly. Once you stay at Armour's Hotel you will come back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Armour's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armour's Hotel

Address: 321 East Main Street, Red Boiling Springs, TN 37150
Location: United States > Tennessee > Red Boiling Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Red Boiling Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed & Breakfast Hotel offers gracious hospitality, comfortable rooms, an excellent dining experience, and the availability of our Steam Bath, Mineral Baths, and a massage by one of our Certified Therapists. Our charming dining room has the capacity to host luncheons, dinners, and events for up to 100 guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armour's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.