We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Food, Good Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aji Peruvian Restaurant

Aji Peruvian Restaurant
5035 Ooltewah-Ringgold Rd, Ooltewah, TN 37363
4233963919
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 45 restaurants in Ooltewah
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Latin, Vegan, Vegetarian, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Welcome to Ají Peruvian Restaurant where we use fresh, authentic ingredients to bring you the flavors of Peru. “Ají” (ah-Hee) means pepper in Peru; where there are over 300 varieties! We import many of these to give our dishes and sauces the mild and spicy flavors that our customers have come to love. Come visit us today, sit at our table and enjoy the flavors of Peru!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique Food, Good Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is the only Peruvian restaurant in Chattanooga, and is a great choice for unique, authentic South American food. Good food, good service, reasonable price.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    6
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Find in Collegedale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was really happy to find Aji. After recently relocating to the Ooltewah / Collegedale area, I quickly discovered the lack of good dining spots in the area. Typical fast food joints littered Lee Highway, so after seeing the Peruvian Restaurant sign in Collegedale, I stopped in. I have been there 4 or 5 times now, either solo or with colleagues from work. Each time, the food has been very good and the service friendly and prompt. You can easily get in and out of here in 30 minutes during a work lunch and feel like you've gotten a much better meal than just settling for the high-fat fast food joints. I will return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uufrisbee7
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not sure yet what I think”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I went with friends to check out this restaurant, and we had reviewed their menu online before we went. The food all had exotic names, but the descriptions of several dishes sounded very much like foods that I could go get at an Asian, Mexican or Italian restaurant. I googled Peruvian food and discovered that, in fact, Peruvian food is heavily influenced by the foods from other nations. My friends and I each ordered something different. One ordered the Arroz Chaufa, or fried rice with chicken. It had a very good flavor, but it was basically just a big plate of fried rice with vegetables. Another friend ordered the Pollo Saltado, which had sauteed chicken with onions and tomatoes on a bed of french fries and a side of rice. Seemed a little too starchy for me and a lot like fajita meat and veggies, but the tomatoes had an unusually wonderful flavor. My dish was the Aji de Gallina, which looked like chicken and dumplings with a side of rice. The dish included boiled potatoes, chicken and a very mild cream sauce. I couldn't gather much taste from the cream sauce, but my friends raved about the flavor. It reminded me of chicken and dumplings. Again, lots of starch, but no veggies. My toddler son gobbled up some of all three dishes without complaint. The dessert was very good. We ordered the flan and the alfajores. The flan had a texture that I really liked, not exactly like a custard I've tried before, but not as dense as bread pudding. It was very good, and the flavor was sweet but not too sweet. The alfajores was a shortbread cookie with caramel inside. I really liked the flavor, but the cookie seemed a little dry as it seemed to turn to powder when you ate it. My friend really liked the cookie. You could tell both desserts were made from scratch. The waiter was very helpful and informative and it was a neat, authentic ethnic food experience, which my friends and I are always looking for. I'm not sure if I would return. I would like to try the rotisserie chicken with beans and rice and plantains sometime, because that sounded very tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, Authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We'd never tried Peruvian food so decided to give it a shot - I'm glad we did. It was on a Friday during Lent, so I was wondering what would happen with the "no meat" thing... not to worry - great vegetarian recipes with lots of options. The food takes a little bit of time, but it's worth the wait. The host gave us a little bowl of baked corn (kind of like corn nuts, but without the flavoring or salt) that was interesting and worth trying, but make sure you have water nearby when you try them - they're VERY dry inside. A fun and different experience!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really good (and interesting) food, but a bit over-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We loved our visit to Aji and enjoyed the food a lot. The rice and beans are terrific, I really liked the tofu ceviche, and the fried yucca was good too. The service was attentive and friendly and the pictures on the walls of sights in Peru were lovely. The serving sizes were smaller than we anticipated, given the prices, but we figure the next time we go we'll try the combination plates from the back of the menu. It's a really interesting experience, just not one that I could afford daily for lunch.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Peruvian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aji Peruvian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aji Peruvian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.