We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious chlorine problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Music Road Resort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Music Road Resort Inn to your Saves list
Music Road Resort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Henderson Chapel Rd., Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Your Stay!
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Serious chlorine problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Horrific chlorine smell when fan was turned on in room the first night we got there you could smell a strong smell in the lobby and the front of our room. Two heavy doors are required to get yo pool we could not go in are eyes burned so bad with in the first few seconds again overwhelming chlorine smell our trip was wrecked we love to swim I asked for a small refund of fifty dollors main mamager was on vacatoin said because I booked thru expedia they could not however they get pd from expedia I am lookinging into now they nred to swith to an ozone motor it is very cheap cost effective and would solve this problem good notes I saw were the maint people never stop workin some of the hardes woorking people was clean liked the paintings lobby am food nice front desk personel would love to give this a 4 and a half stars severe problem seems extremly dangerous

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Music Road Resort Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear regprovo,

We are sorry to hear that a chlorine scent made your stay with us less than satisfactory. We take chlorine levels seriously for our guest's safety and comfort. We have on staff a full time, dedicated pool attendant and technical adviser. Additionally, we work with Ecolab, a well known company that automatically dispenses the correct chemical levels into our water ways. We know that everyone has different tolerances. However in this particular instance, the pools were found by our staff and Ecolab to have normal levels and no other customer concerns were expressed.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves in gaining a 100 score on our health inspections both in our rooms and waterways. We hope we can find you a room on a higher floor on your next vacation to Pigeon Forge, Tennessee.

Yours in hospitality,
Music Road Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    86
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
170
63
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

First let me say I realize this was a busy time of year and you can't always get your exact room preference. As I understand it the Inn was fully booked. We have very reasonable expectations; it was Christmas at a family destination.

We were located on the ground floor directly across from the indoor pool entrance, about 25ft from the front desk which is occupied 24hrs/day. The hotel has no enforceable "quiet" hours so we were forced to endure people running up and down the halls being obnoxiously loud until well after midnight (keep in mind the front desk is close enough to hear and put a stop to this).

We woke up at 5:45am to the sound of a door slamming shut, perhaps every 30 seconds. It was loud. I waited roughly half an hour with the hopes it would stop but it did not, if anything it increased in frequency. With my wife and I both unable to sleep at 6:15 I left my room to find the source of the noise... it was the STAFF door leading into the kitchen from the dining area, it was not any action of a guest. I approached the front desk to complain and was told she doubted it was the staff door (which we were within view of). I prompted her to please view the door slamming which she did an subsequently apologized. At no point did she offer to fix the solution or amend our rate (I also let her know about the late noisy hours).

In my opinion it is completely understandable to have some rooms that can't avoid a higher level of noise due to traffic and being on the first floor. Those rooms, however should be notified of the obstacles and be charged a lesser rate. It's not reasonable to charge a room that (at best) gets 6 hours of quiet the same as one on the top floor with an uninterrupted stay. It's supply and demand. You cannot provide two different supplies to meet the same demand and charge equally for them, they must match the value they offer.

I would have been happy with a rate concession due to our unfortunate stay there. I didn't want anything for free but simply to be recognized as having received sub-par product. I will not return and will not refer this establishment (or her sister location Music Road Hotel) to anyone.

Room Tip: If you must go, do not stay on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Music Road Resort Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear JarodWMorgan,

We are terribly sorry for the noise that you experienced. It was absolutely unacceptable that we did not take care of this quickly to ensure you have a good nights rest. We have since installed a hydraulic door closer to eliminate any morning door noise. Again, we are sorry that our service and facilities were short of satisfactory during your stay with us and that we did not serve you effectively.

If you would, please contact our General Manager, Sande Weiss, so that we can rectify this for you. Exec@MusicRoadHotel.com

Yours in hospitality,
Music Road Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coden, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We always stay at this hotel anytime we come to Pigeon Forge. The rooms are perfect for us. Great breakfast and very friendly desk staff. We have encountered very rude maintenance personnel, but we try to over look them. Our last stay was during a youth conference so there was a lot of door slamming during the night and there were no luggage carts available when we checked out. This was not the fault of the hotel. This was the only time we have ever had problems and it will not keep us from returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Music Road Resort Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear usgranny,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is certainly our pleasure hosting you on a Pigeon Forge vacation. We want to sincerely apologize for any personnel that you encountered that was anything less than pleasant. We look forward to hosting you again soon and providing you with excellent southern hospitality.

