We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oakmont Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakmont Resort
Save
You added Oakmont Resort to your Saves list
3062 Veterans Blvd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 94 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

We used our RCI points and stayed at the Oakmont Resort in Pigeon Forge from June 30-July 7, 2006. Compared to other RCI resorts, this resort was very inferior. The decor needs to be updated very badly. The rooms are very small. The location is excellent; however, you do not sleep and eat in "location". I was very disappointed with its offerings after having stayed at many other Gold Crown Resorts. On a scale from 1-10, in my opinion this is a one. I would not recommend it as a pleasurable experience; however, if someone wants only location and not charm, then they may be very delighted with it. Personally, I like charm and location.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    15
    13
    11
See reviews for
68
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

This is a timeshare, but units can be rented by the general public. The ONLY problem we had with the facility was that in order to get your parking placard, you needed to go into the sales office and deal with them trying to sell you on another resort. We learned that everywhere you go in the Smokys, you will get assaulted by these timeshare salespeople offering discount tickets, free vacations or meals, etc...and you get REALLY tired of it all...and the last thing I wanted was to deal with a pushy salesperson where we were staying. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay. They have activities scheduled, and we went to the one where the guy from Parrot Mountain came with a bunch of birds and let everyone hold the parrots and the kids really loved it. They also arrange special discount days and my family went horseback riding through the resort. They also sell discount tickets, so you can buy them through them and they will make all your reservations for you. We got fantastic seats to the Comedy Barn by doing this. There is an indoor pool and spa and an outdoor pool with a kiddie pool. There are two hours each night where the pools are for adults only. We stayed in a two bedroom unit. The master bedroom and bath were oversized. The kitchen is really really small, but overall the unit was very comfortable. They have a VCR and DVD player in the living room, and you can rent movies there. We will be staying there again.


  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2004

We obtained this 1 BR-1 B through RCI. The location in not a scenic one, being only two blocks from the main road in Pigeon Forge, but it is very convenient to all the attractions in the area. Dollywood, five outlet malls, Gatlinburg and the Smokey Mountain National Park are just minutes away.

The unit was clean and well maintained. It was average sized and accommodated our party of 4 adults and 1 child fine. The kitchen was small but very functional and well-equipped with all needed appliances including a dishwasher. TVs in the LR and BR, VCR/DVD combo for the LR.

The grounds were decorated nicely for Halloween and the landscaping was pretty. The pool and hot tub were in excellent condition and hardly used by others. The towel and linen exchange was handy. Parking was adequate. Did not use the BBQ grilles outside, but saw others doing so.

The staff was pleasant and check-in and out was a breeze.

The only negative aspect was the queen sofa bed. Not any worse than others I have slept in, just not any better. There is just no substitute for a real mattress. However, we took turns and were no worse for wear.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2003

Oakmont Resort is a timeshare resort located in Pigeon forge, Tennessee.The resort has 148 one and two bedroom units and the staff is friendly. I would describe the units as small and cozy, but not so small as to feel cramped. The units are clean and well furnished and the kitchens, while small enough that each is definitely a 1-person kitchen, are well equipped with pots, pans, dishes, utensils, and appliances. The master bath in each unit has a whirlpool tub, and there are gas grills located just outside each building. There are outdoor and indoor pools, a fitness center, sauna, hot tub, a putting green, and a playground on the resort grounds. There is also an outdoor basketball setup and shuffleboard available at the resort.The resort located a little less than a mile from the main road (the Parkway) through Pigeon Forge so that the road noise is not a problem, but it is very convenient to get in and out of.There is a lot to do in the area, so you will probably not spend a lot of time at the resort, but the activities staff does do a good job. Discounted tickets to various local attractions can be obtained through the activities department.Oakmont is not a fancy resort, the units are small, and the view from the resort is not that great. It is comfortable and it is convenient to get into and get out of as you travel to the area attractions. This is one of those resorts that you choose because of the location, not the resort amenities.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakmont Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakmont Resort

Address: 3062 Veterans Blvd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Oakmont Hotel Pigeon Forge
Oakmont Resort Pigeon Forge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakmont Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.