We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MainStay Suites to your Saves list
MainStay Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Pine Mountain Road, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and really love this hotel! It's a couple of blocks off the parkway, which means it's in a very quiet area but yet still close to everything. There's a beautiful creek area in front of the property and a large pool area in back. They have a kiddie pool, a large regular pool, and a small lazy river. There's also a nice covered patio area for outdoor meetings, reunions, etc. The hotel also has a large indoor pool and a hot tub.

The rooms are very nice with a separate sitting area with a sofa, and there is a kitchen with everything except an oven. There's a sink, full-sized refrigerator, stove top, microwave, and dishwasher. There's a snack bar type of table which divides the kitchen area from the sitting area. The queen beds are large (I've stayed in some hotels where the "queen" seems more like a double) and very comfortable. The mattresses are rather firm but are not hard; I think they are great. I cannot comment on the pillows because I always bring my own. Most rooms also have a balcony which overlooks either the pool in the back or the parking lot and creek in the front. The bathroom is a decent size - with the sink INSIDE the bathroom where it belongs - and you have plenty of room to turn around while getting dressed.

The breakfast is pretty decent. They had sausage, biscuits, gravy, make-your-own-waffle, boiled eggs (if I remember correctly), fruit, oatmeal, cereal, and a few other things. It may not taste like homemade, but it was still pretty good and filling. The staff was good about bringing more food out when things were getting low. They keep bringing food out right until the end of the breakfast time, so there is still plenty for late-comers to eat.

My church denomination has selected this hotel for all their Tennessee state conferences. I have been there for a couple of our retreats and was impressed with the conference area. We filled up virtually the entire hotel, so breakfast was crowded; but the hotel opened up a meeting room just down the hall for an overflow breakfast seating area. There was plenty of food for everyone, and plenty of seating in the overflow area.

The only reason I could not give this hotel 5 stars is that, even though the room itself is large, there is not a lot of space to put up your stuff. The dresser and the closet are just a bit small for two women sharing a room, and we had to get a little creative to find places to store some of our luggage. It works out ok, though, and it's not a big deal because we love everything else about the hotel. Also, the WiFi works pretty good; however, this year I had trouble with the old laptop I use for travel and could never get it connected to the network. It must be something in the network settings which is incompatible with my hardware. I also had a tablet with me on this trip, and it worked great. There is also a computer available to use in the lobby, although I noticed they need to run some updates on it.

