We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal, Huge Portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill Restaurant

The Old Mill Restaurant
164 Old Mill Ave, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
(865) 429-3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 144 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Inman, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Huge Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Country cooking at its best. Portions are HUGE! We took home enough for two subsequent meals. Wait staff is top notch. Everything is really clean. A extremely well run restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,331
    720
    275
    104
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It was OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I chose The Old Mill Restaurant for lunch because of the menu and because of its ratings/reviews on Trip Advisor. This restaurant was rated #5 out of 136 restaurants in Pigeon Forge…with about 4.5 ‘stars’ out of 5 possible and an astounding 2,377 reviews!

The restaurant is spread out over several decks or levels…probably to maximize seating.
It is nicely located right on the Little Pigeon River. The Old Mill Restaurant is located right next to the actual Old Mill...which dates back 184 years!

The lunch menu is simple and easy to follow. All 18 Southern Style lunch specialties are priced the same and they include a cup of their Signature Corn Chowder, as well as corn fritters, homemade mashed potatoes and green beans. We both thought that the chowder was good if not great…

Other soups and a handful of salads are available on the luncheon menu. There are also 4 vegetarian offerings. If you aren’t in the mood for a full dinner like we ordered, there are 9 sandwiches on the menu. They range from an American Burger to a Hot Roast Beef, a Grilled Chicken, a Hot Turkey or a Country Ham Sandwich… With the sides that accompany these sandwiches, these choices probably end up being even larger than the lunch specialties… Sandwiches also come with the chowder, fritters and potatoes!

The corn fritters were excellent and I could have made a meal of them by themselves. For some reason, our waitress also brought us some terrific biscuits as well. We devoured them in short order! For her lunch, Laurie went with the Southern-Style Pot Roast and Gravy. It was good but not particularly distinctive. There was certainly plenty of meat though… Personally, I’m always looking for the best Southern (or Northern or any) Fried Chicken. The Old Mill’s version was pretty good…but it was a little bland and it was certainly not close to the best I’ve had.

To summarize our luncheon experience at the Old Mill Restaurant... The prices were reasonable, the service was decent and the food was plentiful and filling if not outstanding. In our opinion, 3 to 3.5 'stars' fits our dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The service was great which made the meal so much more enjoyable. We loved it so much we ate here twice while on vacation even though we make it a rule to try a new place every meal. Corn fritters amazing!! I cant say enough great things about this restaurant! Go hungry the prices were reasonable and the plates were over flowing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Country Cookin at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I would go back again and again, I enjoyed all of my food and alittle of my Fiance's food too. Being from the country I can tell you that this is some of the best country cooking i've ever had. If you like Cracker Barrel, Try multiplying their food and service by 100. And thats how I would rate Old mill. Not to mention its adorbale in there, and it truly is a little peice of History. I will be sure to eat there atleast twice everytime I go to Pigeon Forge. And I promise you will be begging for more of those fritters!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

You must stop to eat here whenever you are in the Pigeon Forge area. Great food at a great price. The best county fried steak I have ever had. Breakfast is always great as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to The Old Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.