We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Waldens Main Street, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 94 hotels in Pigeon Forge
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Loved this hotel!!! The room was clean, the staff was wonderful and the heated outdoor pool was a plus for my daughters. It's not often they can go down the slide into the pool outside in March. The breakfast area was busy but the food was always warm and there is a really nice selection. Loved the fresh fruit cups. The cookies were a nice little snack in the evening. Bill at the front desk was always willing to answer my questions about purchasing tickets for some of the attractions. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor all the way at the end and never heard anyone out in the halls. Very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Ellis, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the fresh fruit cups at breakfast. We try to have something for everyone thus our motto of "SOMETHING NEW AND SOMETHING DIFFERENT." Though we try to appease all our guests, we know from time to time we may get that guest that was not able to get into their traditional or favorite hotel which can be a little distressing when they have a comfort zone. Comfort Zones are normal human nature but when one makes a change and it's even better, it makes it all worth while. We are glad you found us and we hope to always make each stay better than the last. Thank You for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,395
    98
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
732
441
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Honestly what a great value, nice staff, great breakfast, kid friendly. A real gem of a hotel. If I had to make a suggestion it might be to have a drink available with the evening snack. Maybe milk or hit chocolate.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Ellis, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Patty,
Thank You for your review and you are dead on about drinks in the evening. We have had a cappuccino machine that included hot chocolate as well and it was pulled by one company while we were switching to another. As the kids say now days but certainly not the proper answer, "My Bad"! Please allow us to say we are sorry and hope that the problem will be fixed shortly. We hope that everything else about your stay went well and would love to host you and your family again soon. Thanks again for the review and hope to see you soon! P.S. Apparently we are still Pigeon Forge's best kept hotel secret, but don't tell the other hoteliers, they might catch on....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Our spring break stay was nice. The room was clean. The people at front desk were nice. The housekeeper don't clean our room well despite the generous tip I left her. The game room is not a game room. There is only one arcade game. The kids were disappointed. There is no outdoor pool. There is just a dip pool that the slide empties too. The hot tubs and cabana with fire were great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Ellis, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Your review is welcome but obviously not a correct review based on all categories. YOU yourself said, "Great hotel compared to other options", but go on to rank us 4 out of 5 in all categories, a 3 out of 5 for value, with an overall 4 out of 5 total. Either one of two things has happened here and that is; you are a regular visitor to the area and would love to see big water parks at a hotel like wilderness, along with big game rooms like some other hotels (by the way did you see the additional IPADS on the wall for the kids to play with in the lobby) at our priced hotel rate rather the higher price. Or, you have never been here before at all and didn't do your homework or due diligence in exactly what your family wanted while here, in an overall hotel experience. If your a regular visitor, try again, the rate will be the same next time and probably higher based on desirability (Demand- Economics 101) , and is based on the services provided and what all is included in your stay. If you are not a regular guest of the area and compared us to other hotels in other destinations that would compare to a leisure vacation travel destination and this is the best the economy in the area will get me, then what your saying is the entire hotelier industry in this area needs to bring their standards up along with their rates in order to afford bigger and better hotels with more amenities and services that better lend to customer service. I (WE) have but one thing to say to that, WE AGREE EMPATICALLY!! Now, we just have to educate the other hotel owners on how to build, run and operate a hotel with customer service being number 1. Then the rates will truly reflect what customers can get! Thank You for your review...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with some extra touches that made it stand out above others in Pigeon Forge. Our only problem was that our room (#100) was right next to the vending area. In fact, the macines and ice maker were right behind our bed. After the first night of hearing the ice maker throughout the night, I asked for another rioom, but could not move due to the hotel being full. Other than that, the hotel was great, with thermostat-controlled heat/air system, comfortable beds and pillows, super breakfast, and excedllent facilities. I recommend the hotel, but be sure to ask for a room away from the vending area.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms next to the vending area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Ellis, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
There is always room for improvement, only this time the area of improvement must come on the ability and responsibility of the customer to make a reservation, only after having all the facts. If your simply just going to make a reservation in a hotel through any 800 number and not call the hotel directly, in order to ask, by the way how come there are only two rooms in the hotel with the best price of $99 in the same time period all other rooms are $130. The ground floor two rooms are next to the exit door to the outside and several feet down the hallway from a vending area that is not enclosed. It however, is nowhere near your bedroom wall, just in the hallway. If someone was using it late (since our pools are open till 2a.m.), since the hotel is built for quite, it may have been heard. All other vending areas in the hotel are enclosed in their own rooms. The goal here is again, to be an informed consumer and call the hotel direct. If all your going for is best available rate, then you will get just that. At this hotel or any hotel. The other customers were paying a higher rate to make sure things like this are not a possible inconvenience should it occur. There is a standard of performance and we believe we have met it, and the other more than 1,000 perfect 5 star reviews will attest to here on trip advisor. We also believe there is a certain amount of responsibility on behalf of the consumer or customer in their ability to make a reservation and do their due diligence. You didn't call the hotel direct, nor asked questions in making your reservations. When you make a reservation, you must prioritize what you want for your family. Is it best price, is it customer service, is it the cleanest hotel, is it the most amenities and services I can get for that price, is it location, or is it even a combination of these things. The location of a room can decide the price, category, or even convenience just as the location of the hotel itself can. Please keep this in mind when making your families next hotel reservation and ensuring their happy rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall a very impressive stay. Every place in the hotel was clean as could be and without exception the personnel were great. They went over and above to make our stay a good experience. The massage chairs were a welcome attraction after running all day. Heated indoor and outdoor pools with jacuzzi were well kept and clean. Nice central location with restaurants and attractions in walking distance. Included free breakfast buffet was very good as well. The fresh omelette station and waffles were both quality. Would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Ellis, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
There are many hotels to choose from in the area and there are always choices in life. The smart choices we make are done with patience, research, and the ability to not always choose the cheapest or the most perfect in every single category you are looking for, ie; the previous review. The perfect goal in finding the perfect hotel for you and your family is knowing what are the top three things you want in your stay. Is it price, is it customer service, is it as many amenities as possible, is it what you get for the price (meaning what all is included in my stay), is it location, is it the cleanest, is it the most modern, is it kid friendly, is it parent friendly, is it the biggest, is it the nicest, will it be user friendly. I know that all these have been looked at when building, producing, and implementing all that we have for the size and space we have and there is a reason we are number 4 in the country and 23rd in the world in customer service. I am glad that you found us to be all that you were looking for in a hotel and we always hope that those that can find what they really want in a hotel both in price and service can too. Thank You for choosing us and we hope that every stay is better than the last. We always look forward in serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in my lifetime. Some 5 star and some 0 star. I was completely satisfied with every aspect of this hotel. I read all the reviews and chose to stay here based on them. I traveled with my wife and 2 children (7 and 8) I already thought I knew what to expect with all the reviews on here but my experience was even better than what I had read. This has to be the cleanest Hotel I have ever been to. The staff went out of their way to ensure that your experience would be top-notch. The breakfast being buffet style, was second to none with the option to have a waffle or omlette made. They have both an indoor pool and a outdoor heated pool. Both indoor and outdoor hot tubs and a giant water slide for the kids. Also, we found out that they have extended pool hours!!!!! The night manager James continued to go out of his way to assist us with any issues or advice we needed concerning attractions, food, etc. We were able to meet the General Manager Scott on our last morning there and he was equally as professional and polite as the other staff members.

