We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you enjoy the taste of charcoal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Steakhouse

Alamo Steakhouse
3050 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37868
+1 865-908-9998
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 145 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridgeport, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great if you enjoy the taste of charcoal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I ate supper at the Alamo on our last night in Pigeon Forge 7/18/2013. After eating mouthwatering food at Bennett's and Big Daddys's which are owned by the same family as the Alamo, we were eagerly anticipating mouthwatering steaks as well. We were very sadly disappointed...

My husband, oldest daughter, and I all ordered various cuts of steak. While they were very tender, cooked to order, and juicy, all we could taste was the flavor of charcoal. Apparently they do not season anything at all as the steak and the Alamo potatoes were pretty well flavorless.

I should have complained to our waitress, who was FANTASTIC, but didn't because she was so great, and the food prep was not her fault.

The salad I had, and my youngest daughter's grilled cheese appeared to be the best tasting food that was put on our table.

The meal was definitely not worth the $80+ dollars we paid for it, and we left the restaraunt deeply disappointed and wishing we had gone to one of the other steak houses in town. I normally do not tell friends and family to avoid restaraunts, and only speak of the great experiences I have, but I have warned them to stay away from the Alamo if they ever make the 8 hour drive to Pigeon Forge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly J, Owner at Alamo Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. Let me start by thanking you for the kind words about Bennett's and Big Daddy's and everything at the Alamo except the flavor of the steaks. Now to the problem...We do not use ANY charcoal at Alamo, everything is cooked over an open oak fire, so the steak SHOULD taste delicious. We do season the steaks as well, so the combination of the two things is yummy. I apologize that your steak missed the mark and only hope that you told your fantastic server as she would have gotten you something else off the menu immediately. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    194
    119
    76
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Steaks - cooked to perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

While in Pigeon Forge, we stopped in at the Alamo Steakhouse for lunch. Wide selection on the menu, but my wife and I opted for the steaks. Good choice! Fork tender. Waitstaff were friendly and eager to serve our needs. They have several lunch selections under $10.00. Most of the folks there seemed to be locals the day we visited.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I both had stomach surgery and explained it to server he told us not to worry we should just order one entree and split it. We did he brought two settings out and we I'm enjoyed dinner. Streak was fantastic and do was salad. The server made the dinner. His name was Keith great job

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap!!! Avoid!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The best part of the meal was the salad. The steaks were horrible. My NY strip was rubbery and tough. My daughter got the filet and it was rubbery as well. They say they are cut in house, but they seemed like they were those frozen prepackaged steaks. Not good and WAY overpriced!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly J, Owner at Alamo Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I am sorry to read you didn't enjoy your steak. I can assure you your steak was not pre-cut or frozen. We cut each steak in house, season it, and cook it over an oak fire grill. I am not sure what led to your steak tasting rubbery, but I do want to apologize. We are always striving for perfection, and we use all comments to help us get there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not bad for a Pigeon Forge steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I had an early dinner at Alamo. Many of our local friends told us that it was a good steakhouse, and it was. I had the ribeye and my wife had the strip steak with garlic butter.
The best part of my meal was the salad-wedge with bleu cheese & Catalina dressing with bacon and red onions. Both of us ordered our steaks "medium" and they were cooked correctly, although I would have appreciated my steak cooked at a higher heat for a shorter time to achieve a charred affect. I also had the grilled mushrooms and onions with my steak. I don't recommend them. The service was very good. Overall, It was okay for this very touristy area. I felt it was a little pricy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Steakhouse also viewed

 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Alamo Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.