We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-heated Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Smokies Cuban Cafe

Smokies Cuban Cafe
3526 Parkway, Suite 4, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
865-365-1700
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 145 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Re-heated Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well, I thought my rating as we went there would be at least a 4 based on our first visit a few months ago. Oh well. The young man that was cooking the last time was not there. My wife ordered the picadillo as she did last time with soft bananas and white rice. I ordered the grilled chicken with the hard fried bananas, tostones.

I am sorry to say that the picadillo was a large amount of beef which was somewhat dry and had zero ingredients other than ground beef. There were no peppers, onions, olives etc. if there wee you could not see or taste them! On top of that the white rice was obviously reheated. How many times we don’t know. Now how cheap is rice?

My grilled chicken was fresh & juicy and had a good amount of grilled onions on it. Good job there. However, my tostones like the rice were old reheated ones. They were almost as hard as hockey pucks check out the picture.

I guess fresh here is out of the question with the new cooks there. Obviously how your meal will turn out will depend on who’s cooking that day. So you can’t count on consistency. We have been visiting the area from Florida a few times a year and when we go back we won’t be stopping there again.

Yes, we still left a nice tip and went and stopped off to get a bite elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    44
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Biggest Joke IN Pigeon Forge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My daughter and I traveled to Pigeon Forge for some quiet time and sight seeing. Always before we travel we look at reviews on trip advisor. This cafe had excellent reviews so we decided to give it a try. We went on a Wednesday. As we entered we saw 3 children at 3 separate tables doing homework and playing video games. No customers. The waiter was friendly and eager to give us suggestions. We ordered several items from the menu. The food was plentiful but bland. The cafe is so small and looks more like someones kitchen, How could this place be in the top 5 restaurants in Pigeon Forge? I believe the owners/workers wrote these amazing reviews. No other way around it. Would not advise anyone to waste their time here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CUBAN FOOD IN THE SMOKIES!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Although the restaurant is somewhat tight, the food and service more than makes up for it. This place offers Cuban favorites at modest prices. Although we were on vacation we missed our Miami croquettes and pastries. If youre in the area stop in for a cuban sandwich or featured special!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I dont recommend this for the average American.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I dislike giving bad reviews but I have to be blunt on this one. The good is great. Very authentic and deliscious.

First of all, this place is located in a place the size of a matchbox; super small. Everybody around was speaking Cuban. It took 45 min to receive two sandwiches and it was packed. Our little 4 year old daughter didn't enjoy it either. Seemed as if everybody was keened in on us since we didn't really fit in.

The end result: We wished we would have skipped this restaurant on our weekend trip to the smokies. My wife and I will not return to this restaurant. If it was bigger, more family oriented, and maybe a little more friendly the it would be worth it.

Only one way to find out if your experience will be the same or different....give it a shot! And good luck!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Great food! They Cuban sandwiches poles apart in your mouth the meat stuck potato thing is excellent I'm a local person the night there at least once a week! Great food great people great service great food what more can you ask for!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokies Cuban Cafe also viewed

 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Smokies Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokies Cuban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.