We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a blast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky Meadows Lodge

Save Saved
You added Smoky Meadows Lodge to your Saves list
Smoky Meadows Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smoky Meadows Lodge
2809 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 93 hotels in Pigeon Forge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Let me just say we stayed here 4 nights and didnt have any problems at all. It is a older hotel that could use some remodeling but its clean and the staff was friendly. Plus the price was great. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMeadowsLodge, General Manager at Smoky Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It's great to hear you had "a blast" at our establishment. We would love to have all our reviews say that on the subject line. Since your last visit we have done some remodeling to the hotel. We have also acquired new owners and management. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    10
    10
    48
See reviews for
46
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

HORRIBLE... Will never stay here again! The rooms are disgusting.... Mold everywhere,hard beds,nasty floor,cabinets falling apart, elevators would smother u before u got off them and was soooooo nasty!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMeadowsLodge, General Manager at Smoky Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We apologize for your last visit at this hotel, but appreciate the critic. We have recently come under new management and new owners. We have since remodeled the majority of our rooms. We are still working on some of the problems that the previous owner left us with, but it is a work in progress. We would love for you to give the new and improved hotel and staff an oppurtunity to change your mind about us. Have a bleessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is by far one of the worst hotels I have every stayed at. It was completely nasty!!! Just to name a few - blood and urine on toilet seat, odor in room was horrific and we had to get our own towels. When making complaints to manager, Angie Ogle, and staff, we were told "oh well, I guess you shouldn't have stayed here". Anyway, do yourself a favor - go somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMeadowsLodge, General Manager at Smoky Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We certainly regret that you had to deal with such rude and hateful service during your last stay at this hotel. I would like to personally assure you that Angie Ogle is no longer affiliated with this hotel or anyone of my current employees. i have just taken over as GM of this establishment under new owners. We are horrified at the thought of someone in the hospitality industry treating a quest in the way you've described. Please allow us to show you the difference in our hotel since we have hired all new staff members, remodeled our rooms, etc. We can only hope that you might give us the chance to give you a better memory from this hotel. Have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The only positive thing I can say is that it's in a good location. To start off, there was a washrag left in the shower from the previous occupants, a plastic shopping bag hanging out of a hole in the fireplace wall, and an adult 'toy' by the nightstand! I was horrified, just glad our daughter didn't find it! When I voiced my concerns I got no apology, just a simple "I'll speak with the manager and cleaning staff". Three days later, still no word. We got only 2 towels for the 3 people staying in our room, 2 fitted and no flat sheet for the pull out couch, hard bed, disgusting box springs, extremely outdated, and I'm not sure the elevator has ever been cleaned. It was the worst hotel experience we've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMeadowsLodge, General Manager at Smoky Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are sincerely sorry for the bad experience you had at this hotel. We have recently remodeled our hotel, hired all new staff- including new owners as well. I understand the frustration you must have felt with finding a dirty washrag and "other stuff" in a room that was supposedly clean. I can assure you that the housekeeping staff we have now would never allow anything like that to happen at our business. We hope to have the oppurtunity to accomadate you and you family again to leave you with a good lasting memory from the staff here at Smoky Meadows Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

BEWARE!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! We just stayed at this hotel on the weekend of July 27, 2013. This hotel advertises "modern and luxurious accomodations". This could not be further from the truth. The smell alone was enough to kill you!!! After you open the door and the smell knocks you down, the room LOOKS clean enough. UNTIL I go in the bathroom. There is blood and urine on the toilet seat!!! Really??!! We had to go get our own cleaning stuff to clean the room. We would have changed hotels but there was no vacancy in town. I mean, we go camping and everything - so surely I can stay in a dirty hotel - right? The beds were so hard and uncomfortable. The TV was from like the late 80s. The furniture was older than that! The wallpaper was falling down off the walls. I could go on and on. Plus......the next day we come in and our room had not been cleaned again! Upon asking about it, the clerk and maid just shrugged their shoulders. So, I cleaned my room AGAIN plus we got our own towels. Then when checking out, we wanted a refund - since the manager was out of town, we were told we would have to wait until Angie got back in town. They refused to give me her complete name. So I looked it up. The manager is Angie Ogle. The maid's name was Brandon. When talking to the manager - there was totally no remorse for our stay. None!! She said, well, you should have left if you didn't like it. Really??? With management like that, I can not believe this place could possibly prosper. This whole situation was handled very childish and was completely absurd! Do yourself a favor and go ANYWHERE but here!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMeadowsLodge, Tracy, Front Desk Clerk at Smoky Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are terribly sorry for you less than perfect trip with us. Just wanted to notify you that the hotel is under new management and new owners. We know that doesn't change the bad experiences you had here we do however hope that you will give us a chance to change your mind about our hotel. We have all new staff members here at the hotel. We cannot tell you how many bad complaints we have from the previous owners and old staff members at this hotel. We would like you to see what great customer service is. We hope to have you as a quest in our establishment during the future. Have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the outside it doesn't look so bad but after we got checked in and up to our room I was not happy. I felt very uneasy the entire time we were there. I felt very dirty just being in this hotel, I actually brought everything we had with us home and washed it even if we didn't use it. The bathtub felt slimy when I used the shower and there was some kind of stain on the bottom of our sheet. The wallpaper is peeling and the toilet had stains all in it like it hadn't been cleaned in months. There were a lot of drunk individuals hanging out outside the hotel around the elevator and pool. It kind of reminded me of a motel you see in a horror movie :/ I would absolutely not stay here again not even if they paid me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMeadowsLodge, Front Desk Clerk- Tracy at Smoky Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the memory that you have of this location. We would just like to let it be known that we are no longer affiliated with the previous owners. The hotel went into foreclosure in November 2013 and reopened under new owners, along with new management and housekeeping. We hope that you won't hold past experiences against us, as we were not employed here at the time of your visit. We have recently been remodeling the hotel and doing our best to change the reputation left by past affiliates. Thank you and God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went to the office checked in and as soon as we left office realized this was a mistake. Sidewalks dirty, cig butts everywhere, outside trash cans and not been emptied or cleaned in hard tell how long. Elevator was filthy, nasty. We got to our room the dresser was pulled out with the tv unplugged and trash behind dresser. No remote for tv. Went to front desk they gave us another room. This room was worse, the toliet had feces on it, went to front desk was advised nothing she could do about it. Had checked in for 2 nights and wanted a refund, she said she could refund 2nd night, but not the first. Manager was not there till morning. Reluctantly stayed for one night. Would never, never, never stay there again.

Room Tip: avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMeadowsLodge, Front Desk Clerk- Tracy at Smoky Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
The staff at Smoky Meadows Lodge would like to say we are very sorry for the trouble you had on your last stay at this hotel. However, we are pleased to tell you that we are now under new owners and all of the staff from housekeeping to management has been replaced. We take pride in this establishment and hope that you would consider being our guest sometime in the future. We are fighting to get out from under a lot of bad reviews based on the previous owners. We are still locally owned and operated, Just with fresh, smiling and helpful staff members who care about the guests. Thank you and God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smoky Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Meadows Lodge

Address: 2809 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 93 hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Smoky Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoky Meadows Hotel Pigeon Forge
Smoky Meadows Pigeon Forge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoky Meadows Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.