We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't judge a book by it's cover.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Lodge South Motel

River Lodge South Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added River Lodge South Motel to your Saves list
River Lodge South Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3251 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 94 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Cliffside, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“You can't judge a book by it's cover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A friend recommended River Lodge South as an affordable place to stay to help us budget more for activities for our children. When we pulled up into the driveway, I was wondering what we had gotten ourselves into. The inside was so much better than I expected from the looks of the outside. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Yes, it is an older motel, meaning there are upgrades that would be nice, but if you are looking for a clean place to stay that is affordable, I highly recommend it. We really didn't spend much time in the room except to sleep anyway.....we packed our trip full with activities because of the money we saved on lodging. I highly recommend River Lodge South for families on a budget. Also, Gail left our daughter a "birthday surprise". How thoughtful! Thank you!

Room Tip: Microwaves are not standard amenities.....request one when booking. We were on the bottom floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    3
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked through 3rd party, looked to be a nice motel but turned out to be a crappy place. The air conditioner was not on when we walked in the room so it smelled like moldy smoke. There was a back door for the patio which had goose feces all over. This motel was very outdated, the front desk sometimes wasn't open until 8am. Place reminded me of a motel in a scary movie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

River Lodge is a quiet kept secret! It's affordable, clean, quiet and has decent ammenities for the price. All rooms come with a balcony overloking the river. There is also a picnic area alongside the river that has picnic tables and BBQ grills that can be used. The picnic area is visited daily by ducks and sometimes a rooster! The motel has an outside swimming pool which is noce when the weather is hot. The motel is local righty on the strip so it is accessible to most attractions. There is an array of stores in boutiques within walking distance and plenty of places to grab a bite to eat. Some of the attraction right across the streett include go karting, putt- putt, children's amusement park, and concessions. Across teh parkway is indoor skydiving which is quite an adventure for the adventurous! There is a beautiful waterfall right around the corner. Last but not least, the motel has the BEST STAFF ever. They are friendly, kind, polite and courteous! They go out of their way to make you feel at home! Well worth every cent spent and saved!

Room Tip: Choose non-smoling if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I went to the Pigeon Forge area for our Anniversary, and picked (somewhat at random) the River Lodge South Motel. Our room was on the bottom floor and had a back door leading out to a picnic area and river. Every morning there were dozens of ducks and geese that would gather out there. They were beautiful and boy, did they love bread! (side note: several stores in the area sell "duck food" [corn] for about a dollar)
Our room was comfortable and clean, nothing spectacular, but it was nicely decorated and had a cold, small refrigerator. The motel is situated far back from the main road, so it is very quiet at night, and dark... which lead to one of the best night's sleep I have had in a long time! The guy at the desk when we checked out was very friendly and talkative. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want the ducks/geese to knock on your door and wake you up, ask for something on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff go above and beyond to make you feel like you are on vacation but that you are right at home. Quality people at a quality motel. Being right on the river was a wonderful plus. Beautifully decorated rooms. Some available with fridge, stove, wine cooler, safe & microwave...many amenities and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The owners of River Lodge South for over 30 years has taken it out of lease and completely remodeled all of the rooms..........It is beautiful and so peaceful..... Along with a very caring staff that makes everyone feel like Family.... Very Nice. We have been coming for years and it keeps getting better ! Thanks to River Lodge South for making us feel like Family :)

The Rutherford Family

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

At first glance motel looked decent, but after a closer look the room was extremely dirty. There was hair in the bathroom, carpet was stained, used rolls of toilet paper in bathroom, trim missing on room, curtains stained, and the pool was green. Bed was very noisy, could not move without it making large amounts of noise. No internet access, even though it was advertised. Office staff was not helpful when asked why internet was not working. TV remote was thrown behind the table and had no back and no batteries. Outside motel room next to the river the grass was very high and there was alot of trash, paper, cigarettes,etc. Hotel offered complimentary breakfast at 9 o'clock, but the office did not open until much later than 9. Overall bad experience had booked two nights, but after first night decided to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Lodge South Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge South Motel

Address: 3251 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 94 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Lodge South Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Lodge South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Lodge South Hotel Pigeon Forge
River Hotel South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Lodge South Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.