Unlike so many other hotels in the area this hotel seems to cater to families. I know my wife and I really appreciated this and I personally spent many hours discussing this with other parents in the pool area.

BOTTOM LINE- If you are looking for that 5 star experience at a 2 star price then this is the place. When I return to the area I will be staying with them again.

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Ellis, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank You so much for your review and it was a pleasure meeting you and your family during their stay while visiting us here at the Clarion Inn, your home away from home. We have always tried to strive for the best customer service we can produce in the hotel Industry, all while providing the most number of Amenities possible for the best possible price. Thank You for noting what's important in customer service and what folks can get at this hotel. Some people can be next to impossible to please, especially if they don't get their way or the family is all Cranky from a long trip or their favorite hotel is a different brand or a different one from the regular one their use to staying in, but it is more than obvious by your experience in hotel stays and your experience with us that this was not the case. Thank You for your candid and honest review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was ahead of a High School Band trip for 207 people and this is one of the hotels we stayed at. Check in was very organized. When we arrived all of our keys were in envelopes with everyones name on them and check in was so smooth. The rooms were beautiful and the hotel was super clean. Hands down this place was awesome. The staff was super friendly. The group was split in half for breakfast so we did not bombard them. The breakfast was hot and never ran out of food. That says a lot for a hotel that can handle a group of this size and have everything run smoothly. If you are staying in Pigeon Forge this would be the hotel you want to stay at!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Ellis, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank You for your review and you were the second high school to stay with us this week. As you know, this is spring break week and you can tell by the number of kids and families in town. We appreciate your school staying with us and we hope everyone had a good time while they were here. Jon, our assistant general manager makes sure our groups are well taken care of and can package any kind of food, attraction, or show with your stay when coming to the area, so make sure you ask for him if bringing a group to town. We appreciate you choosing the Clarion Inn - Pigeon Forge, the Most Fun Place to Stay in the Smokies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 124 Waldens Main Street, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#1 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel opened April 2010. Located at Waldens Landing, which includes several fine dining restaurants, shopping and miniature golf. The perfect place to stay for both business and leisure trips. Has an in-house Spa and free WIFI and breakfast included in stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Pigeon Forge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.