We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johnny Carino's Italian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Carino's

Johnny Carino's
2425 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
865-868-0790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 144 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Vonore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Johnny Carino's Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We live near the area and always go here when we are in Pigeon Forge. Located very close to the Christmas Place Hotel, there is adequate parking. The food is above average, especially the skillet meals. The food is italian and is well prepared and served hot. There can be a long wait during prime meal hours so try going a little early or late to avoid the crowds. Even if there is a crowd, we have found them efficient in getting customers seated, and once seated good service is provided. This is a family restaurant and is nicely appointed, but can be rather on the noisy side. Lots of good desserts, most of a size that can be easily shared.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    132
    72
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Out and About”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good Italian Restaurant with just the right number of dining options. Modestly priced with plenty of food for the buck. I found the staff to be friendly and courteous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went for lunch and ordered from the menu instead of the buffet (which looked pretty slim pickings) and it was just okay. My daughter ordered the spaghetti with a meatball and the meatball was very small while the sauce kind of reminded me of something from a can. The hostess and waitress we had were very nice!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good change of pace from southern BBQ.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very close to closing time and still didnt rush us and the service was very good. We all enjoyed our meal. As the other reviews stated it is just like Olive Garden so you know what to expect. We had lots of kids in our party and the menu worked out fine for them too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland.Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you are looking for horrible service of average food, you've come to the right place!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Our visit started off on the right foot when the host informed us that Zach was no longer an employee of Carino's. We were looking for an Italian restaurant not named Olive Garden, and despite the mixed reviews, we decided we would give it a whirl. They had a decent deal on Monday's were you can get a family portion of an entree for the price of an individual meal. We settled on lasagna and chicken parm to share among four adults.

We started with an appetizer (calamari) that was maybe the worst we'd ever had. We all ordered salads to go with our meals as well. I can't comment on the salads because we were never served them. After about a half hour wait from the time we first placed our order, a server from the kitchen brought our meals out. When we informed her that we hadn't received our salads yet, she notified our waitress who proceeded to ask if we needed a second helping of salads. She was completely clueless that we had not been served our salads, which shows just how often she had checked back on our table after bringing out our app. Needless to say we skipped the salads and the waitress was kind enough to "take those salads off the bill" for us.

We also had to ask for silverware, napkins, plates, and utensils to serve the family portions. None of this was provided to us without having to inquire. The food was literally just average and I think I'd agree with other reviews that the bread was the best part of the meal. Zach may have been fired, but it appears there is more to it than just one off-putting waiter to Carino's poor customer service issues. Management needs to seriously evaluate their hiring and training practices. This area is in serious need of a Carrabba's!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Johnny Carino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Carino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.