We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taking Better Photos Tours

Taking Better Photos Tours
2225 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN
865 446-0546
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 84 Activities in Pigeon Forge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Taking Better Photos" teaches beginner and advanced photography classes at the major resorts. We also provide driving and walking tours so our students and their families can practice what they learn and enjoy the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains. Finally, you can sign up for our free monthly newsletter or give us a call to help you with your Wedding or Vacation planning. Read more about us on Facebook
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was able to attend Jim's "traveling" class in Paducah, Ky on November 1, 2011. He cleared up some misunderstanding I had about how to use my camera that others had not been able to do. It was very useful and I am glad we had the opportunity to purchase some DVDs. Some day I hope to be able to take one of his classes in Pigeon Forge.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    4
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guntersville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Taking Better Photos Tours with Jim Eastin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for this class and outing. I enjoyed it so much, and the Oldies Show was a blessing. Wonderful folks. Bill Sullivan, part of Jim's crew, was everything to everyone and a very special person. Again, thanks, it was the best part of my vacation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you have the opportunity to attend this class or take a tour you won't be disapointed. My wife and I went to the basic photography class and started taking better pictures right away.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This class was extremely helpful to me! I learned so many things about my point-and-shoot camera that will help me take better pictures. The instructor explained things in very simple terms and was great at helping clarify what we learned on the hands-on tour. Definitely worth the cost!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful, fun, informative and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and our two teenagers recently took a photo tour with Jim Eastin and Taking Better Photos. As we all know, there are not many activities that keep teenagers engaged but this sure did!!!! Our entire family completely enjoyed our day! My motto is that I am happy with any class or workshop if I can walk away with learning just one new thing. This class far exceeded that expectation! Within the first 4 minutes of the class, I had already learned more about my camera than I had known the entire time I had owned it. Jim takes a hands-on approach to instruction with really fun and innovative ways to make his concepts easy to retain and use! The class was exactly the right length...long enough so that you got a good grasp of knowledge, but not so long as to overwhelm. We had a yummy lunch and then caravaned through the beautiful Smoky Mountains into areas that we, as Tri-Cities natives had never even known was there. All through this drive, we listened to the provided CD with a step by step narrative of everything we were seeing along the way! It was just as if we had our own tour guide in the car. At each location, Jim was on hand to give tips and answer questions, but he did not "take over", rather letting us experiment on our own and seeking his advice when needed. He was right there encouraging us to take chances with "shooting the light" and getting our desired effect. "Water flowing toward you is exhilirating, water flowing away is calming." He was especially encouraging with our children, which was definitely appreciated.. By the time it was over, our entire group of about 15 had become friends. I would highly recommend this excursion to experienced or "wanna-be" photographers. It is a wonderful family memory that we will treasure. We recently attended a band competition and used Jim's tips to get "action" shots and could not believe the wonderful photos we took! Drumsticks in mid cymbal-crash! One last note....don't worry about what camera you have.....he can give you tips on inexpensive point and shoot types or very high-end equipment!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taking Better Photos Tours also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Taking Better Photos Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taking Better Photos Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.