We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Student Trip - OK room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center to your Saves list
Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4215 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Watkinsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Student Trip - OK room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The place is cheap but our room was clean and the house keeping lady was very nice. The hot water heater (furnace) broke the first day of the retreat and we had zero hot water for 12 hours. However, they did kept us informed of the progress.

We stayed in the "new" area! The bed was fine, very comfortable. Each room had two king beds, KINGS very big. The older building looks real bad but I did not stay in it. The conference center was in need of repair, some doors at the conference area did not have knobs/handles, the students did not seem to mind.

We had 8 rooms in our group and they all were very clean. The indoor pool area needs some updating but the students liked it. The breakfast area was small but they kept it stocked with Little Debbies, cold cereal and instant Oatmeal. I returned after getting a really bad cup of coffee and they were still restocking. Keep in mind they had over 500 middle school and high school students on property.

They were hosting a very large student event and put traditional guests in the middle of the hall completely surrounded by students. If you are there for a weekend I would ask if they have a conference while you are there. They had another group, a Frat, on the property Saturday night, loud bunch of kids. I never saw any effort by the hotel to quiet them.

The conference area is very old and it shows! It worked but it is not nice. My score reflexs my overall experience. No hot water, poor conference area, loud quests, and general appearance of property, but it also reflects a good bed and clean room on a youth trip.

Room Tip: Be sure you are in the new room with large tubes, and be sure to check about student events during y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    24
    34
    141
See reviews for
102
71
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Face, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed at this motel at least 15 times and have always enjoyed it. But we went on 1/19/2013. We checked in around 8:30 pm and about 12:00 am and 3 rooms later we finally got to relax. Our first room was on the second floor right in the middle of collage students. I have no problem with young folks, We have 3 ourselves, but they where already loud and stumbling around at 8 pm and the manager was telling how rowdy they where the night before. So we perferred not to stay in that room. Management was really nice at first. She said they where booked but managed to find a cancellation. She gave us another room and we unloaded our thing and ran out to the store. Just as I began to relax I found a spider in the bed,and the the room had bugs. My husband went back to the office to get a refund so we could go somewhere's else and the manager got really upset and said she could not refund our money.She gave us another room to check out. We opened the door and there was already someone sleeping in the bed. The room was already occupied. Again back to the office we went. This time she wanted to know what she had to do to please us. Like we had done something wrong. Finally she gave us room under the conference area. The was not the best of rooms but it was CLEAN. Not sure what happened to this place but we will have second thoughts on staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from a conference at this hotel. We were nervous to stay there based upon the multitude of bad reviews on here. We had 50 people total, we found our rooms to be very clean, comfortable. We had a problem the first night with not enough hot water, but they fixed the problem by day 2. The indoor pool was clean and warm...the students LOVED it. Overall I thought the hotel was very accommodating and comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were just moving into the area and were met with several mishaps. There were 5 of us and 2 pets. After explaining our situation, we were lodged at the going weekly rate and all were housed in one large room in an effort to relieve the financial demand.The room was perfect for us; two king beds and a roll away...perfect. The staff were excellent examples of how PRs should be. Customer care was the epitomy of this staffing crew. Thank you all. Your caring went a long ways for us and we will forever sing your praise. God bless and keep you in the upmost of success. The Temple of Ancient Wisdom Board of Directors.

Room Tip: our room and private balcony faced the river and waking to the sound of running water is a sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have seen a lot of negative reviews of this motel. It could use some upgrades and improvements. I had a nice view of the Pigeon River. Convenient location to Gatlinburg Tenn. Room had two King Size beds which I thought was a bit unusual. I was also surprised by the Jacuzzi in the room. The room size was good. I was disappointed in the breakfast that was offered. My biggest complaint would be with the towels that are offered to the guest. Not sandpaper but almost. This is something that the motel could easily fix by upgrading this option. I have stayed in worse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the very unfortunate experience of staying there last weekend. The reservations were made by the Winter Xtreme Conference as part of our package.The rooms were about as clean as a $19.99 a night room in a bad part of town. There was Dorito chip crumbs in the sheet when we pulled the covers back upon checking in and a blue gummy fruit snack in the other bed. It took 4 four hours to check in because our reservation wasn't in the computer. The free Wi-fi didn't work at all. The "deluxe continental breakfast" included Nutty Buddy's, Swiss Cake Rolls and oatmeal cream pies. ALL of the rooms were smoking rooms so our youth and adults smelled like they had been in a pub all night. The pictures are deceiving, this place is old, smokey, and just plain dirty.

Room Tip: Do not stay here, ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

There are too may motels, hotels and cabins in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area!!! This has been one of the worst experiences I've had. We chose this hotel because they allowed pets, but that didn't mean we are second class citizens. The building our room was in must have been the original building, and you can see nothing has been done since it opened. The plug for the floor lamp by the door was on a metal strip right by the door...every time you wanted to use the door you had to unplug the lamp, otherwise you can trip on the cord. Dead bugs in trhe windowsill, pealing wallpaper, filth and dirt on the carpet, the toilet didn't flush unless you kept the handle down the entire time. No hair dryer, no ironing board or iron.. Maid service was almost laughable....no vacuuming was done, the beds were not changed, the bathroom has not been cleaned. She just came in to drop off a couple of threadbare towels. The bar of soap is so thin, you have to use 2 bars to take 1 shower, as well as 2 towel to dry off because they were so thin. We had reservations for 2 nights but cut our vacation short and checked out after 2. The thought of staying there another night made us sick. And that's a shame because we drove 10 hours to get there and have a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center

Address: 4215 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoky Shadows Motel And Hotel Pigeon Forge
Smoky Shadows Hotel
Smokey Shadows Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.