We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On The River to your Saves list
The Inn On The River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free!
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sweetwater, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I go to the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area about twice a year. We usually stay at a different hotel, but since we were celebrating our anniversary, and had a coupon, we decided to try something new. If we hadn't had the coupon, we probably couldn't have afforded it though because it is a little pricey. We weren't sure which room we wanted, so they allowed us to take a look at each kind of room before we made a decision. The people at the front desk were very nice, and helpful, the lobby clean and decorated nicely for Christmas. The room we got was rather nice with a fireplace. With the exception of a stain on part of the bedding, it was clean. The only complaints about the room would be that it needed a couple of updates. The lights on each side of the bed were dim and a little odd, and the a/c, heat were difficult to regulate, there were no towel bars in the bathroom, the bed was a bit stiff, and the toilet paper holder was under the sink. That is all stuff that can be dealt with without having a huge impact in the experience. The hotel offers free popcorn each night, a beverage station with tea, coffee, and hot cocoa available 24/7, and free breakfast in the morning. The breakfast bar offers fruit, cereal, breads, mini muffins, eggs, sausage, and make your own waffles. A decent spread for a free breakfast. They have an indoor and outdoor pool and a jacuzzi (did not use them but they seemed nice). All-in-all I would definitely suggest this hotel to friends and family! We had an enjoyable stay and would love to go back some time.

Room Tip: Decide what your budget is and determine whether a view, and/or a jacuzzi are important or not. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! As a management team, we read all reviews and take actions whenever needed. We are happy to let everyone one know that we will have all new energy efficient heating and air units installed in a couple of weeks and are looking into other ways to improve our hotel! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    248
    63
    25
    12
See reviews for
514
366
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Inn is always clean and nice. The staff is always friendly and very accomodating. Our room was clean and neat. And quiet. It is a nice place to stay. Will definately be returning. It is located in a wonderful spot in the town. You are with-in walking distance of the Christmas Castle, and the new Mini Mall that is just across the river. The view is wonderful of the town. The traffic does not bother you at all at the Inn. Easy access and friendly folks.

Room Tip: We have stayed on both sides of the Inn and have had quiet rooms both times. The breakfast is aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review; we are looking forward to your next trip to Pigeon Forge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I made arrangements to join my guests at The Inn on The River sight-unseen through a Groupon promotion, so I was holding my breath that it would be a comfortable and enjoyable experience for us. You see, I had ordered a guest reservation for my former roommate from college and for her husband. We hadn't seen each other for over 45 years. So they came up/over from Georgia and I drove down from Kentucky. From the moment I first saw the Inn I was impressed. Our room was lovely and spacious. The view from the balcony beckoned. The lobby with the fireplace was warm and homey. The staff went out of their way to provide for all our needs. In fact, our stay was the highlight of my year. You all are great!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your great recommendations! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went to the mountains just to get away for a weekend and to see the lights for Christmas at Dollywood. We wanted a reasonable place to stay and after staying at the Inn on the River, I have to say they exceeded our expectations. Sandra and Edyie were extremely helpful with our room and the directions around the area as well as helping keep our room well cleaned and attended. I would recomend this hotel to all of my family and friends. The price you cant beat, the Location is beautiful and accessable to all shops, and the quality of the hotel and the breakfast are in my opinion 5 star or more. Thank you for having us and we look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Always request a room on the river and if you can get a room with a fire place and jacuzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to be able to exceed your expectations and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I rate rooms based primarily on cleanliness, service, comfort, and amenities. This one pretty much had it all. Slightly expensive, but very quiet, clean, comfortable, and up-to-date. And right on the strip in Pigeon Forge. If I had to complain about anything, it would be they had no towel bars in the bathroom, just one hook. (They put style over function). Had to choose between the floor or the hook to hang clothes or towels. Also had to search behind the mattresses to find an outlet to plug in cell phone charger.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are looking into increasing the number of outlets and towel hooks, as well as accessibility of them in all of our rooms. We are hopeful to have a solution soon! Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

located near the center of Pigeon Forge. Service was good which included free popcorn at night from 7:00-10:00pm. Full breakfast in the morning. Courteous staff. Comfortable room but we were a located a little to close to the elevator and ice machine. So there was a bit of extra noise.

Room Tip: Upgrades include in room jaccuzis and fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Inn On The River! Please make sure to ask for a room away from the elevator when making your next reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

we went to the mountains on a moments notice. The weather was nice, so we went. Did not have reservations and stopped at 5 different hotels. We looked at the rooms and talked to the clerks. Danielle, at The Inn, was the nicest person we met. Even though this was not the least expensive place to stay, we decided to stay here because of Danielle. She was so nice and seemed to appreciate that we stopped. No other clerk even acted like they cared that we stopped. There are alot of empty rooms this time of year. The hotel was very nicce. Our room had a fireplace, that was very nice. The breakfast was hot and lots of options. We loved the freash popcorn every night when we came back from shows and Christmas lights tours. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Ask for Danielle at the front desk. Sweetest person in Pigeon Forge, TN.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for noticing our great staff! We look forward to your next trip to Pigeon Forge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#4 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#5 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On The River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have new Serta Pillowtop Mattresses, White Duvet Bedspreads, New Maple Furniture, Granite Counter Tops, In-Room Coffee Makers, Mini-Fridges, Hair Dryers, Iron and Ironing Boards. Suites available with In-Room Gas Fireplaces, In-Room Jacuzzi Tubs. Mini Suites with a Sitting Area and Sleeper Sofas are available along with Handicap Accessible Guest Rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, Nightly Complimentary Popcorn in the Lobby, and 24 hour Coffee and Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.