Yours in hospitality,
Music Road Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at the Inn from December 16-20. We were greeted by staff that wanted to take care of us. We had requested a feather free room and were advised upon check in that a check had just been conducted to ensure all had been taken care of. We had room 535 which was on the top floor had 2 queen beds a fireplace and a view of the mountains which made me believe that we were in god's country. We have been visiting Pigeon Forge for over 25 years and this property was the best one yet. Kudos to all members of the staff who were never without a smile. We did have a problem one day with the smell of gas from the fireplace, but by the time we got back after lunch, it had been fixed. Breakfast was a nice touch, however, the eggs were cardboard like and the pastries were stale.

Room Tip: ask for a high mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Music Road Resort Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Claude G,

It was a pleasure hosting you on your trip to Pigeon Forge, TN. We agree, the Great Smoky Mountains is certainly God's country! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience with us and that our staff served you well. We hope to see you again soon; maybe for a romantic Valentine's Day weekend or fun filled Spring Break!

Yours in hospitality,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here December 6-8.. was greeted by very pleasant staff, great breakfast, nice view, awesome indoor pool/hot tub, and very clean/comfy room. Only have 3 downfalls..1. The room had an adjoining door, which made for some noise from the neighbors 2. The heater/air made a really loud clacking the whole time it ran 3. No water pressure, having thick hair this was difficult. Stayed in room 521 and it was an overall great stay and will be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Music Road Resort Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear estillspringslady,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your hot breakfast, our customer service, and the indoor pool. We wish we would have had the opportunity offer you a more satisfactory room. We have plenty of non-connecting rooms to provide our guests with more privacy. We hope to be able to host you again soon on another vacation to Pigeon Forge, Tennessee!

Yours in hospitality,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We always book a 1 bedroom if possible. The executive suite is a 1 bedroom but is laid out in a strange way. The bedroom is 8 times the size of the living room. Living room is very small and not very comfortable. The people who say this hotel is for romance must have a pretty dull home life.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Music Road Resort Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear GregStLouis_Missouri,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize that you did not find your room to be satisfactory. We wish we would have had the opportunity to provide you with another one of our 17 different room types. Our Honeymoon Suite, Superior, and Premier King rooms with their bedroom jacuzzi, fireplace, and beautiful mountain view over a gently flowing river offer an intimate environment perfect for a romantic getaway. We encourage you to visit our website to see the various rooms we have to offer with full, detailed pictures. We hope to host you again soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a king room which had fantastic unexpected touches such as a jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace, fridge and microwave. Very spacious room and bathroom with adequate decor. Room also had a nice balcony overlooking a pool and lazy river. Hotel featured hot and cold continental breakfast and a cozy lobby with a great fireplace. Staff encountered was friendly and helpful. Location is not really within short walking distance to much besides another hotel, a few shops and a small conference center. Within a few miles however, there a plenty of tourist spots such as the Titanic Museum, Wonder Works, many mini golf courses, arcades, go carts tracks, several dinner theaters, outlet shopping, and many great restaurant choices. I would surely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Music Road Resort Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear dforberg,

It is wonderful to hear about your great experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodations, a delicious breakfast, and are blessed to be in such a convenient location to all that Pigeon Forge has to offer. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Music Road Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music Road Resort Inn

Address: 314 Henderson Chapel Rd., Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#17 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#19 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Music Road Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Music Road Resort Inn sits across the road from the Hotel and Convention Center and features 140 luxury guest rooms and suites with a grand lobby. Rooms and suites feature private balconies - many overlooking the outdoor water park with a scenic view of the Great Smoky Mountains. The Inn offers many room types, some featuring a relaxing bedside Jacuzzi and warm fireplaces for those cool mountain evenings. Each morning treat yourself to a deluxe breakfast including scrambled eggs, bacon, hot biscuits and sausage gravy, our signature cinnamon rolls with cream cheese frosting, and many more fresh choices before heading out into Pigeon Forge, Tennessee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Music Road Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Music Road Hotel Pigeon Forge
Music Road Pigeon Forge
Music Road Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Music Road Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.