We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Go Back, Again and Again and Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Lodge and Resort

Big Bear Lodge and Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Lodge and Resort
2645 Valley Heights Dr, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 94 hotels in Pigeon Forge
The South
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“We Will Go Back, Again and Again and Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend in cabin 450. The cabin has 2 bedrooms( king and queen ) and the beds and bedding are divine.There is a queen sleeper sofa in the great room. The second "bedroom" is located in the loft so if privacy is an issue you might want to put kids here. 2 full bathrooms, one with a jacuzzi tub and the other with a large step-in shower. Front porch with great rocking chairs. It is, by design, a luxury cabin! Pool table, flat screen TVs, DVD players, gas grill, hot tub and washer and dryer.. Kitchen is all granite with all the appliances and dishware you would ever need. Huge balcony that sits high in the tree line. Located less than 1 mile from the major thoroughfare of Pigeon Forge you would never know it as it is so quiet and tranquil here. The lady who runs the office is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. We will definitley be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winston salem
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in a one bedroom, premier duplex-cabin for our week-long, much needed vacation. The cabin is more the size of a condo but the decor and appliances are top-notch. There was a full deck with hot tub, grill, and patio furniture. We had a flat screen in our living & bedroom. We enjoyed a large king bed with nice linens (the mattress quality was average). Our cabin was also equipped with bunk beds, which we did not use. I would suggest if travelling with more than 3 people upgrading to a 2 bedroom (after a couple days it would get cramped). For just the two of us, it was perfect for a relaxing getaway. You have full access to the indoor and outdoor pools. We used the salt-water, indoor pool several times. The staff was very friendly in regards to giving suggestions and area info. The only issue I had was having to take our trash out after pre-paying a $80 cleaning fee. My boyfriend had to walk our garbage up to the dumpster. There were large cans outside of other cabins; we called to clarify where ours was & he was told to walk to the dumpster. I do not agree with this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I along with our 3 yr old and two 10 yr olds stayed for 5 nights at the Big Bear Lodge & Resort. The staff were extremely helpful and everything we needed was in our cabin. We were a little concerned after booking because of the duplex cabins. We had all of the privacy we needed and plenty of room. More room than we expected. We stayed in the cabin named Almost Bearadise or 346A. The only complaint we had was the upstairs gets really hot due to the sky lights so word of advice keep the bedroom door shut during the day. Other than that everything was perfect and the details list 2 bathroom but it acutally had 3 full on each level.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010 via mobile

This place is great! Kids loved it, pool table in our cabin, hot tub on the porch- place was spotless, all amenities we needed! Truly felt like we were at home!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilhowie, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

This was awesome. The cabins were wonderful. It was like you were in a little subdivison away from everything but you are really close to everything! It was very romanctic and the people that owned it left a book so everyone could write about their vacation there and it was just really nice and cozy. Couldn't ask for better alone time!!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Wife and I were planning a trip to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge for our anniversary and I surprised her with a stay at a cabin. Upon stepping in, it was automatically a perfect experience. A nice two story cabin, functional kitchen, comfortable beds, a gas fireplace. A while after we checked in, the owners stopped by and showed us around the resort and ensured we had a great stay. Not being familiar with the area, it looked like the cabins where a little bit away from things on a map. That could not be further from the truth. The cabin is only about 10 minutes away from Gatlinburg and just around the corner from the Christmas Place area on the Parkway. A very nice bonus was a gas grill outside which we used on our last night (there is a Kroger supermarket less then 5 minutes away) to cook a great steak dinner.
With its' very affordable rates, I certainly look forward to booking more stays with my family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We wanted to spend a week in Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge in late November 2009. After much Internet searching for a place to stay that our 11 year old would think is "cool", we stumbled across this place. We wanted a log cabin-type place near civilization but not too close to the noise. When we found it on Google Maps, it seemed to be in a perfect spot. They were even running a special for a free night's stay! We had to pay 10 percent down and the remainder before the week of our stay. I'm not sure if that is standard or not but it was fine by us. We were put in a one bedroom, two story duplex cabin (two cabins basically together) that was obviously very new. The lower level had a living room with a gas fireplace (on a timer in case you forgot to turn it off), a full kitchen, dining area, a mini stacked washer and dryer, a bathroom (no tub/shower) and a screened-in porch that had a hot tub in it. We've had hot tubs before in our rooms and they always smelled. This one did not! The upper level had a master bedroom with a balcony, a king size bed, and a full bath. There was also a landing with a sleeper sofa our son slept on. I can't say enough about the location, quality and price of this cabin! We didn't want to leave each day it was so comfortable and nice. By the way, they do have WiFi access but only in the lobby. Nothing about this place was a negative and we've been telling all our friends about it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bear Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lodge and Resort

Address: 2645 Valley Heights Dr, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Lodge and Resort offers the perfect opportunity and setting to enjoy your own personal Smoky Mountain experience, as it is located just off the Parkway, in Pigeon Forge Tennessee, and can accommodate any lodging need. If you are interested in a romantic weekend for two, maybe a wedding party, or simply a fun-filled family vacation, the Big Bear Lodge and Resort can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Big Bear is perfect for family reunions, religious retreats, and corporate outings, as well, offering a serene mountain setting along with close proximity to downtown Pigeon Forge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Pigeon Forge
Big Bear Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Lodge and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Bear Lodge and Resort to your Saves list