We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added James Manor to your Saves list
James Manor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2735 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 94 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. THe rooms were clean and big and bright. The staff were friendly and easy to work with for the most part. Our only issue was our room was not cleaned until late in the day. We stayed for a week. SO asking for towels from the housekeepers was difficult because none of them spoke english. But the front desk staff did and were very helpful. They also pointed us out ot local events of interest. The pool was incredibly warm. The hot tub was way hot, but very nice. Totally plan on staying again...

Room Tip: THe backside of hotel has great views of the ferris wheel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate them very much and are glad that you liked our hotel.
We apologize for the late cleaning of your room as well as the housekeepers not being able to speak English. The lateness of cleaning can be due to the occupancy and the number of housekeepers available. Yes - the housekeepers are not well versed in English and we do apologize for that.

We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    78
    45
    27
    38
See reviews for
150
63
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fitzgerald, Georgia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a great stay at James manor,staff was very nice and helpful, the facility was very clean. lots to do, loved the inside heated pool and hot tub. the game room was cool to. the breakfast was great. loved the location in walking distance to so many things.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate them very much and are glad that you liked our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is close to all attractions. It was very clean and the staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. It is an older hotel that needs some remodeling, but nothing that would keep us from staying there again.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and it was very quiet. The room was very large and the bedding was wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate them very much and are glad that you liked our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a deplorable and run down place. It was absolutely filthy and disgusting. We stayed here because it was booked for us by Bluegreen Resorts. What a mistake.

The lobby appears nice, the elevators fine, they have attempted to remove the graffiti from ignorant guests which I was proud of them for. Upon getting off the elevator onto the 3rd floor I immediately noticed that the wall sign was broken, but didn't want to hold that against them. The hallway to our room made me nervous as it smelled like a truck stop bathroom, obviously over fragranced. When we got to our room the keys wouldn't work, so I went back down to the front desk where I was informed they were keyed properly, but I may have to pull the door toward me and lift up in order for the keys to work. There was never any mention of maintenance fixing this issue. Which I would assume should be a priority when a guest can't get into their room.

Once we knew how to use these shotty doors, we were greeted with the stench of mildew upon opening our door. Since I am not one to complain we decided to make the best of it.

The floors had a ring of dirt around the room where it is obviously too much work to use the wand to ever clean near the base boards. Our floors hadn't been swept before we checked in since we found the previous guest's key chain and some children's toys on the floor. I began cleaning every surface that I was afraid my daughter would touch, and it took me quite a while. Once I thought everything was fine it was bath time. The cleaning started again. I had to rinse dirt down the drain in the tub, and the outside wall of the tub was absolutely covered with who knows what kind of filth splatters (since it sits about 4 inches from the stool). I still feel bad that I had to make my daughter sit in that tub and sleep in such a retched place.

After our Bluegreen presentation we mentioned to the staff what a horrid place we had been put up in. I filled out a detailed complaint form, hoping we could be relocated from there, but instead they called James Manor and we were told the hotel was working to address our list of complaints but if we had any additional issues we needed to contact the hotel staff directly. The door was somewhat fixed when we got back but that was it. We no longer had to pull and lift the door to get in but instead we had to try 3-4 times before it would open.

The following day we got back around 3 pm to find our room had not yet been "cleaned," and I use that term lightly when talking about James Manor. Instead all of our linens had been removed and practically ever door down the hall to our room was wide open. So, apparently they had a number of guests check out that day and would have been busy, but I don't understand whey they wouldn't have cleaned our room and then worked on the rest. Oh, yes I do, they are more concerned with getting more sorry suckers through their doors than keeping happy guests.

Needless to say, I was then responsible for going to the front desk to get our necessary linens and since the trash was overflowing I needed additional trash bags to get us through the rest of our stay.

