We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Done Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's

Calhoun's
2532 Parkway, between stop lights 2B and 3, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
865-868-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 144 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Price range: $4 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food Done Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We visited Calhoun's on 10-27-2013. Sunday night turns out to be a very good time to go. We walked in and took our seats at a table in the bar area without waiting even a minute.
Our server was knowledgeable and very accommodating.
The restaurant appears to be brand new. We ordered a couple of Bloody Marys before dinner and enjoyed some NFL on the big screen above the bar.
We ordered a full rack of ribs with Tennessee Corn Puddin..not Pudding...Puddin and a pulled pork sandwich with Mac & Cheese. They also brought out a bread sampler, which consisted of Cornbread, a Biscuit and a yeast roll.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the service and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    221
    120
    41
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decently priced, good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Calhoun's yesterday. We've been to the Smoky Mountain Brewery (same owners) several times and the menus are very similar, but my husband eyed the "Ale Steak" on Calhoun's menu, and we decided to try it out.

We went for lunch and were seating right away. Service was great. I ordered the daily soup special (vegetable beef) and a house salad. Both were average, but the salad was huge for the price.

My husband, who is very picky about his steak, LOVED the "Ale Steak" and after one bite, I understood why. It has great flavor, but it wasn't over seasoned and it was super tender. It is marinated in the Cherokee Red Ale from the Smoky Mountain brewery...my favorite! The best part? It was only $13.99...that's hard to beat in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All around good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great food , good drinks, with wonderful prices on happy hour. Bar area , yet family atmosphere. The menu has everything from wonderful steaks to ribs, or a great pulled pork curbside deal for take out!!!!Highly recommend!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We were on vacation and decided to try Calhoun's. The atmosphere and service were great! My husband and I had the pulled pork dinner, and the kids had ribs. We also had the potato skins for an appetizer. All of the food was delicious. We will definitely visit again when we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Decided to give it a try and glad we did, I am not big on barbeque, but my husband wanted to give it a try. I knew that I could find something else on the menu so decided on the Prime Rib, let me tell you I come from Chicago with all the great steak houses and this was one of the best. "It was like butter".

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.