We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all had fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Forge Gem Mine

Pigeon Forge Gem Mine
2865 Pigeon Forge Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN
865-453-4733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Attractions in Pigeon Forge
Type: Mines, Cultural
Attraction details
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We all had fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We decided on the gem/fossil bucket to share. The kids and my husband had fun sifting through the sand to find their "treasures". Of course the buckets are pre screened and you are guaranteed to find stuff and of course your not going to get rich off of it, its just good ole fun. We went into the store after and got everything identified for us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    77
    32
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Way overpriced...in my opinion. I was so upset because my kids were really wanting to do this, but we've done something similar in Texas...half the price! I say, shop around or just don't do it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is just a place to sell rocks. I expected some sort of history of mines or a walk through a mine. Very costly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pigeon Forge Gem mine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

we liked getting to search for the gems. We even got jewelry made from the gem and turned out wonderful. My son and a friend of mine and I got something out of this. This is the first time we have done this. Thank you all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My 11 year old daughter and I had a wonderful time at Gem Mine. For $15 we purchased a metal pail of wet sand with gems. Her facial expressions were priceless and the gems were revealed in the water. It was truthfully one of the best days we had this summer. Afterwards we went in the gem store and the kind lady explained to us the names of the gems. No pressure, no hassle just and amazing time. It took us over and hour.. Also there is a mall attached that is also a lot of fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Forge Gem Mine also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Pigeon Forge Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Forge Gem Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.