We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Americana Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americana Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2825 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 93 hotels in Pigeon Forge
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Never stay there again no shower curtain a place for iron but no iron, a place for blow dryer but no blow dryer the room stunk carpet was so nasty scared to take off shoes tub was nasty, the bottom of the door had one inch crack in it you could see outside it was raining and the rain was coming in the door I would not stay there againeven if it was for free one thing it did have was a ironing board yea!!!! And the bed was soft couldn't sleep cause the fear of something crawling on me the locks on the door was broke also.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAS1234, Front Office Manager at Americana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We would like to apologize for your bad experience. However we take great pride in our rooms. Unfortunately sometimes things like Irons, and hair dryers do come up missing. It is unfortunate that had happened to you. If brought to managements attention is something that would have been taken care of right away as our guests are our number one priority. Since we have become Americana Inn & Suites earlier this year we have been in the process of making many changes to our property and hope we will see you back again in the future. As always if there were any issues with an odor in the room or carpet not cleaned we would have been more then happy to upgrade you to a deluxe room at no additional charge or moved you to another room as mishaps may occur from time to time and if not brought to management's attention we have no way of correcting situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    5
    5
    67
See reviews for
34
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nasty place has a room full of old broken tvs pilled high up. Smells bad and steps are cracked in spots beware before you let your family stay in this hotel the breakfaat is unsanitary letting little kids put there finger all over stuff its just nasty

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAS1234, Front Office Manager at Americana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
First off we believe in passing our savings on to our guests, LCD TV's do cost a fortune especially for a property of our size. The room in which you had seen does not have broken TV's piled high, those are actually functional TV's which are replacements for when TV's in our guest rooms go bad. Would it make sense to have broken TV's piled to the ceiling in a property our size? The exterior of our property is very well maintained and is odor free to the best of my knowledge. Yes, you may find small cracks here and there keep in mind our property is over 40 years old, and we have as of recently been performing a lot of updates to our property to keep up with the times, since becoming Americana Inn & Suites earlier this year. Also our hotel is family oriented and located in the heart of Pigeon Forge which is designated as one of the top family tourist destinations in the United States. We look forward to serving our guests from all walks of life. Kids will be kids, and our breakfast area is open to all and it is the parents responsibility to watch their kids as breakfast is a buffet open to all hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My daughter granddaughter n girlfriend came here for the weekend. The room was clean the staff was friendly and the price was good.would stay here again.it was on the main strip and could see everybody going by nice view from the rooms

