We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On The River to your Saves list
The Inn On The River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn 5% Rewards
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stillman Valley, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Inn On The River in October, 2012. Even though this is an independent hotel, it was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. The staff was extremely courteous, the room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable, and the full breakfast each morning was very good! We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Pigeon Forge/Smoky Mountain area!

Mike and Debbie Hahn

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Inn On The River and for you recommendations! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    264
    71
    25
    12
See reviews for
557
396
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Inn on the River! The views were outstanding - the staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was a great lobby with a two sided fireplace - the food was wonderful - can't say enough positve about the Inn. We were given 4 rooms in a row during a very busy season for that area.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Inn on the River was an EXCELLENT place to stay!!!! Had a fabulous time. Rooms were georgeous (very clean and this is from a person who is hard to please in this area).... Everyone was extremely helpful!! (Especially our friend (Kathy V. who made sure our rooms had everything we needed) AWSOME friend. Breakfest in the morning was GREAT (and free)... Would recommend and stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: Awsome hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Inn On The River! We appreciate you comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Inn on the River may be on the river, but it overlooks the Las Vegas- style busy strip of downtown Pigeon Forge. The website leads you to believe that it somehow tucked away into a quiet corner of the valley. This is not the case. There are many other similar lodges and hotels that boast "river" views. I purchased this as a Groupon, only to find that the rate I paid with the discount was actually more than what I would have paid by just reserving online!

Everything about this hotel is "fine" (except the breakfast, which is less than fine). The rooms are certainly not luxurious, as the website also states. They are your basic hotel room that you would find in any mid- level chain hotel. To give a comparison, I think a Hampton Inn is one above The Inn on the River. If you are going to the attractions in Pigeon Forge and want to be close by, where all the hustle and bustle is, it's a great location. If you were under the impression that this is a more elegant and rustic alternative to places on the strip, then this is the wrong impression.

The breakfast buffet is similar to all the other breakfast buffets at hotels, but everything was watered down for economy to the point that I found some of it inevitable. Here we were in the South and the grits were the worst I've ever had: hard and not cooked enough, yet very, very watery. The coffee was watered down, even the eggs had so much milk added to them that they were watery.

The heating system was old and when we came in, the heat was not on (in November). However, the system goes from oppressively hot to too cold and there was no temperature gauge, so I ended up getting up a few times a night to turn off the heat and then turn it on again when it got too cold.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone else. If it was 75 dollars a night? Yes. But not at the 130+plus rate that I paid ("on discount" mind you).

The biggest lesson I learned is to stop buying all these Groupon- type discounts that turn out to not really be a deal at all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innontheriver, General Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I was very disappointed to read your review of The Inn On The River. Your opinions are very important to us. I understand that you purchased a Groupon voucher and without knowing which of the 4 offers your purchased I cannot speak to you specifically, except two of the offers included two adult tickets to Ripley’s Aquarium of the Smokies that are valued at $56.35. Our website rates for your room type during November were from $117.95 to $127.95 plus tax. We take a lot of pride in our breakfast items to the point of not using instant grits or oatmeal, and unfortunately do run out occasionally and they take an hour to cook. As for your guest room heat and air conditioning, we are waiting for our brand new heat and air conditioner units to arrive which will include a wall mounted digital thermostat. Please contact me to discuss further so I may find out more details to use your review constructively.

Sincerely,
Karl Thomas, General Manager (800-3881727) or karl@myinnontheriver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I actually left another hotel in Pigeon Forge that was already paid for to go back to this one. Our expectations were surpassed especially since this is one of the more affordable hotels in the area. The staff was very nice, accommodating and tended to all our requests. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, fresh and filing with lots of options for every taste. Also, I am not sure if this happens year round, but while we were there they had a 24 hour hot beverage station which included coffee, tea, and hot chocolate as well as free popcorn from 7-10 pm. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with many updated features including: the A/C and heater unit (which ran very quietly), the furniture, bathroom fixtures, television etc. We stayed at the hotel during the late fall so the open fireplace with a spacious common area was a very nice feature when you didn't want to be cooped up in your room at night. Since it was cold we also took advantage of the heated indoor pool and hot tub. There was also a heated exterior pool, but it was too cold for us to be interested in trying it.

All in all our stay at this hotel was a great experience and should we ever go back to this area again, The Inn on the River would be our first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We met friends at the Inn on the River and had a wonderful stay. Since the reason for the trip was to see friends we hadn't seen in a year, we spent a lot of time in the very large comfortable lobby.
The staff went out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome. The hotel was clean and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We truly enjoyed having you and your friends visit with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazewell, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Was easy to find and get in and out in the traffic. Had a nice view of river. Clean and plenty of bath supplies. The bed slept good but, mine and the boys pillows felt like extra large cotton balls.The bed clothing was extra clean and the extra blankets I really really liked. Not much tv channels but, who comes to Pigeon Forge to watch tv. Didn't have to drive far to find some nice places to eat. Minutes from Wal-Mart for items you forgot.

Room Tip: Rooms next to river was quiet. We were on the 2nd. floor and had nice view and got to watch the gees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and concerns and will use your review constructively. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#2 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#5 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On The River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have new Serta Pillowtop Mattresses, White Duvet Bedspreads, New Maple Furniture, Granite Counter Tops, In-Room Coffee Makers, Mini-Fridges, Hair Dryers, Iron and Ironing Boards. Suites available with In-Room Gas Fireplaces, In-Room Jacuzzi Tubs. Mini Suites with a Sitting Area and Sleeper Sofas are available along with Handicap Accessible Guest Rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, Nightly Complimentary Popcorn in the Lobby, and 24 hour Coffee and Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.