We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My boys loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Forge Gem Mine

Pigeon Forge Gem Mine
2865 Pigeon Forge Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN
865-453-4733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Attractions in Pigeon Forge
Type: Mines, Cultural
Attraction details
Crown Point, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My boys loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My eight and twelve year old shared a $15 bucket. I wish I would have bought the larger bucket---they loved sifting through the sand and finding cool rocks and gems. One of my boys even found an arrowhead. The ladies inside review what you have found---they were excellent!

We had a coupon for a free bag of gems---and they said they were out of them That was a bit disappointing. Seems like false advertising since there are plenty of gems and rocks for them to stick in bags!

This is definitely worth visiting. It's priced decently and was very fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    77
    32
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connersville, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed more than I thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Took my two kids (11 and 14) along with my parents (81) and they all enjoyed going through the buckets. After you mine the gems, you go inside and they told you what you found. It was interesting but our assayer was not very engaging. She seemed to just want to get us out of there. Overall was good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a great gem mining place. The people were very friendly and helpful and very reasonable prices. We enjoyed the mining and learning what gems we found. Will definitely revisit next time in Pigeon Forge.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun indoor activity for a rainy day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stopped for an indoor activity on a cold, rainy day and we had a great time. Kids really liked "panning" for gems themselves. And we got a surprising number of gems, some very large. Well worth the money and time. Really liked that they sat down with us after and identified all the gems that we got. Only suggestion would be to show what we're looking for before we start.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time for the kids!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My 20 yo daughter and 8 yo niece both thought it was great. They purchased the $15.00 buckets and had plenty of pretty gems when they were finished.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Forge Gem Mine also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Pigeon Forge Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Forge Gem Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.