We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Miner

Thirsty Miner
1424 Old Knoxville Highway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37864
8654290625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 144 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hollidaysburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent food. We were disappointed that there was no buffet due to the lack of people. However the entrée meals, appetizers we ordered were surprisingly good. We tried their breakfast the next morning and again not disappointed in the least. Very good breakfast. The service was mediocre both times we were there and had different severs. I highly recommend breakfast or dinner or both!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    48
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked here as a last minute trip for the winter break for my seven year old son and niece. We always stay at the Holiday Inn Smokey Mountain Resort, and although they do not have a water park, I will only stay there when we are in Gatlinburg from now on. At Wilderness, the rooms are nice and clean. The water park has been fun as well. However, guest service here is so bad my husband and I are laughing right now because you really can't believe it! Last night we decided to dine on site at their Thirsty Miner restaurant (buffet). Kids eat free and adults are $18.99 so we felt like $50.00 for the four of us would be a decent meal. MISTAKE. The food looked like it had been sitting for hours without being freshened and tasted even worse. The salad bar was out of ranch dressing and I asked an employee if she could replace it. She told me "in a minute" and was clearly upset that I had made this request. After waiting almost five minutes, a waiter came by and said he would do it because she was in the back and wasn't going to. We barely ate, but no one liked any of it and were very disappointed. We did not complain and wrote it off as a bad idea.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Mediocre Food, Ridiculous Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Ate dinner on Valentine's Day here. For three people, it was $67 for the buffet, which was nothing but typical mediocre buffet food (which was probably comparable to buffet food at Golden Corral or Ryan's). We waited close to 10 minutes for a server to even come take our drink order and so we could ask for just the price of the buffet. We ended up being glad that we ate the buffet as most people we saw order off the menu had to wait close to 45 minutes for entrees as simple as grilled cheese or pizza. After this experience, we chose to frequent Food City rather than experience this again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thirsty Miner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Decent variety, ridiculous price, average to fair quality. The sweet tea was great and they quickly responded to my request for the ice cream cones to be replenished.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have visited The Thirsty Miner for 3 straight years for Christmas breakfast while staying at the wilderness and always super impressed. Not only is the food delicious and fresh but the staff is very attentive and friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Miner also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Thirsty Miner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirsty Miner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.