We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calhoun's Ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's

Calhoun's
400 Neyland Drive, between stop lights 2B and 3, Pigeon Forge, TN 37902
865-673-3355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 143 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Price range: $4 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Calhoun's Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very good service, nice atmosphere, and good food.

The bread selection provided was different in a good way. The bring a baguette dipped in balsamic / olive oil, a muffin type cornbread, and a biscuit. All 3 were pretty good.

Baby back ribs (Best in America per Calhouns) are NC style with a nice BBQ glaze that is a trace spicy - which I haven't usually encountered in my travels and eating "local" BBQ. Definitely worth doing again on many occasions in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    229
    123
    41
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Destination Wedding Supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I cannot say enough about the OUTSTANDING service Calhouns provided for our son's and new daughter's wedding celebration! Long distance planning was expertly handled by each manager I contacted. Our family is still RAVING about the excellent ribs, steak, and everything ordered on the menu, plus the room was beyond what we imagined! We are so thankful for our server-he was so helpful and attentive, as was the entire staff! Wonderful bar, champagne, and perfect atmosphere! A magical evening enjoyed by all!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“seems lackluster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've been eating in Calhoun's for 15 years now and the last few times I haven't been impressed. It used to be on my "must do" list when I was in town but I think I'll skip it next time. There wasn't anything wrong with the food or service. It just isn't anything to write home about. And for the high price (family of 4 at lunch was over $50) it doesn't seem worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do Not Order Shrimp!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband, a couple friends and I went to Calhoun's Thursday night for his birthday. My steak was over cooked and my shrimp skewer was grilled with the shells still on! What idiot grills shrimp with the shell on? I asked the waitress about it and she said that it's just the way they cook them there. Not very edible if you ask me. I will say that the server was very sweet and prompt. The spinach dip was awesome! It has a good kick to it. My husband and friends got the ribs. Everyone thought they were just ok. Next time we will find somewhere else.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

For most of us who live in East TN, eating at a great restaurant in this tourist area is not a destination but Calhoun's is an exception. The food here is always prepared well. They are known for their ribs but we also love the ale steak and ale pork chop! This week, they offered fried okra which was fantastic. Their beers, Smokey Mtn. Brews, are all good. My favorite is the Helles. Also try the Spinach Maria. They have some good desserts, I'm just always too full to eat it. You can' t go wrong by choosing this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.