We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overmountain Men 15 K Victory Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mount Museum

Rocky Mount Museum
200 Hyder Hill Road, Piney Flats, TN 37686
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overmountain Men 15 K Victory Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rocky Mount with first person interpreters is great place to visit any time, but their special events and beyond great. Every year the Saturday after October 7 they have a 15 K run on a beautiful and very challeging course. However if this is too much there is a 3 K fitness walk and fun run.

visit their web site to find out more of all their events.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Reminds me of Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I visited with my wife while in town for Nascar weekend at Bristol Motorspeedway. After a short video about the 1700s we toured the homestead and spoke with several people in character for the 1790s who acted as our guides through the grounds. It was fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welch, West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great way to understand early TN history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This old homestead, complete with costumed interpreters, was a very interesting way to learn of this early period before TN was a state. The log home, rather elaborate for those days, has an interesting tour led by "Mrs. Cobb," the wife of the family who settled here in the 1700s. I was amazed by the authentic pieces of furniture and other items, including a Delft vase on the mantle, which was a wedding gift to them in 1740. The home has a guided tour of the great room, Mr. Cobb's study, 2 bedrooms upstairs, through the dogtrot and into the dining room, which had a beautiful hunt board and some very elegant china pieces from China. I was told that these items were given back to the museum by family members. We then toured the separate log kitchen, again very elaborate with a huge, complex fireplace and many cooking utensils. The costumed guide, who was in period dress as one of Cobb's sons, was quite informative. We then saw the log building where flax and wool were prepared, dyed and spun, again with an informative presentation. There were very few people there while we were but all the guides took plenty of time with their presentation. I personally found this like a mini Williamsburg for pioneer TN but without the crowds. Prior to the tour, we saw an interesting movie on the history and settlement of the area and toured a very fine museum with a nice collection and explanations of things from the early days on up, including a Conestoga wagon, a surrey, pottery, furniture, etc. There is also a nice gift shop. There are many picnic tables outside for individuals or large groups to have a picnic. I came away with an appreciation for not only this family's contribution to the settlement of the area but with an enlarged understanding of log cabin living. I had thought it only basic housing with primitive furnishings, but this family had some fine pieces and were quite refined folks who lived in a fine cabin.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My friend and I took our kids (age 14 & 17) on a Sunday. We were told by the actors that the men were "at the races" so they couldn't show us how to quilt or beat the flax. The loom was broken so no demo there either. We were not asked if we wanted to see the sheep or visit the barn. The museum and buildings are really neat & the two actresses we had were dedicated. Perhaps we visited on a bad day. Still an inexpensive & educational attraction.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gem in your back yard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. Everything from the sheep, the great museum, to the individuals providing information on the first capital.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mount Museum also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Mount Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mount Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.