We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Matador Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Matador Mexican Restaurant
9203 Lee Hwy, Ooltewah, TN 37363
(423) 238-6655
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Ooltewah
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Downhill...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They used to e nice all around but then they raised prices and added charges for many things. I just drive a little farther now and go to Los Potros in College dale, TN where the food is far fresher and and pricing is fitting to what you get.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fritamalone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate here while staying at the Hampton Inn in town, it was late and they were open until 10 on a Sunday. The food was really good and I live in a town with a large variety of Mexican restaurants. The queso blanco was delicious as well as the salsa, I had a variety plate which was excellent. I had one margarita and it was sufficient, plenty of alcohol, not watered down. Great service, we ate here at the beginning of our 5 day trip and my husband and I kept saying I want to go eat at the El Matador again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Bluff
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Eating while traveling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were in need of lunch and eat gluten free so we exited looking for Mexican or Chinese.We spied this restaurant and had lunch.They were busy but still the service was slow.The dishes were tasty but the actual food was not hot(temp) even though the plates were very hot. I would probably make a different choice if we stopped at this exit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“FAILING SCORE...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

As I'm watching the news, the restaurant report card section came on. This restaurant failed with a score of 65. This score resulted from cooks not washing their hands, sour cream way below temperature, floors, fixtures, lights, walls, dirty. So I will not be trying this restaurant. Words of warning!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you're in the mood for Mex while in the area, this is the place. Great prices, good food and good service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Matador Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Matador Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Matador Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.