If you are looking for a central location, James Manor is your place. If you are looking for a filthy pit that no matter the discounted rate makes your stomach turn, James Manor is your place. I will never recommend this to anyone going to vacation in the Pigeon Forge TN area.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking Parkway. I'm pretty sure the mildew stench was from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We are deeply concerned with your comments and are surprised that if you found so many things that you did not like, you never said anything to the front desk staff. We had other guests who stayed on the 3rd floor and they have not complained about anything at all - smell and mould etc. In any case, we apologize for any inconvenience caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at James Manor overnight while shopping in Pigeon Forge. What a nice place to stay, it is very clean, the employees are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again while visiting the area. I would recommend going out for breakfast, we stopped by the breakfast and grabbed a couple of doughnuts, but went out for breakfast a little later.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate them and look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I recently booked an over night stay on Orbitz.com with James Manor. When my daughter and I arrived into town, it was still early in the day, but I decided to take a chance and see if there was a room ready. When I walked in I was simply told they were 100% booked and my room wasn't guaranteed until 4p.m. I asked if there was any chance it could be sooner, and she snapped back that she didn't know, and the guests had until 11a.m. to check out. I said ok, could someone maybe call when something was ready? She handed me a card and said I could call later and check. After eating breakfast and driving around for an hour, I pulled over and called the number. The same girl answered. I explained that I'd been in there earlier and was wondering by chance if anyone had checked out. I heard a long sigh on the other end and she said "like I said before, they have until 11a.m. to check out and your room isn't guaranteed until 4". I asked her if it was some inconvenience to her that I was simply trying to find out when a room I had already paid for would be available, but she had been very rude to me both times I had talked to her. I then said I would actually like to speak to the manager, and she said the manager wouldn't be in until Monday (this was Saturday) and they would tell me the same thing. I admit to losing my temper and calling her a name I shouldn't have. She promptly hung up on me, so of course I decided I was cancelling my reservation with them. I called back to do just that, and she told me that I couldn't cancel my reservation because I had already prepaid, and then she began screaming at me (while still standing at the front, I'm sure) and telling me she was going to call her manager and tell them I was cussing her....then hung up again. I called Orbitz customer service and cancelled my reservation within about a minute, so that proves that she also lied. I never got past the front desk, so I can't comment on the rooms and what not, but I will say that as long as that person is at the front desk, I will NEVER stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, General Manager at James Manor, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I am writing in response to your comments about the desk clerk. You had come to the hotel around 9 am to check in when the previous day's guest have not even checked out. Your were very nicely told that our check in time is 4 pm and our check out time is 11 am. After the check out, it takes a few hours to clean the rooms before we can rent them again. You insisted somehow to check in much before the check in time and your request could not be accommodated as the rooms were being cleaned.

You cancelled the room with Orbitz.com while you were responsible for paying 1 day charge for cancellation as per our policy. You did not pay anything. I think your complaint and comments are unwarranted and unreasonable. You have to appreciate that you did not comply with our hotel policy re check in time. I am sorry it happened this way but you were responsible to a great extent in trying to be unappreciative of our policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed there for five days and enjoyed it. The accommodations are great, loved the in-door heated pool and hot tub. Only two drawbacks...no guest laundry and the breakfast was adequate but could have been better. Other than this the stay was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, General Manager at James Manor, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate them. For your information, we do have a guest laundry on the 2nd floor. Also, the breakfast that we offer has been adequate and liked by many guests. Yes - it could be better with some more items but we also have to strike a balance between costs and the room rates also. We would be more than happy to provide additional items but then the room rates will also have to be increased. And many guests do not appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to James Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Manor

Address: 2735 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 94 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — James Manor 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 7 storey, 105 rooms hotel located in the heart of the action packed Pigeon Forge (at the foothills of the Smoky Mountain National Park) and within walking distance to moderately priced restaurants and other attractions in the area. The Great Smoky Mountain Wheel sits at the center of The Island in Pigeon Forge, a new shopping, dining and entertainment destination in the heart of the city. Rise 200 feet above the city for the best view of the mountains in one of the climate-controlled, enclosed gondolas on The Great Smoky Mountain Wheel! Don’t forget to stick around after dark and catch the wheel as it lights up for a spectacular LED light show! The Island is located right behind our hotel. Also, the new LeCont Convention Center in Pigeon Forge is scheduled to open in the fall of 2013 and is within a walking distance from our hotel.We are very close to the entrance of the Dollywood Amusement Park and Dixie Stampede. We offer complimentary continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, exercise room, game room, conference room, indoor heated pool, hot tub and a seasonal outdoor pool with a kiddie pool. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking and is not pet friendly. Large and well-lit parking is available at no extra charge. Our clean and comfortable guest rooms (with 2 queen size beds or a single king size bed) are spacious with private balconies and offer wireless internet and free local calls in addition to refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Our rooms on the front side of the hotel offer great view of the smoky mountains. The city’s trolley stop is conveniently located in front of our hotel. We are also close to many shopping outlet malls. Both Gatlinburg and Sevierville are within short driving distances. We are approximately 10 miles from the Great Smoky Mountain National Park.Come, stay with us and enjoy our Southern Hospitality! Our friendly staff will be happy to help make your stay enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your James Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.