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAS1234, Front Office Manager at Americana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so very much for the good review of our Hotel and our staff. We are pleased to hear that the staff really commits to taking care of the guest. We also try to keep our prices competitive to local hotels in the area..We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hmmm...Where shall I start? As I was inquiring about a roomI asked the receptionist/owner if I could take a look at one of the rooms. She didn't seem interested in showing me a room instead she handed me a brochure and said "this is what the rooms look like" (Lol...that should have been a warning) BUT the brochure had a Howard Johnson sticker on it....so unfortunately I took the lady for her word. BIG MISTAKE! Also, I requested a ground level room near the pool...her reply "we don't have any available" come to find out...there were several available! Entered our room on the 4th floor(which is the top floor...not very close to the pool as requested) and the room had a smell to it...like a dirty smell! There weren't any towels in the room either. Decided to go and relax by the pool b/c we were Hot and Tired from searching for a room and the Hot tub was an unusual color. Then my daughter and I kept smelling something that smelt like POOP! So we moved our chairs to a different area of the pool...this seemed to help some. The deck of the pool was unkept with weeds growing near the hot tub almost as tall as the first floor, there were cigarette butts and beer cans on the pool deck and it was nasty. The drink machine near the pool was "out of order" and no other vending machines in sight. We finally got towels in our room at around 7pm and had to ask for washcloths. The housekeepers had a list of ppl waiting on linens, washcloths and towels. The next morning we get ready to go to the pool only to find that "IT'S CLOSED B/c someone POOPED in it the day before" WHAT, POOP IN THE POOL AND NO ONE TOLD US OR CLOSED THE POOL WHEN IT HAPPENED"? This is when I started asking questions and come to find out that the reason we smelled poop while we were sitting by the pool the previous day is b/c WE WERE SITTING BY THE POOP THAT HAD BEEN REMOVED FROM THE POOL BY A CUSTOMER b/c the owner refused to remove it herself! No one even mentioned to us at check in that someone had pooped in the pool and my family swam in that same water!!!! I lost it at this point and demanded to speak with the manager along with SEVERAL other customers. The manager of course wasn't available and the maintenance man told all of us upset customers to "get over it", the receptionist called the manager and they offered me $10 back or a free night stay! I refused both. The receptionist ended up calling the police on the upset customers b/c the manager wouldn't refund anyone's money. This place is disgusting, the staff is very very rude and I will never ever stay in this Hotel again...I'd rather sleep in my Car!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAS1234, Front Office Manager at Americana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments and concerns about our swimming pool. We are currently using the new computer technology Ecolab supplies to improve and maintain the sanitation of our pool. We had inspected the pool as soon as guests informed us about a possible problem. This was during one of the busiest weekends in July. Our Maintenance Supervisor discovered that there was not poop, but lots of candies that somehow clogged up our filtration system. The pool was closed for the proper cleaning of the system. Ecolab has a computer system that automatically releases special chemicals into the pool that sanitize and cleanse the pool. Our swimming pool is open late, and every morning we need a few hours for cleaning. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was by far the worst hotel we have ever been at....carpet was all ripped up, holes in walls, toilet was broke, phone didn't work and it smelled, the bed had grass and dirt in the sheets. The cont. breakfast consisted of a gallon of milk sitting on a table (who knows how long it had been there) and 2 cont. of cereal and a broken toaster...very dirty in there as well. Noone was ever at the front desk...tried to get money back so we could go somewhere else they refused...so beware!! Its a dump!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAS1234, Front Office Manager at Americana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We certainly do apologize for the phone not working in your room and realize how important a phone can be. We do rely on our guests to let us know when something is wrong so that we may have the chance to set it right. As far as your accusation of breakfast consisting of one gallon of milk and cereal is a little far fetched as we take great pride in our breakfast offerings which are served seven days a week from 7:30AM - 10:00 AM which consists of Cereal, Milk, Apple & Orange juices, Fresh waffle batter daily vanilla, and blueberry, Biscuits and Gravy on the weekends, Bread, Butter, Bagels, Cream Cheese, fresh brewed coffee, and much more. I do not know how grass and dirt would get on your fresh linens, and if that were the case would have been more then happy to change your sheets for you, or provided you with a different room at check in if brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived checked in and went to one of the near by shops was gone maybe a hour . Went to room to get are swim suits on and go to the pool .Stopped by the front desk for towels and the lady at the desk said the pool was not working. So we asked when will it be working probably by tommorow - we said that we where only stayin two days - she still acted like it may not still be working - so we asked for a refund , so that we could go where there is a pool workin . The lady asked did you use the room I said yes to go to the bathroom that was it . She checked everything in the room and acted like that we would be fully refund but no we did,nt . On the bank statement we were still charged .. Called to tell them and got the run around - they even hung up the phone on use on one of the phone calls ....

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for 5 days on July 2013. The people at the desk were rude except one person. Said breakfast and went down there the first day and everything was closed, even no one working at the desk and this was around 9 am. The next day we went to see what they had for breakfast and the oj was spoiled, never had enough coffee, biscuits was frozen and no gravy or anything like that, butter was out for the waffles and was a full stick from Wal mart, had 1 kind of cereal and hardly no milk. It was just horrible!!!Never had towels, had to ask and about 4 hours later we might get some. Never cleaned our room for 2 Days!! They never got the trash and I complained about that and the lady at the desk handed me two trash bags!!!Lady we were on vacation and we didn't get paid to clean our own room!!!!! The hot tub was nasty and smelled funny. Had to go to 4 th floor to get ice. The shower head was for very short people and you had hot and very cold water while you was trying to shower. The tolit would hardly flush, no tolit paper , had to ask twice to get some!! The fridge froze everything no matter what you turned it on. It also smelled funny!! The elevator would hardly work either!!!The parking lot did not feel very safe, not lit enough and it is behind the motel so I did not feel very comfortable about parking my car and walking across parking lot. There is an underground garage toward the back where you parked. It looks like a creeper would get you. The pictures on this hotel look good, but it is nothing like it at all!!!! Well all we can say is we will NEVER stay there again and they never even said I am sorry or try to do anything!!! So please beware of this hotel, everyone was complaining there too during our stay> Just don't stay here at all!! Rude people at the desk too!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else, don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn & Suites

Address: 2825 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 93 hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms, heated out door pool and hot tub. Free breakfast and Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of Pigeon Forge, only 2 miles from Dollywood and Splash Mountain. Minutes away from the Great Smokey Mountains and shopping at the Tanger Outlet mall. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Americana Hotel Pigeon Forge
Americana Motel Pigeon Forge
Americana Inn Pigeon Forge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.