Room Tip: A driving trip: explore the road which goes around behind the hotel; it's a good back route to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are so happy that you loved our hotel. Our #1 goal is customer satisfaction, we love having your group with us. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    79
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
143
35
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent two nights in Pigeon Forge and this was like finding an oasis in the midst of chaos. The traffic was terrible on the main street and this hotel is several blocks off that street in a very quiet area. Our room was beautiful, with a full kitchen and plenty of room to enjoy. We had a balcony with a nice view and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was standard, but good. You have to be aware that you will be charged for use of the safe, but if you do not use it, ask them to refund it at the end of your stay. This was a small inconvenience and I think they should handle that differently. Such a nice stay that I hated to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind comments about our staff and hotel. You are right we are just a couple blocks off the main strip on a 25 acre farm. We are so close to all of the fun and activities of Pigeon Forge but in a quite relaxing atmosphere. Thanks for staying with Mainstay Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, TN
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spend a lot of time in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge and thought that we knew all of the lodging opportunities available. Our friends have repeatedly told us about MainStay Suites which is off the parkway by about 1 mile.
We booked by calling the hotel and using our corporate rate we came within a few dollars of the convention folks who were there this last week of October. Upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted at check-in which was quickly accomplished. Note - if you arent going to use the safe tell them right then and they will take the safe charge off your bill. Upon entry to our suite we were pleased to see 2 queen beds, a separate living space containing a full sized fridge, stove, microwave and sink. There was a nicely sized eating/working bar that split the kitchen area from the living area that contained a sofa anda flat screen TV that could be swiveled for watching from the bedroom area. The bathroom was clean as spic and span as was the carpet in the living areas. We stayed here 3 nights. The view from our room (also had a balcony) faced in the direction of Mt LeConte and was breath taking. It is so much quieter being away from the noise of the parkway and you notice right away the care that the staff takes with all facets of the operation to include housekeeping, breakfast and the outside landscaping.
We were impressed with the breakfast offerings which included make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, a variety of breads and cereals as well as oatmeal.
This is a hidden gem which I have attempted to describe as best I can. We were delighted and found our rate to be exceptional in that this was one of the last weeks of leaf looking here in the Smokies. We plan on returning here quite often. This would also be a great place for familes as the sofa makes out into a bed. This property also has a small but adequate fitness facility, a large indoor pool and hot tub and as the season permits a large outdoor pool and lazy river. What are you waiting for? Book it now!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2d -4th floors facing east have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. Great job in describing our property, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from Pigeon Forge and stayed here for 4 nights.Price was great. It was wonderful, Big room with full size refrig, 2 burner stove top, dishwasher and sink.
All plates, glasses, eating utensils and pots and pans were provided. The room had 2 beds and a sofa and TV. Breakfast was provided in the eating area. Eggs, sausage, biscuits, toast, gravy, make your own bear shaped waffle. Cereal, milk, juice and lots more for breakfast. The staff and check in were very nice. I'd stay here again. :) :) :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Pigeon Forge. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It was nice and quiet, great price for mini suite however they added extra daily charge for in room safe that we didn't want or use. We told the clerk upon check in that we did not want or would use the room safe. She told us that if we didn't use the save that we could have the charges removed from our statement upon check out. We did have our bill adjusted upon check out however it took 10 days for the adjustment to show up on our credit card. We have stayed at several hotels and have never been charged for a room safe plus tax and warranty before. If we were it was included in the nightly room rate and not a extra charge.
The room was clean with full size refrigerator, little stovetop, microwave, and sink with dishes, silverware, and little dishwasher. The breakfast selection was good however the food lay out was poor and scattered across the breakfast dining area. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the nice review of our property. We are always happy to refund safe charges of 1.50 per day. We do disclose that upon check-in and you have the opportunity to remove the charge. We appreciate you staying with us in Pigeon Forge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Got a good deal online for a one night stay here. The suite we had was like an offset, double room. Big enough for family of five, but tighter than some full-on, real multi-room suite offerings. But great deal, imo. This feels like mainstreet USA, neighborhood; and feels miles from the flashy main drag in PF. Good hot breakfast. I got up two hours earlier than the 7 am (?) breakfast start. Socialized with the staff and they fixed me up with food well before I would have ever expected them to. I would say this is good for families not looking for such a din of excitement. The other folks I saw there were of a more advanced age the many families. But that's ok, too. Again, very peace area, babbling brooke adjacent to parking. We will look to stay here again. And we did, in fact, but they were sold out later in the same week as we would have been passing by.

Room Tip: Steps up to side entrances. Not ramp. So be warned for wheelchairs, mobility carts, and even rolling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are a hidden gem right off the main strip. I am glad you chose Mainstay Suites as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent two nights at the Main Stay Suites in Pigeon Forge. We have visited Pigeon Forge several times in the past and stayed at nice hotels, but this was undoubtedly the best. The hotel is about 1/2 mile off the main road, so it was quiet and dark at night. After a couple of long days as tourists, that was greatly appreciated. The room had two queen beds (ours was very firm and slept very well) plus a couch with a pullout bed. There was a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and sink. The nightly rates were very low, the room was clean and the service was very friendly. The breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations: the food was fresh, the biscuits and gravy were tasty and they had a waffle maker that the kids enjoyed.

We will definitely stay here the next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms on the front side of the hotel have a nice view of the grounds and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are so glad that your stay was great here at Mainstay Suites. We are a cozy, family friendly hotel just right off the busy strip for a great relaxing time. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 410 Pine Mountain Road, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#11 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mainstay Suites an ALL-SUITE hotel located in Pigeon Forge. Indoor/outdoor pools, full breakfast. Located near the new LeConte Center, Dollywood, Dixie Stampede, The all new Island, WonderWorks and Titanic Museum. We also have a convention center for up tp 350 guest with meeting room space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Hotel Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Suite Pigeon Forge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.