We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Mountain & Gardens

Parrot Mountain & Gardens
1471 McCarter Hollow Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37862
865 774 1749
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Independence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“What a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We really enjoyed seeing the variations of birds, feed them and talking to them. Look carefully, there are squirrels, chipmunks, and field mice living there too. The nursery pretty cool, getting to hold young birds!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    198
    59
    19
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This is a must do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

At the top of a steep, winding mountain road, you find this absolutely beautiful place filled with over 300 species of exotic birds. In one area, you are able to hold and feed the birds. Some of them will freely climb all over you. Many of them talk. They have another area with small birds called Lorry's, where they give you a small cup filled with nectar. As soon as you enter the compound the birds are climbing all over you trying to get to the nectar. It is truly an amazing experience. The grounds are beautiful, with thick, lush plant life everywhere. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The pictures we took are absolutely amazing. This is a must do if you are ever in the area. You will truly be amazed!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Botanical gardens very nice; relaxing; many birds throughout the gardens. Once you pay the entrance fee, however, if you want to enter several "special" bird areas, another fee is required. Just raise the entrance fee and allow full access to everything!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher H, Owner at Parrot Mountain & Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your day here at Parrot Mountain! The only extra charges that a guest would encounter is just for the bird food. Just a quarter for a hand full of seed, or 2.00 a cup for nectar for the lorikeets. Even without purchase you still have full access to the park! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Eden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

After you drive up this mountain and winding road you will find this majestic place. It was so wonderful to be able to interact with these exotic birds! You can touch them, hold them, pet them, feed them, and get lots of great pictures! We got many of them to talk to us!

There were 2 staff members I want to mention , The lady in the LORY aviary where we fed the birds the nectar was very rude and pushy. She was barking orders at us the whole time: $2! Hand sanitizer! and rushing us out of the enclosure before the birds even finished drinking the nectar out of my daughter's cup. There was also a young man in the area where patrons can handle the birds and get their picture taken. I asked him what kind of bird a particular one was and he replied with, " I don't know, I don't know what any of them are." If someone is going to be working there and handing the birds and helping guests, it would be beneficial that they know about the birds.

This - and also intermittent rain - did not detract from our wonderful trip to Parrot Mountain. We did not want to leave, The birds and the grounds are beautiful and I am so glad I made the trip. The cost of entry is a STEAL compared to the other attractions we did while in town: Dollywood, ATV riding, White water rafting, Great Smoky Opry, etc. They were all great but this was 1/2-1/3 the cost of the price to one of those places and still pretty much the best!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Day .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Had a really nice day ...... relaxing and we go to hold and pet the birds ! They seemed to really love my guy ..... I wished I could have taken a couple of them home with me . I would return again and again ! God bless the people who are caring for these beautiful creatures !

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parrot Mountain & Gardens also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Parrot Mountain & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Mountain & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.