We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Dreams - Perfect Cabin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Forest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sherwood Forest Resort to your Saves list
Sherwood Forest Resort
4306 Forest Ridge Way, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel amenities
Elba, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mountain Dreams - Perfect Cabin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in Mountain Dreams from November 21 - November 25. It was so beautiful and clean. We have stayed at Legacy Mountain for many years and decided to check out some place closer to Pigeon Forge. After many nights of reading reviews and looking at pictures, we decided on Log Heaven at Sherwood Forest. But after we made the reservation, we were contacted that Log Heaven had some structural damage and was not being rented the days we were going to be there. The lady was very helpful and knowledgeable about the cabins as we explained we needed a somewhat level parking area to park a motorcycle, trailer and truck. She gave us about 5 choices and we went online that night and chose Mountain Dreams. Well, we were not disappointed. It was clean, warm and decorated for Christmas. The living room has a gas fireplace which does a great job warming up the cabin especially the upstairs pool loft and bedroom. We were elated over this cabin and will be back next year. It is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a full size kitchen, dining room, living room and plenty of books and games for the kids. There were 4 flat screen televisions. We did not get a chance to use the hot tub due to weather so I cannot comment on it. Check in was easy and the office personnel was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you have little ones, you will have to be careful with the staircase, but I did see a baby gate i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Debbie K

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort and the cabin Mountain Dreams. We work very hard to make sure that our guests have the best experience possible when staying with us. We are happy to report that the original cabin you booked, Log Heaven, is now back open for rentals. Our owners take great pride in making sure that their cabins are ready for the guest to relax and enjoy. As with all cabins before you arrive our staff is making sure your stay will be comfortable. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    44
    16
    18
    40
See reviews for
175
106
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Sherwood Forest. The resort is Excellent! Our stay was very pleasant. The view was wonderful. The resort is convenient to area attractions. Would definitely recommend staying at Sherwood Forest! A new owner of our cabin had just completed the sale, and our cable service was not available the fist evening, but staff went out of their way to be sure we were stocked with DVD movies. When the technicians installed the cable service, it included high speed wireless internet, which was a real plus!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear wwrush

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort and the cabin Audacious. We work very hard to make sure that our guests have the best experience possible when staying with us. We were thankful to get the cable and internet service restored for you to enjoy during your stay. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Sherwood Forest Resort was a wonderful cabin getaway for my husband and I. It was very convenient to all activities and attractions in the area, the staff was super nice and helpful.

Changes in Latitude is a beautiful cabin with incredible views! The cabin was cozy, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and spotless. We have stayed in cabins in other areas, but this was the best experience ever. Would highly recommend it to friends and family, and can't wait to spend time there again.

Room Tip: If you're a family with small children and want more outside play room, you might want to find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mery Traveler

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort and the cabin Changes In Latitude. We’re glad you were able to get away and chose to stay with us. We work very hard to make sure that our guest have the best experience possible when staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon; don’t forget to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip Sherwood Forest Resort. Very satisfied with our stay. Beautiful and peaceful. Excellent view. Repectful and friendly staff. Very clean! Felt very safe and secure. Will be coming back in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Melluvsjay

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort. Our cabins do have some of the best views of any in the Smoky Mountains. We take great pride in our staff being helpful and courteous to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon; don’t forget to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time at this facility. The cabin was beautiful, well maintained and everyone from the reservationist to maintenance staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Easy access to Pigeon Forge / Gatlinburg... The views were beautiful... As there were two families traveling together, having the extra chairs, living areas were greatly appreciated as everyone could be comfortable....will definitely look to Sherwood Forest again again....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sharon K

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort. We take great pride in our staff being helpful and courteous to our guests. We’re glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Don’t forget to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was not sure what to expect of Sherwood Forest or Three Bears Playhouse. The pictures looked nice online, but I was still a little nervous! We were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived!! The cabins are so cute and cozy looking to drive up to. Our cabin was very clean and spacious and had a gorgeous view!! We had everything we needed. Our kids had a blast with the hot tub and to game table. We chose to make it a tv/video game free vacation, but those options are there is you are looking for them. We spent a lot of time in the National Park. It was so unbelievably beautiful and Sherwood Forest has a great view of the mountains. The close proximity to everything we wanted to do was a definite plus! The only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been better bedding. The sheets and comforters were not very good quality. It's nice to have luxurious bedding when staying away from home, but we all managed to sleep well! Overall we simply loved it! We would definitely go back. It's a great spot for a family vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Cathy M,

Thank you for staying at Sherwood Forest Resort and Three Bears Playhouse. We love to hear that our guests are pleasantly surprised upon arrival. There is so much to do and enjoy with all the different amenities the cabin has to offer. The views are spectacular and just imagine coming back at different times of the year and experiencing the changing seasons! We apologize that you did not find the linen up to par- we are currently in the process of refreshing our linen inventory- we want your experience to be a memorable one so that you come back and stay with us again. We hope to see you soon- don’t forget to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at these cabins three times. We have had a wonderful visit on every occasion. The cabins are well positioned so that they (pretty much) all have a wonderful mountain view. All cabins come with a private hot tub, one of our favorite features! Our family would come home from a busy afternoon and get in the hot tub for "happy hour". The kids loved it! And so did we. After relaxing for "happy hour" we would then get ready for dinner.
This resort is in the best location in Pigeon Forge. Since it is located at the end of the strip, you do not have to wait in the local traffic when driving from Pigeon Forge to Galtinburg. The cabins are cozy and quiet. There are privacy boards between cabins that provide privacy when outside on your porch/ hot tub area. We have never used the swimming pool since we have so much fun in the hot tub but it is nice that there is one available there.
Don't let the raccoons frighten you. They are very tame and will walk right up to you looking for food. They had us cornered in the hot tub one night. We tried to run them off by yelling and throwing shoes at them but they were not afraid. They just looked at us like we were crazy. They were so cute. It was really hard not to feed them. But we refrained.
The kitchen is large enough with everything you need provided, including silverware, wine tool, serving utensils, coffee pot, etc. We were able to save money on restaurants by cooking dinner "at home" some nights any by packing lunches into our cooler during some outings such as hiking. There are great spots to have a picnic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Patoof,

Thank you for staying at Sherwood Forest Resort three times and we hope many more times in the future. We agree that we have the ideal location, close to Pigeon Forge, restaurants, shopping and of course the national park. We think our cabins are the best with so much to offer. We do advise our guests to watch out for the bears and raccoons among other animals. Even though they may appear tame they are indeed wild and guest should be cautious. Most guests when checking in ask about their chances of seeing a bear or other animal in the resort. They love the chance to see one in the wild. We look forward to seeing you again soon and don’t forget to ask about the return guest discount when calling to book your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Resort

Address: 4306 Forest Ridge Way, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood Forest Resort is a gated community resort offering affordable, luxury log cabins in the heart of Pigeon Forge and adjacent to the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Our Pigeon Forge cabin rentals and Smoky Mountain Cabins are so convenient to all the area attractions, shopping, and restaurants, yet you’ll feel like you’re far away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sherwood Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest Hotel Pigeon Forge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Forest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.