We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Farmhouse

Mama's Farmhouse
208 Pickel St, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3339
865-908-4646
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 117 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Buffet
Cookeville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Arrival was what we considered to be early (5:30 pm), but we still had to wait about 30 minutes to be seated. The meat choices that day were ham, chicken fried steak, and fried chicken. The fried chicken and chicken fried steak were outstanding. The ham was a little stringy. The vegetable dishes, though, were very tasty, and the waitress replenished the bowls promptly. It is a little pricey if you don't have a coupon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    219
    144
    85
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

many call Mamma"s Farmhouse a buffet ,.. it isn't. Everything is served family style. It was refreshing to see a family style serving again, haven't had that it many years. You get whatever is on the daily menu. It would be best to check online at www.mamasfarmhouse.com and make sure it is something to your liking before going. The price is reasonable and be assured no one walks away without feeling full. Now let's talk about the food. Starters is soup and salad to your liking one or both served with biscuits and cornbread. Let's talk about the biscuits OMG they were the best I have ever eaten, the cornbread had a smoky flavor not sure if it had bacon grease or not but i kinda tasted a smoky bacon flavor. Mashed potatoes made the way grandma used to make them. Honestly I can say nothing was bad and as I was leaving i always notice the kitchen. This one was spotless clean, amazing considering the business they do. If you eat here while peak season i would make reservations or maybe eat a little early for your lunch or dinner. deserts were all good, so says my husband :) I was so full i took a cookie and have yet to taste it, one thing i am sure of is that cookie won't last the night.. my husbands looking at it funny :0 Would i recommend Mamma's .. Oh YES !!! I have eaten many places in this area and I will say it is one of the best if not the best ,, just saying.. Paula Dean is coming soon to the area and I wouldn't worry none Mamma due to I ate at her place in Mississippi and by no means would nor have I been back though I drive by there on my trips to LA.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited on 2 different dates. Once on Valentines day for lunch (reg. price) and once again a week later on Friday (21st, winter discount given) for supper. The visit on the 14th was excellent. Plenty of food, no problems with asking for extras, friendly service, tea filled promptly....everything you would expect when paying $15 per person.

On the 21st, the service (and food quantity, NOT quality) was lacking. The food tasted wonderful, however it almost seemed as if they were delaying request for extras in hope of us leaving or giving up or something. I waited 15 minutes on tea refill AFTER requesting refill. Mash potatoes, mac-n-cheese and cookies were the same way...request extras and expect to wait 15 minutes even though other tables are getting the same delivered. Desserts were half the size as they were the previous (full price) visit.

Maybe it was just the waitress..or...maybe it was because we paid full price (and got full service) on one day while paying the discounted rate (and getting discounted service) another day. I'm not sure what caused the huge differences in visits but it will make me second think visiting again. If I'm looking for an "all you can eat", I'll probably go elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beyond great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our second visit to Mama's, but the visit today was beyond our expectations. Upon entering we were greeted by a friendly staff member. Our server Debbie went above & beyond to meet my children's request for apples and bananas. She even sliced them up for them. She was very friendly and took very good care of us. The food was great and filled us up for our trip home! Will return next time:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Something Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nice change from the usual buffet tables but we found that the food cooled too quickly setting on the table. Everything was very tasty though ...especially the grits and bacon. The scrambled eggs could have been cooked longer and I actually would have preferred the powdered eggs found at most buffets. At $10.99 each (less drinks) a little pricey for a meal that may get cold before you are finished. Wish they would have included some corned beef hash too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Farmhouse also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Mama's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.