We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at Midnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Classic Diner

Mel's Classic Diner
119 Wears Valley Road, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
(865) 429-2184
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 122 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Midnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

After late hours at The Track, we were worried that we wouldn't find anywhere open to eat. Stumbling across Mel's was a diamond in the rough. The atmosphere was fun and nostalgic, although a little small. The staff was extremely friendly and the food was...well, diner food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    347
    170
    49
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fun Nostalgic Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stopped in here for lunch after a long hike on 6/26/13 and we were not disappointed.

The atmosphere is great fun with all of the 50's style decorations and all of the employees we encountered were super friendly.

The food was good and about what you would expect at a diner. We had the BLT and the club sandwich. The club was good and my wife said her BLT was about average.

I did think the prices were pretty high. Our bill came out to more than $20, which I think is high for what I listed above. But, you're basically paying for the atmosphere of the old style diner.

It's worth a stop though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welch
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great experience the food was great and very reasonably priced ( we even went back the next morning for breakfast) great portion size.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Mel's Diner is one of our favorite places to eat when we visit Pigeon Forge! Love their food, always fresh and just how we would expect it. The service is always friendly and willing to help! The inside is always a wonderful place to relax and get out of the sun on a hot day!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Enjoyed lunch here with my family on our vacation. My kids fell in love with their sundae, it was huge! I would definitely recommend for a lunch spot, loved the atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Classic Diner also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Mel's Classic Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Classic Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.