We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very skeptical but what a wonderful surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WonderWorks

WonderWorks
100 Music Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
8658681800
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #38 of 83 attractions in Pigeon Forge
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: WonderWorks is an amusement park for the mind with over 100 interactive exhibits for visitors of all ages. Experience the trembling of a 6.0 earthquake, make human-size bubbles in our bubble lab, fly a fighter jet, lie on a bed of nails, ride our roller coaster simulation, experience rock climbing and test your skills on the New 50ft tall indoor ropes challenge course. During your visit, stay for “The Wonders Of Magic” starring master magician Terry Evanswood and fly 400ft in the air on our helium balloon with "The Wonders of Flight."
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very skeptical but what a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I thought this would be a tourist trap type of experience, but after reading reviews and the building itself catching the eye of our daughter, we decided to try it! She LOVED this and wants to go again on our next visit.

Best advice I can give is WEAR TENNIS SHOES! Closed toe shoes are required for lots of areas! We had to run back to our hotel due to not having the right shoes.
Also, USE COUPONS! You can find discounts on the back of travel brochures located nearly everywhere in Pigeon Forge of Gatlinburg. The best discount we could find was $2.50 off each person (up to 6 people). Lastly, try to visit outside of peak times!

Nearly all the exhibits are hands-on, interactive, and fun! It was not busy on the day of our visit, but I could see where a busy day would lead to lots of waiting at various places.
The rope course did freak her out a bit. It does go quite high, and although appears safe, if you have a fear of heights, it will not be for you!

Some of our favorite exhibits: the bed of nails, the 3-D adventures, the hurricane and earthquake simulators, and the interactive baseball pitching screen.

It didn't take us long to go through both floors (the top floor is full of optical illusion pics and exhibits), but the ticket is good all day.

We did not do the magic show, but I would certainly add it the next time.

I would definitely do this again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderWorksTN, Manager at WonderWorks, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you are coming back again too! The virtual sports area was updated this year so now you can play all kinds of sports on it! We look forward to your next visit with you and your family and can't wait to see you in the Wonders of Magic show as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    335
    178
    96
    79
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are a family of 4 and visited on our recent vacation to gatlinburg. We went late morning time frame (make sure you pick up coupons from the free books all over town). Our visit was mid week so there weren't very many people. We played for a few hours, went and had dinner and then returned later that night to do some of the attractions we had not had a chance to get to, b/c 3 of us were wearing flip flops and needed to be wearing sneakers to do the ropes course. Our tickets were good from when we bought them till midnight. Our kids begged to go back everyday we were there. The rock wall was fun for all of us.. every activity was family oriented. Would recommend this attraction to everyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderWorksTN, Manager at WonderWorks, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear about your great day at Wonderworks! We are proud to be a family-friendly attraction with exhibits for all ages! Maybe you can all come back next year to visit us again! We look forward to your next visit with us as much as your kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our visit was ok. I was never told to wear tennis shoes when i called and asked questions. so i was a little disappointed with that. but other than than we had a good time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderWorksTN, Manager at WonderWorks, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us! We are happy to hear that you had fun. There are two exhibits that do require closed-toed shoes to enjoy and we apologize that you were not told about that on the phone. We hope you come back again sometime to enjoy the rest of the exhibits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Way too expensive for my family of 5. We paid $125 and left very disappointed. It was very crowded and a lot of the attractions were broke or not operating correctly. There are better options in Pigeon Forge for the money vs value. The staff was very friendly and the place was clean but there is no way that it's worth the money. Save your money!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderWorksTN, Manager at WonderWorks, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about your experience. Sometimes if it is crowded it is much better early in the morning or later at night. We are open until midnight and Wonderworks tickets are good all day long! Please contact us directly at guestservices@wonderworkstn.com to let us know which exhibits were troublesome so we can look into it further. We hope you still had a good vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port O'Connor, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not for 3 and 4 year olds.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After reading reviews that were favorable for young children we headed out for a fun filled day. The little ones hated most of the stuff inside. It would be great for older children. Ours only really like the bubble lab and the giant light bright pegs. They actually still say "Don't take us to the upside down house."

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderWorksTN, Manager at WonderWorks, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your visit. We apologize that your family didn't have a fun experience with us. Please contact us directly at guestservices@wonderworkstn.com to tell us more about your visit so we can better improve for you and others as well in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WonderWorks also viewed

 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to WonderWorks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WonderWorks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added WonderWorks to your Saves list