We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Steak!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's

Calhoun's
2532 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
865-868-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 144 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Englewood, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had the peppercorn crusted steak and it was great. The only down fall was they where out of asparagus and we where really looking forward to those!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    231
    123
    42
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Went for BBQ and they were all out!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Calhouns based on the sign on the building bragging about their Ribs. When we got ready to order we were told they were all out of ribs, smoked chicken and wings. Pretty disappointing. We settled for pulled pork. It was very average. Our server was good and he was apologetic. We enjoyed the Smoky Mountain Brews that they had on tap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat. Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took our grandchildren here as we have always loved it and the children loved it too. They wanted to eat here every night. We could have, as they have a wide variety of food. It is fun and the food is great. The only thing we have ever gotten here we did not like was the children's portion of steak medium well (I think medium would have been less tough). Anything else is perfect and decent prices. Everyone we have taken here loves it and when they go to Pigeon Forge OR Gatlinburg they go back. Both are good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went here on Wednesday after a big storm and they were out of ribs, prime rib, and chicken?! Good thing we tried again on Thursday! Everything was delicious - prime rib, mashed potatoes, spinach maria, biscuits, bbq pork. Definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Calhoun's recently opened a new restaurant in Pigeon Forge. So on this trip we decided to try this one instead of our stand-by in Gatlinburg. We were not disappointed. The food is the same and just as good. And the food is over-priced yet delicious. Of particular mention is our waitress, April. She was right at our table as soon as we were seated. And I noticed that she did the same for each of the customers seated in section. Many years ago I was a waiter at Friday's and so I know how difficult that is to do. Overall the service was good, the place was clean, and the atmosphere was welcoming. The only problem I had was that their bar-b-q sauce is heavy on the vinegar, which was not to my liking. This restaurant is one of many in this area that offers the normal Southern hospitality. So, if your tastes run to 5 star dining, don't visit this area because you ain't gonna get it here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.