We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt spoiled!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On The River to your Saves list
The Inn On The River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kokomo, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We felt spoiled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent, clean hotel. Our room, 120, sleeps 6 and literally the back door opens to steps of the outdoor pool and the front inside door opens to the indoor pool, elevator and around the corner ice, coke and door 3 to the outside. The beds are hard, I am a bigger gal and had a hard time sleeping, but my husband and kids slept like babies! I would suggest getting more pillows sent down and lay on them if you are the only big one in your family. The outdoor & indoor pool area is great, no water is over 4.5 feet. Plus on the ground floor you have access to the Little Pigeon River directly anytime you want. My husband and I sat outside on the porch while it was raining, it was beautiful.
The hot breakfast is amazing. You get almost everything you can dream of: eggs, homemade waffles, biscuits & gravy, sausage, toast, bagels, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, milk, water, coffee, hot chocolate, banana muffins. Excellent breakfast. We had 6 people in our party and was able to eat at a table each morning about 8 am or so. No problems. They also have outdoor seating by Little Pigeon River. The nightly popcorn, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate was a welcome treat. We enjoyed our trip and we would return to this Inn again.

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor and on towards the Little Pigeon River. You can also order any extras ahea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Inn On The River! We are happy to read that your family had a great time. We are looking forward to your next Pigeon Forge Vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    245
    63
    25
    12
See reviews for
509
359
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I travelled with my partner and our son to Gatlinburg and stayed in Pigeon Forge. We stayed In a room on the first floor that faced the river. The room had a nice little patio that we enjoyed every morning with coffee. The river view is such a nice treat compared to the busy street! There is even a path with feeders for the wildlife, which was great for kids.

The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and Brian went above and beyond. While eating our breakfast outside in the outdoor dining area, my partner noticed a door open to what looked like a maintenance shed. She peaked in and explained that a particular screw had fallen out on my son's wheelchair, making it hard for him to be positioned correctly in his chair. We had planned on finding a hardware store, but Brian was extremely friendly and very eager to help. His friendliness really made our stay extraordinary.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to recognize our great staff! We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night while passing through Pigeon Forge and thought this was a nice, inexpensive place. We had a room on the first floor with a view of the river and a tiny sitting area outside. It was quiet and comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The lady helping in the breakfast area was especially nice and eager to help. There are some restaurants and shops within walking distance and the hotel is conveniently located near the best attraction in the area ZORB-Pigeon Forge (DO IT). Overall, it was a good option for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innontheriver, General Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I appreciate your TripAdvisor comments on your recent stay at The Inn On River. We try very hard to please each of our guest and are continually upgrading our guest rooms and public areas to someday reach a 5 star status If there is anything else we can do to improve your next visit please contact me directly at 800.388.1727 or karl@myinnontheriver.com

Karl Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night of our honeymoon. The staff is the friendliest hotel staff I have came on contact with.... It was very clean, nice bed/linens, view.
My ONLY possible issues was there was some little bug in the bathroom just one, no big deal. Electrical plugs are a little sparse. 2 at the desk, and a surge protector over I'm the corner of the room. Then the walls aren't very sound proof, you can hear everything that goes on out in the hall, and a lot of in the next room.

Over all it was great. Friendly, and very helpful staff really made it a great stay. Will certainly be coming back to stay again.

(And the free popcorn and hot chocolate is nice too)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review of The Inn On The River! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights the week of July 4th. We didn't have a reservation. The staff was very friendly and offered to let us look at the room before we checked in. The room was nice and clean. The mattress was comfortable. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a balcony on the river side. The carpet could have been cleaner. The breakfast bar was the best of any hotel I have stayed at. The only downfall was very crowded and it was hard to get to the food and around the tables. Nice touch was complimentary popcorn nightly from 7-10 pm. It was one of the better hotels we have stayed in. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel; I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at rebecka@myinnontheriver.com or 800.388.1727, so we can inspect the carpet in the room you stayed in. We have all of our carpets cleaned every month and will make sure the carpet in your room is cleaned right away. I appreciate your recomendations of our hotel and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Rebecka Urban
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a room with balcony over looking the river. Nice room...pretty clean. Not a huge room but was good enough to meet our needs. Indoor swimming pool area had a very strong chlorine smell, but seemed nice. We didn't swim at all on our trip though. Outdoor pool also seemed nice and overlooked the river. We will stay there again because of the quality you get for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel; we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel for Pigeon Forge...clean rooms...adequate breakfast...indoor/outdoor pools...amazing balconies overlooking the river...great a/c...great location...excellent...especially if you smoke. You can smoke on the patio where people in the overcrowded dining room go to eat; you can smoke on your outdoor balcony overlooking the river and have all the privacy you want as you run the nonsmokers back into their rooms, you can smoke at the outdoor swimming pool where the little children play and blacken their lungs too. You cannot smoke in your room. So, just warning you. But, feel free to smoke all up and down the outside area where one or two people ruin an otherwise perfect place for those of us who save up all year for our one family vacation!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else unless you smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innontheriver, General Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was disappointed to learn that you had a less than satisfactory experience with us and would appreciate an opportunity to discuss this further. Please contact me directly at 800.388.1727 or karl@myinnontheriver.com at your earliest convenience.
I am happy to hear that you found your accommodations to be clean, and I sense that you would have enjoyed your stay had you not been bothered by other guests smoking. Our policy is that this is a non smoking property but as you can appreciate it is difficult to enforce this policy a 100%. We try very hard to maximize every guest experience.
Once again, please contact me at your convenience at 800.388.1727 or karl@myinnontheriver.com.
Sincerely,
Karl Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#5 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On The River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have new Serta Pillowtop Mattresses, White Duvet Bedspreads, New Maple Furniture, Granite Counter Tops, In-Room Coffee Makers, Mini-Fridges, Hair Dryers, Iron and Ironing Boards. Suites available with In-Room Gas Fireplaces, In-Room Jacuzzi Tubs. Mini Suites with a Sitting Area and Sleeper Sofas are available along with Handicap Accessible Guest Rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, Nightly Complimentary Popcorn in the Lobby, and 24 hour Coffee and Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.